We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hostel in town - Thankfully, it's great!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Kasa Guane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Kasa Guane to your Saves list
Hostal Kasa Guane
Cl. 49 No. 28-21, Bucaramanga, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Bucaramanga B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only hostel in town - Thankfully, it's great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed in Kasa Guane over a year ago when it was under different management (it's the only real hostel in Bucaramanga). I came back to find the new owners, Milo and Tim, who were very helpful and enthusiastic about the region and was refreshing to see owners more involved with their guests and displaying a real passion for the city, it's people and its surroundings. They helped organise a paragliding session for me too which was great!! Apart from the fact that there is not enough bathrooms (please sort this..), the hostel is nice and cosy with a great terrace where there is a pool table. There is also a bar to socialise which was great- especially when it rained. I stayed in dorms which were clean and simple. Nothing out of the ordinary there. My stay ended up being longer than expected and needless to say I'll be back guys and look forward to it!! Thanks for your help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Propietario at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear james h,

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your second stay in Bucaramanga and thanks a lot for taking the time to let us know. The fact that you enjoyed the city and activities enough to stay longer than planned is music to our ears.

We’re glad you liked the hostel and appreciate your comments about the bathrooms. We are currently speaking to our builder about getting started on the new bathrooms and privates with bathrooms and are looking forward to being able to offer this improved service very soon.
Hopefully we’ll be all sorted for the next time you come to visit.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

All the best from Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
18
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Planned to stay only a couple of days and ended up there almost 2 weeks. Bucaramangas great, really easy to meet local people and you feel really safe walking the streets at anytime of the night. Were only around 10 people or so in the hostal but was a really nice atmosphere, especially in the bar (great mojitos). Thanks to Tim and Milo who along with the rest of the staff are really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Manager at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear ungringoviajero,

It’s really good to hear that you liked Kasa Guane so much that you stayed for 2 weeks. Thanks a lot for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed Bucaramanga and the atmosphere here at Kasa Guane. I will make sure that I inform our staff of this review as I know that they will really appreciate your kind words.

Thanks again, let us know when you’re coming back and we’ll have a mojito waiting for you.

Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Kasa Guane is, thus far, the best hostel I've stayed in throughout my travels in South America (with roughly 30 others to compare with). The owners are incredibly helpful, friendly, and interesting. The rest of the staff is nice, but not all speak English (or my basic Spanish tricked them into thinking they didn't need to).

Its in a very nice neighborhood. The beds are okay, the pillows very comfy. The kitchen is big and fully equipped. There's tons of common space to enjoy, plenty of outlets to charge things, and a different Wifi for each floor.

The only downside was the lack of bathrooms; there was never a long wait (5-10 minutes at most) to use the bathroom, but because so many people were using only 2, they became dirty rather quickly. They were cleaned daily, but throughout the day it could become a mess.

Its easy to have a good time & party, or keep to yourself. The owners are clearly interested in not just being a hostel, but being part of the surrounding community and city; its a refreshing attitude compared to the cash-cow feel of other hostels.

Overall, incredible value for the price, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi Ariel,

Thanks a lot for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Kasa Guane. It’s really pleasing (especially as new owners) to hear that you ‘loved it’ here and to read such positive comments about what we are trying to do in Bucaramanga.

It's great to hear all the positve things you say about the hostel but I appreciate your comments about the bathrooms and would like to offer my apologies. It is something that we are trying our best to improve. We are planning to build 2 new bathrooms to ease the pressure on the 3 that we currently have which will hopefully mean that the waiting time is reduced when we’re busy. We are also working with the staff to improve/ and encourage them to practice their English and they all have a decent level they just sometimes lack the confidence to use it.

Once again thanks for leaving such a nice review, it was great to have you around the hostel and let us know if you ever find yourself coming back in the future.

Have fun.

Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, the staff and the friendly British owners really helped to make the experience a good one. I arrived late, initially not planning on spending more time than to transfer buses in Bucaramanga primarily because the Lonley Planet didn't say many good things about the city. But my experience was much different. I had an authentic time with friendly people, beautiful women, and great night life, especially in the same neighborhood as the hostel (which is a really nice one). Also at the hostel they have a big full kitchen and also a good bar on their top terrace, that gets busy on the weekends. And also they have a big tv and couches if you just want to chill. All in all, Kasa Guane is a hostel that surpassed my expectations in a city that did the same.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hi Evan,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Kasa Guane. The fact that you liked the hostel, found the staff helpful and that the city exceeded your expectations is awesome for us to hear. We are always working to try and ensure that our guests get the most out of their time in Bucaramanga so it’s great to hear you positive comments.

We hope that you enjoyed or are still enjoying your time in Colombia and hope to see you back in Bucaramanga and Kasa Guane soon.

Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have had a lovely time in Bucaramanga and in Kasa Guane especially! The staff is wonderful and very helpful.

We stayed in a private room that was located at one side of the house. On the other side of the house is a nice TV room and a supercool balcony. The view isn't spectacular but it is definitively worth staying for a while as sometimes the bar is open (nice mojito's!) and I consider it to be one of the best hostalbars in Colombia!

The previous reviews mention that the bathrooms weren't clean. For us that is not true, the bathrooms were very clean and the one time that it wasn't we informed the reception and they had it cleaned immediately.

The best option in Bucaramanga for sure! .

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they will show you around before choosing the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Flooooooor,

Thank you for your positive comments about Kasa Guane. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it’s great that you liked the ‘new look’ terrace and bar. We are also pleased that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness in the hostel and made the most of the signs advising you to let us know if you feel anything at all needs cleaning.

It’s really good for us to get feedback from our guests as we are looking for ways to improve the hostel all the time.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and hopefully see you back in the bar for a Mojito soon.

Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

pretty much the only hostel in bucaramanga. british run, great staff. huge balcony with pool table. dorms a bit run down and definitely not the cleanest hostel.
location is great next to many restaurants, bars and clubs.
if you have a chance got to the nest. another hostel (same owner) half an hour south of the city up in the mountains with spectecular city views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Hi Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kasa Guane. We are really pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and liked the location of the hostel.

The cleanliness of the hostel is extremely important for us and we would like to offer our apologies if it did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. As new owners we are improving the hotel every day and have recently doubled the cleaning hours in the hostel to ensure that a high level of cleanliness is maintained constantly.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Colombia and let us know if you’re ever back in Bucaramanga.

Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardin, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Kasa Guane is more than an excellent hostel, it provides a simple and enjoyable introduction to the city, its culture and its surroundings. In an excellent but tranquil location, it offers comfortable accommodation, good facilities and very knowledgeable and helpful staff. They were in the process of a fairly major upgrade when I visited and I very much look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostal Kasa Guane, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Peter,

Thanks for your positive comments about the hostel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have now finished the first stage of improvements to the hostel and are really happy with the results.

We look forward to seeing you in Bucaramanga again soon and you can let us know what you think.

Once again thanks for your feedback it’s really nice for us to hear that people are enjoying what we are doing here at Kasa Guane.

Saludos,

Team Kasa Guane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Kasa Guane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kasa Guane

Address: Cl. 49 No. 28-21, Bucaramanga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Santander Department > Bucaramanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bucaramanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasa Guane is Bucaramanga’s first and friendliest backpacker’s hostel. Located in the heart of Colombia, with 10 Universities Bucaramanga is a young, vibrant city with many cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs all within a 10 min walk of the hostel.The city is great to explore on foot and is known as the “La Ciudad de los Parques” or “City of Parks”. You are never far away from a nice spot to chill out, kick back reading a book or simply relax with a beer watching the world go by.The hostel is set in a large, newly renovated, three storey house with clean spacious rooms and social areas. The 24 hour reception and a six bed dorm are located on the first floor along with a big fully equipped communal kitchen and a separate dining room. We also have a laundry service and free coffee 24 hrs. On the second floor of the hostel there are 3 private rooms, a 6 bed dorm with balcony and an 8 bed dorm. All the rooms have new silent fans and comfortable beds with semi-orthopaedic mattresses for a quality night’s sleep. There is also a hammock area and bathrooms with hot water. Upstairs on the third floor we have a large TV room with cable TV and computers with free internet. This opens out onto a big terrace with private bar and pool table where we have regular cinema clubs, language interchange evenings, theatre groups, live music and pretty much anything that helps to create a good mix of both travellers and Colombians in the hostel.After a combined 2 years travelling in Colombia, new owners Milo and Tim chose Bucaramanga as the place they wanted to live and linked up with Bucaramanga local and paragliding instructor Richi to help out with the growing number of backpackers and Colombians arriving in the city.At Kasa Guane we strongly believe in a personal service and as travellers ourselves understand that sometimes its help with the small things that can help you get the most out of your stay. We are more than happy to help with anything at all, from travel tips to booking flights and visa extensions. Come and check out Colombia’s most exciting new city destination and let us show you why Bucaramanga is a backpackers paradise yet to be discovered! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Kasa Guane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Kasa Guane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.