We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wuhan, China
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good sized extremely comfortable rooms, friendly service, great choice of restaurants and bar. Mooney`s bar hosts nightly entertainment from a resident band from NZ. Seems very popular with the local expat community. Cantonese restaurant "Shang palace" has excellent Dim sum, Café Z serves a very reasonable breakfast, although, given all of the Indian food available on the room service, you might figure that be an option for that meal period, but hey, that`s a personal thing!

Very good value for money, and likely the best luxury hotel choice in Chengdu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear MackemSFO,thanks for your review and give us the full score. We will continue to strive for delivering the most comfortable stay for our guests and offer a wide range of Food & Beverage options in our property to suit every taste. Thanks again, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    605
    84
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
99
35
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The attention to detail by staff at the Shangri-La Chengdu was second to none. It started when we arrived at the airport, We had requested a hotel car to pick us up from the airport. Not only did they send a driver, they also sent a member of the client service team also, who travelled back to the hotel with us. We were then greeted by Eva, the Front Desk Manager, she not only checked us in, she escorted us to our room. It was close to midnight, and we wanted to go to Bifengxia Panda Reserve the following day. We called the concierge. Within 15 minutes he confirmed that we had a car and guide to take us the following morning at 8.30am. The guide, Jack, was absolutely outstanding. His contact details are: email: jackx1314@gmail.com; - cell:+8628852885. The outstanding service continued throughout our stay. The breakfast was lovely. The room wasn't the very best I've ever experienced but was very good. The Executive Lounge was excellent. The return trip to the airport was also great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Bob B, thanks for sharing your experience with us, and we are delightful to know that you had a memorable Chengdu trip and visited those adorable pandas. Your compliment means a lot to us, and will be forwarded to Eva, Concierge team and their team leader. Thanks again, and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Most Shangrila hotels, at least in China, are uniformly and reliably excellent, to the point of being a little boring. The one in Chengdu is no different. Chengdu itself doesn't have much to offer. Just a huge bustling regional metropolis. New hotels are shooting up like mushrooms.
So the hotel tries to figure out what it can offer to potential guests. And they realized that they have a river across the street. If Shanghai has the Bund and the Huangpu, and Hongkong has Victoria Harbor, which are worth premium prices for hotel rooms, why not try it in Chengdu.
Except, this river and this view are not worth the second that you waste checking it out.
Nevertheless the hotel charges guests up to 50% above other room rates for the river view privilege. Don't be fooled! Refuse!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Helmut S, thanks for choosing to stay in our hotel and share your review. With the largest rooms in the city centre, Shangri-La Chengdu Hotel offers a luxurious environment complete with modern furnishings and relaxing colours. Besides, the perfect location also allow guests to easily access to nearby Lang bridge and Hejiang Pavilion, which are the symbol of Old Chengdu with thousands history, and take a walk along Jinjiang River. Another option to experience the equally exceptional panoramic views of those fabulous places of interest is to choose river view rooms, which is the preferred room type in hotel. Thanks again, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Shangri-La is very well cituated in central Chengdu. My husband and I stayed for one week for tourism.
The room was comfortable but in need of "refreshment" - only minor issues such as the bathroom door not closing properly, the bathroom sink flooding and the desk-chair cover being in a state of disrepair. Overall, however, the room was very clean and comfortable.
The hotel offered two restaurants, a bar which served food and the lobby, in terms of dining choices - all of which were very good and served by far the best food we ate while we were in Chengdu.
I would happily return to the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhong_Fan, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear MJR507, thanks for your feedback about Shangri-La Chengdu Hotel, and we are happy to know that you are satisfied with our various dining options. Hardware update program is on-going in the hotel till coming May end, and all the issues that you mentioned are already taken good care and replaced. Thanks again, and look forward to seeing you in Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Enough good words was written about this beautiful hotel and I agree that this is one of the best hotel to stay in Chengdu. Its biggest asset is location where the most happening Lan Kwai Fong is just 2 minutes walk from hotel. It charged at premium price and yet is so hard to get a room there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Xexplorer, thanks for choosing our hotel, and share your feedback with us. Your compliment is our most valuable motivation, and we will continue to deliver consistent service and products to ensure your next Shangri-la experience is equally memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos,
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I love this hotel!! Great views of the river - wonderful staff - huge breakfast buffet and eggs cooked to order. They even pipe up a nice smell throughout the lobby. This was my 6th time staying there and of all the hotels I have stayed at - their beds are the most comfortable. It is my go to hotel in Chengdu.

Room Tip: The upper floors on the river side have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear lindadrew13, thanks for your reviews and give us the full score. Your always support and compliment means a lot for us, and they are indeed our most motivation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and I would like to personal assist you for your next trip, and I could be reached through shuhong.fan@shangri-la.com. Thanks again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Shangri-la Chengdu is located near Jinjiang River, next to Hejiang Pavilion. The location is quite central, as it's not far from the famous Chunxi Road. Walking distance to the hotel, there's a new entertainment development, the Chengdu version of Lan Kwai Fong, which has a number of upscale restaurants and bars, including the Lei Garden.

Hotel is opened in 2007, the facility is excellent and well maintained. The hotel lobby is on the 2nd floor, and it's magnificent and luxurious. Rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable, very nicely decorated. The floor to ceiling windows allow guests to enjoy the urban landscape. If you are willing to pay the extra, the river view room offers nice vista. Rooms are equipped with LCD TV, and broadband is free. Bathroom is spacious with separate shower and bathtub, and I like those rainforest shower.

The breakfast buffet in Cafe Z is quite expensive, but it offers a wide selection of food, including Chinese/Japanese/Malay/Indian/International, quality is decent.

The only complaint I have is not really about the hotel itself, but it's really inconvenient to get a taxi in early evenings. Usually if you want to go somewhere for dinner, you have to wait for a long time.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on the Hejiang Pavilion, which offers a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear AlanTam25, Thanks for your feedbacks, and glad to know that you recommend our signature river view guest rooms, which offers the exceptional comfort and panoramic views of the Jinjiang River. It is indeed a bit difficult to get the taxi during the rush hour in the town, and next time you may let our concierge associates know your onward arrangement in advance, and surely they will try the best to minimize your hassle. Thanks a lot, and looking forward to your next trip in Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#82 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.