We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; rooms not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 3 Banderas

Save Saved
You added Hotel 3 Banderas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 3 Banderas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Cochera del Hobo #38-66 | Barrio San Diego, Historical Center, Cartagena 0575, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location; rooms not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel in the old town of Cartagena couldn’t be better located, with lovely courtyards bursting with flowers and plants. But, then there are the rooms, which are very spartan with inconsistent air conditioning (we had ours attended to 3 times in 3 days), and no chairs (we had to sit on the beds). And, as with other hotels I stayed in in Colombia, room sizes were all over the map, from teeny to some larger ones. The breakfasts were cooked to order, however, and quite good. Stay here for location only.

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes; ask for a large one near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    84
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
98
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a pretty little hotel perfectly located in the walled city. I wanted to like it more than I did. As pleasant as it was, the service and oversight were just a little lackadaisical. As if the management was offsite. For example, some days there were washcloths, some days not. No glasses in the room. Bedding consisted of two tired sheets; no mattress pad and no coverlet. Closet door was off its runner, exposing the safe plus the old abandoned safe, left hanging. Desk staff were nice but not sure they ever recognized us. All of the keys of guests who were out were lined up on the front desk, available for anyone to 'borrow.' All small things, but they added up. Also, we tried to book an excursion to their sister hotel on Tierra Bomba, and after four conflicting conversations with four different people over three days it just never happened. On the plus side, it's a perfect location, cool, great breakfast, and Lucy (who served in the dining room and cleaned) was cheerful and greeted us each day. More of that, please.

Room Tip: Upstairs balconies for pleasant lounging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3banderas, Owner at Hotel 3 Banderas, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We would also like to apologize if you felt our service towards you was not to your standards. Your comments and opinions are very important to us and in order to improve the quality of our service we will show them to our entire team. Lucy has been made aware of both positive and negative feedback so she can make any adjustments to her service in the bedrooms.

Our receptionist, Kelly, did put the keys of our guests on the counter as per the requests of a tour guide who was staying with us with a large group of tourists at the time. This is the 1st time a guest has expressed any concerns with this method and we will strongly take it under advisement. Thank you for that.

In respect to our sister hotel in Tierra Bomba, we apologize for the confusion. Our hotel was and is still undergoing maintenance due to a major weather damages. Due to this, it has been very difficult booking stays or day passes to the island. The comfort of our guestst is very important to us and Tierra Bomba´s was not up to our standards and that is why we shut it down until further notice.

You are right, small things can build up and that is why we wished you had requested to speak to our management department to have addressed any issue your encountered. We would have solved and corrected them immediately. This is why we are here,, to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable and memorable!

We do hope you enjoyed our beautiful city of Cartagena,
Sending you our best regards,
Thank you for your review,

Hotel 3 Banderas Team.
Jannia, Kelly, Lucy, Xiomara, Hernando, Jofa, Felix and Mimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with it. The hotel is in a great location in the old city, so it is an affordable option of you want to stay in that area. The rooms are very clean. We had a room with its own outside terrace - had chaise lounges and a table with chairs. Great!

The hosts were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel is really nice, and offers lovely spots for lounging around.

Good choice for Cartagena!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is a lovely nice hotel in the centre of the old town.
Unfortunately my first night I had to stay in another room due an upgrade in the room I booked (they did inform me about this 2 weeks in advance which i do apreciate). The other hotel was in the next street and was a good second choice. I could have lunch at 3 banderas thought and I also got upgraded to their best room for the remaining days. That was a lovely room. It had a private balcony. It was also quiet. Small children and 'guests' are not allowed in the rooms. It has sufficient hangers for shirts etc. Minibar and safety box in the room. Two computers with internet near the reception. It is a clean and safe hotel. Next street is a plaza with a few restaurants. Staff was very kind and enthousiastic and helpful and they speak English in case you dont speak Spanish. My room did have hot water (You can cook a meal under the shower if you would like).
Breakfast was eggs, bread, banana or arepa, fruits and bread. plenty of coffee and also milk and cereal. It is a charming hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing,london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel is in a nice central location but rooms are tiny- nowhere to hang clothes and more to the point, no hot water. However breakfast considerably better than the other hotels on our tour ( Explore). However the central location I guess compensates for much of this.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room- many of the singletons in our tour were given these bigger rooms wherea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights in january 2013. This hotel is right in the city centre within the walls of the old town and offers beautiful spacious rooms with air condition and breakfast (basics like toast and eggs). The staff was very helpful and nice. The atmosphere within the jungle like court yard is just perfect! Would definitely recommend that hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To be located in the Old City in Cartagena, this hotel is very reasonably priced. For 100/night, you’re right in the Centre of the old town, amidst beautiful restaurants, roads, and sights. The rooms are clean and air conditioned and the hotel is walking distance from all the places you’ll go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 3 Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Banderas

Address: Calle Cochera del Hobo #38-66 | Barrio San Diego, Historical Center, Cartagena 0575, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 3 Banderas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 Banderas is one of the first hotel boutique of its kind to have opened its doors in Cartagena 15 years ago. With over 200 years of history, this fully restored house has always kept its homelike style filled with history surrounding it. 3 Banderas offers its guests an intimate and peaceful ambiance to make them feel home. A one on one service will make you stay a wonderful experience with the 3 Banderas family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel 3 Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Banderas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 3 Banderas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.