We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vienna
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“the best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I spent 2 nights at the Shangri La Hotel with my husband and my 2 kids (5 and 8 years old.) I moved there after my small daughter got fever and we decided to take the best hotel in town to make her stay more comfortable (our previous hotel in Chengdu was in a great location but without facilities).
We took a suite. It was simply great! There was a lot of space for the 4 of us. The suite had a great view over the city, great facilities and also 2 bathrooms.

Food was excellent.

Staff was perfect. Special thanks to Fiona McArdle, who helped us organizing the doctor for my daughter (who did not recover as quickly as we wished for) and who was there supporting us with translations and everything we needed.
When we left we also got 2 presents for our kids with the wish for quick recovery, and a follow up email to check how my daughter was doing.

I have never received such a warm and friendly treatment which, coupled with the room and the hotel facilities, make this hotel a great place to be.

It must be the best hotel in town!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    605
    84
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
99
35
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I stayed one night, the air con in my room was not very good - i was in room 2613.

I haven't been to Chengdu in 4 years and I was there for one night, so I admit, i'm not the bst barometer for Chengdu hotels. However, given that the place was built in 2007 and relatively new, I was disappointed that the room size was quite small.

Like all Shangri-La's, full amenities, bathroom is large and comfortable with separate shower / tub and nice marble interior. The bedroom was a bit small, the TV is placed agains the wall and the angle is a bit odd.

I'd prob stay again simply because it's a Shang and Chengdu still has a bit of catching up to do. If you need comments on HKG hotels, hit us up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay at the Shangri-La. The room reminded us of the Bellagio in Las Vegas. Very similar bathroom with separate shower and tub. Loved the bathroom. Bed was comfortable, room extremely clean. Staff very attentive. Great breakfast buffet. Free internet and computer use in the business office. Wonderful view. A little away from the heart of the city, but we had transportation so we didn't mind.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Stayed 3 nights while exploring Chengdu. Chengdu might be a bit short on attractions for the Western visitor, but the Shangri-La is an absolutely wonderful hotel.

The rooms are extremely large, and the hotel is well maintained. The staff is exceptionally well-trained, and their English skills are way above average for China. The swimming pool is large, and the spa facilities are terrific.

The hotel is a bit outside the center of town, which has both good and bad points. The goos thing is that it's in a pleasant setting, along a river. Bad thing is that it's a 15- or 20-minute taxi ride to most anywhere you want to go (Jinli St, city center)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Stayed here for three nights.

Room very nice; got a corner room. Prize I had to pay was that the room was awfully cold. Called technician but was told that A/C could only do cold this time of the year. Staff were swift to bring around a heater but using the heat function of the A/C would have been so much nicer. Shame for a brand-new place.

Talking about staff, I did not feel at all that they were knowledgeable in English. Was struggling with staff at the reception and even more on the phone. Generally, I felt that service standards were not on par with stars that this property has.

Breakfast place is nice but quite weird with the Middle Eastern feature in the midst of Sichuan province, China.

  • Liked — NIce looking property
  • Disliked — Staff service not up to expectations
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed here for three nights for work and had a very peaceful time here. The staff speaks wonderful English - and other languages - and are helpful and prompt with every request. Wake up calls were on time and sent automatically, cabs were on demand, and bartenders at the bar were hilarious.

The breakfast and dinner buffets are pretty uninspired but I never eat at hotel restaurants any way so you shouldn't expect much. Chengdu is in Sichuan province - among the most famous food in the world - why would you eat in the hotel?

Room was very spacious and had a fantastic view. Automatic night and day curtains were a nice touch. The mini-bar was overpriced (shocker, I know). Shower had nice strong handheld and overhead "waterfall" style spouts.

It's right on the river and by a very famous bridge and pagoda. There are some great small bars and kareoke across the river and lots of delicious street food stalls to serve the drunken revelry.

As with many fancy places in Asia and China, the hotel's bar seems to attract a certain groups of ladies who are looking to meet people. Pretty standard at high end hotels and Shangri La is no different. Not aggressive at all.

Great place. Very relaxing and nice to know the one thing you don't have to sweat in Chengdu is your hotel. What you do have to worry about, however, is the traffic and some of the drivers, but that's another story.

  • Liked — staff, view, atmosphere
  • Disliked — buffet restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed there for 3 nights as part of a corporate event. As a result of the arrangements, we gained experience with most of the restaurants, bars and other services including tours and spa. This hotel, like most Shangri-La's, is top notch. Service, quality of room, common areas, etc. is what you would expect. Location is decent and near local restaurants and bar streets. To get to some of the more historical sites, you need to take a taxi or car which can be easily arranged.

There are two restaurants downstairs for breakfast, lunch and dinner and mixed menus (including Western) as well as a nicer Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor. The bar area is quite nice although pricey as you might expect.

I'd recommend this hotel provided you can get a deal through advance booking or an ebooker. Otherwise, I'd shop around. There are many UNESCO sites around Chengdu but most necessitate a full day trip for each so unless you're going to hang around and go to the spa, it's best to shop for value in Chengdu.

  • Liked — quiet rooms and they gave me a cake on my birthday
  • Disliked — having to leave Chengdu
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#83 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.