We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cartagena: not what we expect from a restaurant of this chain” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodeguita Del Medio

La Bodeguita Del Medio
Calle Santo Domingo No 33-81 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
011-57/5-660-1993
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 404 Restaurants in Cartagena
Restaurant details
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cartagena: not what we expect from a restaurant of this chain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this place hoping to find some good Cuban food for dinner unfortunatelly the meal wasn't good, the traditional rice w beans had certainly been reheated a couple times and had no taste at all, meat was just OK, waitress saw we didnt eat the rice but didnt care at allthar explained why the place was completly empty and 2 women who went in gave up after quick glance at the atmosphere and cold service... I cant recommend Cartagena's Bodeguita, according to my husband the one in Budapest is a completely different story.
* very good mojito anyways

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice decor and food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This small restaurant is well located, there is nice atmosphere with Cuban music and decor. The food was really good but the prices are quite high given that this is not a gastronomic restaurant. We were a little bit disapointed by the service which was not friendly and helpful at all. However we would come back to taste again Cuban cuisine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing amazing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Smelly, small, bad service and moody employees. Nothing to do with the real one.

Excesive cost - benefit. Drinks were lower than average ( we ask for their mohitos). Food was simple and just fine. The place havr some old cuban pictures, enhanced by cuban salsa. Howerver its a tiny spot with just a few tables. I still wonder where the kitchen was.

All around, tipical turist place with a high price for a low overall quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Colombia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very nice, cozy, a bit too leftish...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The place does its best at being Cuban, communist and having good food, and it does it pretty nicely. They have Cuban music (Son Cubano) and very nice food, and it's pretty cozy. We've been there many times with my wife and always go again. Definitely one of the more interesting places in the Cartagena Walled City.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check the pictures on the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We visited this restaurant for a late lunch or early dinner. We wanted to try the ropa vieja. We were the only persons and the service was really good like the food as well. Of course, the restaurant like the most in Cartagena is a little more expensive than other areas of Colombia. This restaurant would not be my first choice but the mohitos and ropa vieja were really good

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguita Del Medio also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Bodeguita Del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodeguita Del Medio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.