We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought it was excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hongshan New Century Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hongshan New Century Business Hotel to your Saves list
Hongshan New Century Business Hotel
No.38 Xinhua North Road, Urumqi 830002, China (Formerly 台北商务酒店)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 602 Hotels in Urumqi
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I thought it was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a bit confused by all the bad reviews because I absolutely loved this place! It was a great living in such a comfortable hotel after being in hostels all the time. Great location, extremely clean. I wasn't expecting much but man was I pleasantly surprised!

Keep in my mind I traveled here last June, so I'm not too sure if things changed a great deal. Still, my favorite hotel to live in while I was in Xinjiang.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
milly
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Reception had a bad attitude in every thing that was completed. I had to place a very high bond, the highest for all the hotels that I stayed. I stood waiting at reception and nobody would even acknowledge me. Location is good. Rooms are adequate size, cleanliness was average. I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. Every night of my stay the phone rang at 10:30 PM asking if I needed a "MASSAGE". Suitable for solo travellers or businessmen but not for families. Restaurant was the darkest and food below average. My view from the window was the wall of anther room, very odd.

Room Tip: "Get a room with an outside view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is ok for a couple of nights, clean enough and in a good position (very close to the HongShan Pagoda and Mercure Hotel). Wifi internet available in each room. Reception staff does not speak any English. The value for money is good. We didn't try out breakfast but I noticed it only offered Chinese options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We did not like this hotel. The room was dirty, the breakfast was very poor and the restaurant totally dark. Only good thing is location. In general not worth the price. We will not return here next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were nice and we enjoyed our stay, but we were bothered daily by 'masseurs' phone calls to the room, employees who were clueless (even as two of us speak perfect mandarin), and were even lied to when we booked a trip outside the city. When we paid for the trip we were told everything was included, bus ride, tickets, everything. But when we arrived we were charged again for the privilege to ride the bus into the park. Luckily we had enough money with us, but just barely! Then we were charged again to go to the top of the mountain. Instead of paying that price, we just walked to the top.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoli
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

The weirdest part of the room I took is that it had no window: yes, just a fake window, overlooking a wall. Since I had to stay in the hotel just for two night, in both cases arriving at 11 pm and waking up at 6 am, this was not a serious issue; on the other hand, the window "weirdness" was instrumental to let me have access to a very low rate (less than 20 €/night for a 4-star hotel, very clean, with a spacious room, great bed and so on), for a hotel which is well in the center of Urumqi.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hongshan New Century Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongshan New Century Business Hotel

Address: No.38 Xinhua North Road, Urumqi 830002, China (Formerly 台北商务酒店)
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 602 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Hongshan New Century Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hongshan New Century Business Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.