We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the high-scale variety that Falso Olivo brings to my table!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Falso Olivo

El Falso Olivo
Calle 16 No. 103-00, Ciudad Jardin, Cali 00000, Colombia
5558250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 250 Restaurants in Cali
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love the high-scale variety that Falso Olivo brings to my table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Me and my wife have become regulars at this enchanting restaurant. The South of Cali was lacking a good place to enjoy an excellent quality meal, have a drink and a laugh. I can tell that El Falso Olivo was created not only with the best of the best in mind but also with great taste. The ambience sets you up for a wonderful evening! I definitely recommend visiting this must stop for those looking for a great meal.

PS - As a plus, I also had a chance to meet the chef who is kind enough to ask how we're feeling and this makes up for a very personalized experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A new level has been set”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant kills it with its awesome decor and atmosphere. Comparable to metropolitan restaurants from NYC to Barcelona. It's classy yet delightful.

The food is great and the service is close to perfect. Both owners walk around constantly making you feel at home.

It's located in a newer recently developed part of the city called the south. This restaurant has risen this area to top standard.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My weekly fine dining spot in Cali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

After having lived in Cali for almost a year when Falso Olivo opened, it was a fresh and pleasant surprise to see such an amazingly well-designed restaurant in the southern part of the city, with an atmosphere to match.

After our first visit, we've been there nearly once a week, for it is truly the only restaurant in Cali (that I have been to) that gives you the impression that every detail matters; from the design, to the service, food and music. The owners Lukas and Antonia are two well-traveled, well-spoken, warm hosts who often wish you welcome and come by your table for a chat.

The menu is a little too small for my personal preference (that might be because I know it by memory and have visited an odd 20 times by now), but the food is kept simple, yet very, very well tasting, which is a good recipe for having customers return time and time again.

Overall, Falso Olivo is, in my opinion, a must-go for anyone living in or visiting Cali.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere in Cali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This restaurant is a great addition to Cali's cuisine. Its decoration is impeccable, the food is beautiful, and it offers a varied menu. I've had a couple of vegetarian options and was quite satisfied with my dishes. I like the fact that you can definitely feel the freshness of the restaurant's food and ingredients. The ambience is trendy, with cool background music and perfect lighting.

El Falso Olivo gets fairly busy, I recommend making reservations. The restaurant is located in a very nice area in Cali, easy to access, and with many cool places around. Parking is somewhat limited.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
1 review
“Hands down the best restaurant in Cali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I recently moved back to Cali after spending many years in New York and London. I was thrilled to find a restaurant that as another reader expressed, can be compared to the best in these cities. The food is fresh, seasonal, simply prepared and cooked perfectly. Also, a great value for the high quality. Always buzzing with activity it is the perfect place to meet friends while enjoying great food, music and art. A vibrant, casual and jovial crowd awaits you. Service was very friendly and attentive from greeting to farewell.

I highly recommend the Gazpacho, Bruchetta de Trucha Ahumada and the Quinoa salad. For desert the isabelita grape crumble is to die for.

El Falso Olivo, the best restaurant in Cali, hands down!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Falso Olivo also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to El Falso Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Falso Olivo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.