We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and terrific ambient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faro el solar trattoria

Faro el solar trattoria
C15 N # 9N-63, Cali, Colombia
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 267 Restaurants in Cali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and terrific ambient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great idea for a place. You can enjoy the good climate conditions of the city while you get a delicious plate!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting and lively crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Really busy. Recommend reservations. Food is terrific & reasonable. Wine list somewhat limited and overpriced.

Live music and professionals dancing add to atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Hidden Treasure Of Dining In Cali Como Neuva York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

After entering through a non descript door in the heart of the high class dining area of Cali (Granada) , you will enter into an inside-outside protected garden with tall trees and plants. On your way past the open kitchen to the dining area you will be greeted by the hostess and countless numbers of workers in a very friendly manner . After choosing your table with a view of the stage , you will be welcomed by your waiter. If you are lucky, you may have Edwin who is entertaining , colorfull, and efficient. Beware of the size of the appetizer portions as they will feed at least two people. Order the mushrooms with three cheeses and the bruchetta if you like. The main dinners are large also with great quality. We were too full to try the dessert on this trip. When we were ready to leave, we had Edwin call us a cab when we were ready to leave and when it arrived , he accompanied us to the taxi .
We are in Cali frequently and eat out ofter. This is the best restaurant here that we have found in more than five years. Closed on Sundays. Music most nights, call first.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average, no more, no less...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Saturday lunch. Not busy compared to the nights. We order 2 tagliatas of beef. Meet was overcooked and hard. Expensive for the quality.
Would not come back, neither recommend.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great experience at El Solar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We had a lovely experience at Faro el solar last night (March 4, 2009). The restaurant itself is lovely - tables on a patio, outdoors with umbrellas and overhanging roofs. It has beautiful lights at night and is just lovely. The service was excellent, attentive, but not overwhelming. They were very kind with my very limited Spanish and offered a the menu in either English or Spanish. This was great - at last I knew what I was ordering!

The mozzarella appetizer was terrific (beautifully presented as well) and our entrees were also excellent. Although not cheap, it is certainly reasonable by American standards at least. Entrees were about $10-15 (U.S.) and portions were ample. My daughter's chicken, stuffed with spinach and riccotta, was amazing. Too full for dessert, so can't comment on that.

All in all, a great experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faro el solar trattoria also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to Faro el solar trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faro el solar trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.