We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best zoos in Latin America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoologico de Cali

Zoologico de Cali
Cr 2 Oeste Cl 14 Esquina | Santa Teresita, Cali, Colombia
57 2 4880888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Attractions in Cali
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We create unforgettable experiences to share our passion for life.
France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in Latin America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

They work continously to better the enclosures / places where the animals are kept, you see the animals are in good conditions and they even have been successful in reproducing different species such as tigers and suricats.
There are different areas such as the aviario, where you see birds flying around, the place for water animals, the nocturnal animals place and others. Colombian and other exotic animals can be seen!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    142
    34
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great LITTLE zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I walked there from downtown, not a hard walk at all, but make sure you know how to say Zoo in Spanish if you want help with directions, pronouncing it as it spelt will just leave people wondering what you are saying.
The animals are great, you can go in the aviary and if you're lucky a bird will land on your shoulder. The staff was very nice and very knowledgeable. Love the girl that took us through the butterfly area.
There are iguanas sleeping in the trees, but unless you know to look up, you'd never see them. The way I found out was a 1.5 meter one, must have rolled over in it's sleep and it fell on me. Scared me, and I jumped about 1 meter in the air. The staff couldn't stop laughing (and I don't blame them I'm sure I looked like someone from America's Funniest Videos). It's a very small zoo, but it has most of the South American animals with a mix from Africa and North America.
Great learning experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sensacion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Actually this is one of the best Zoo`s in Latinoamerica....

Very nice scenerys and goood instalations, the animals are in excellent conditions.

it's excellent to enjoy a beautifull dey qith your family and why not with your love???

This place has received many awards!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Discovery Channel Supports this Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It is the best Zoo in Colombia, and probably one of the best in latinamerica. GREAT place for kids. Price is low. Parking is easy and cheap. MUST see: lemures (Madagascar), and now a white Tiger (precious). One of the best places where to go when you visit Cali. Surroundings are nice and safe.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice little Zoo...worth checking out if you have 3 hours to spare

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoologico de Cali also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to Zoologico de Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoologico de Cali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.