We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa India Catalina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa India Catalina to your Saves list
Casa India Catalina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Coliseo No. 5 - 67 | Centro, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“we love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

we love it,rooms are beautifully decorated,staff very friendly and helpful, good breakfast somehow is like you have your own chef,the chef si coming at the table and asks what you like to ate!!!
the breakfat room si very very nice,location is very good, exactly in the old city center,they have a computer on each floor,free wifi in the rooms,just great....air conditioning throughout!!! the room is a bit expensive, but the hosts were wonderful ... we decided to stay 2 nights extra :))

Room Tip: check the mini bar when you arrive in the room are empty because some products are packaged as if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
69
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful stay at the Casa India Catalina during the first week of March. Our room was comfortable, quiet and very clean (sheets and towel quality varied from threadbare to new). The staff, in particular Donovan, Cindy and Simon (the chef) were exceptional in their friendliness and helpfulness. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning - Simon always included a local delicacy for us to try - loved the carimanolas! The location is excellent - we walked everywhere - and enjoyed the sunset each evening on the ramparts, 5 minutes away. Great value, exceptional location and wonderful staff!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I loved this hotel and especially the hotel staff. They were really attentive. Even got me a cake for my birthday and sang Feliz cumple. Really good location as well. I am really glad I picked this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Lovely Boutique Hotel with wonderful atmosphere and charm smack splash in the middle of the old colonial town of Cartagena.
The service is warm and with a great hospitality.
The hotel is located perfectly with loads of good cafés, restaurants and bistros around.
The city is very safe, not too touristic and recommendable is visiting the city during their anniversary each year early Nov, where there are parties and parades for a whole week ending up with the crowning of Miss Colombia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel. We arrived in this hotel by luck, escaping from another hotel in Cartagena (which was awful), and we had an excellent stay; we made a phone call and the reservation was arranged in less than 20 minutes for 5 guests. We stayed in the second floor in 3 big double rooms. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and with air conditioner, beds were comfortable and wide, there was mini bar available. The atmosphere was charming, feeling like in an old house from the colonial times. There is a small swimming pool and a lounge besides. Tv channels selection was good and a big tv screen to display. Bathroom was clean and toiletries offered were of good quality (first time in a long time that I see a big perfumed soap bar in a hotel) but the water heater was a mess (every time we used the shower, the room ended up in a blackout due to electrical overload). The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast was good, served at the table by a friendly waiter, although not many choices available in the menu (selection of eggs, bread, drinks and fruit) and the dining room was small (capacity for 10 people in just one big table, but seems to be ok since it's not a big hotel). The hotel is conveniently located in the old city, close to Plaza Simon Bolivar, Government House, the Cathedral, Inquisition Museum etc. There is also a very good italian restaurant in the corner with convenient prices. This hotel is a good value for the money

Room Tip: In general any room is good. The ones with the balcony look nicer but maybe noisier as they're f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Localized inside the Walled city and very closed to all important points. The employees were very helpfull. Rooms are big enought but the shower was awfull, no water pressure and cold, this was the only problem we found.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I have had an amazing stay at Casa India Catalina. We are within walking distance to all restaurants and sites within the historic city and the reception were kind enough to reserve us our trip to Isla Rosario and they made many reservations to various restaurants within the city we had interest to eat during dinner. Simon from the kitchen, who served our breakfasts, was very kind and he told us so much about the culinary treats of Cartagena and even made us a special Cartagenan specialty for one of our breakfasts after teling us about it. I felt very welcome in Casa India Catalina and it was great to escape from the heat of the afternoon and have an option of dipping into the pool or going into the air conditioned room for a bit of relaxation. If you are considering Casa India Catalina, then I think you should go ahead and make that booking,

Room Tip: I chose the suite, which had a view of the Calle Colsieo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa India Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa India Catalina

Address: Calle del Coliseo No. 5 - 67 | Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa India Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cartagena, vibrates Casa India Catalina - a hotel with the perfect combination of an harmonious interior and efficient service. Given its privileged position in the Walled City Centre, a few minutes from all tourist attractions business and leisure. Its colonial style and exquisite decoration full of elegance each corner. All rooms are fully equipped. Our team aims to make guests' stay an unforgettable experience. Greetings from this, your house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa India Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa India Catalina Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa India Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.