We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Internet service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar to your Saves list
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Colombia # 2-72, Cali, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Cali
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor Internet service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed in Intercontinental for a businees trip, despite the hotel is very big, beautiful, and confortably rooms, they did not able to met my essencial needs.In a business trip, the quality of the internet access must be priority. The connection was very slow and a few times, I had to go to the lobby to get a better (but not good) connection.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    97
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
31
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Luxury hotel in downtown Cali, surrounded by a very nice neighborghood named "San Antonio". From the hotel you have a nice view of the river. Is located walking distance from the famous "Plaza Caycedo".
I´ve had a average room, at the end of a very long hallway. Nice, clean. The bathroom had nice toiletries.
The breakfast was average and the lunch was nothing special.
The best part of the hotel is the "pizzeria": affordable and very good pizza with many local ingredients.
At anytime you can find a safe taxi from the hotel.
The hotel had wifi, but in my room the signal was very fair.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I expected more from the intercontinental brand. The rooms were old, with ragged carpet and a shower that dribbled water like a garden hose. The toilet lid wouldn't stay up on the toilet, which made it unpleasant to use. The hair dryer didn't work, although they did bring me a new one when I called. I'm sure their must be a better hotel out there for the same money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Slizsen,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I apologize if the room accommodations, condition of the toilet and bathroom amenities did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

While I understand your stay was not 100% as it should have been. I do hope you can stay with us again so we can show you how truly great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days for the congress and business visits.
Very nice clean hotel, exceptionally friendly staff
One advice get a room with cable Internet it is faster than wi- fi.
Breakfast was good - definitely enjoyed Colombian delicacies and lots of tropical juices and fruit
Way to go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was in Cali for business and stayed 3 days at Intercontinental. Rooms were nice and clean and breakfest was very nice also. Wi Fi connection worked well around the entire hotel and employees gave us good attention. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
228 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As mentioned before the hotel is old and even after the renovations it sill feel and looks old - but of course it is nice to be sometimes in a place which is from 70´s or 80´s as a change to new and stylish hotels. The staff is just average for a hotel in Colombia and the room was okay - a plus was the little balcony. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. The best was the large pool which allows for a sporty swim in the evening. But overall just an average place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I' ve been to this hotel several times for business and pleasure.
They value and honor the "Ambassador Status" if you have it: Special check in, real room upgrade and the VIP treatment one would expect. Hotel is old, but well maintained. Under renovation these days. Has 2 restaurants within the hotel: a pizza place (great pizzas!) the one I try the most. In general this hotel is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar

Address: Av. Colombia # 2-72, Cali, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the synonym of excellence in hospitality. Located five minutes away from downtown and nearby the best restaurants and bars, Intercontinental de Cali, an Estelar Hotel, was built with the highest hospitality industry standards. Complete infrastructure with ample spaces and different ambiances are available for your pleasure and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.