We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! This place was amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homeland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homeland Hotel to your Saves list
Homeland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.181 Jichang Road, Chengdu 610225, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 184 Reviews
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“WOW!!! This place was amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the Homeland Hotel. The level of service, quality of room, selection of food was all superb. In fact it was hard to find any fault at all. This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. I had a great room overlooking the pool area. It was quiet and smoke free.

I was attending a conference and it also seemed incredibly well supported too. The level of English at the front desk was really good, and room service was prompt and efficient. Even a call to collect laundry was handled quickly and the items returned quicker than I expected. They also had a good range of vegetarian options in the meals.

The concierge are very good and got me to everywhere I wanted to go without fail. They even helped me get to the electronics store when I wanted to buy a cheap phone.

While it is quite close to the airport it is a taxi ride into town. If you are looking for snacks or a change of food, when going out the front, turn right and then first right (maybe 300-400m in total) and there is a supermarket and some small diners serving good value local food. Just on the corner is also where some of the locals gather in the evening and do dancing. Great fun to just sit and soak in everyone having fun.

I totally recommend the Homeland and I look forward to going back the next time I am in Chengdu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    112
    23
    8
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Neuilly
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had a very nice 4 day stay at this hotel where I could enjoy good food at the Chinese restaurant and perfect comfort in a large room. Amenities are only in Chinese, so you don't really know what you are picking up! Very good breakfast, fully equipped spa and nice pool. The bar is not so lively but everything is available. Roughly 15 minutes to airport and same to center city. The staff was very friendly and efficient, even if the majority does not speak English. Had the opportunity to meet the GM and deputy GM of the hotel who were very attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Homeland Hotel for a meeting with Chinese colleagues. With its (at least partially) English speaking staff, western-style rooms and amenities it fulfilled the role perfectly. Staff were on average very friendly and helpful. The interior decoration is a sort of Chinese interpretation of European palace style.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February because of confidence in its location: on its own site (surrounded only by detached private villas) yet close to all we needed to be near to: airport (good for us as we were flying on to Beijing), city centre and the wonderful pandas and because of the photos' and reviews on this page. Echo the sentiments of those who praised the quality of the staff training: very well presented, courteous and sincere. We dined enjoyably at the hotel on arrival, breakfast next morning was a very fresh, appealing and copious buffet, a super variety (which meant that for three days we were very well satisfied with European staples and very nutritious and delicious tempting local dishes). Room service was attentive and very polite. As a treat we stayed in a room (suite) with its own his and her saunas - beyond what we had hoped with time to enjoy bowling alley (we enjoyed having a go!), and indoor pool and spa. In short, very very pleasant stay. Excellent, well done to all the staff, who had competency and cared!

Room Tip: Our suite with two double bedrooms, living room and his and hers saunas was very well appointed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here just for one night between flights. It's well located for Chengdu airport, only 10 minutes in a taxi from/to the airport. It's one of these big old hotels that has seen better days, but I would happily stay again if needed.

The fact that it's close to the airport means it's a bit of a way away from downtown Chengdu, so maybe not the best location if you are staying for a few days sightseeing.

The room was spacious and clean and enough of the staff had a sufficient level of English that I got by without my usual translator. Even room service ordering was solved with the help of Google images :-)

The hotel has a large outdoor pool area that looks quite nice, although the time of year meant I couldn't use it. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice for Westerners. Complimentary in room wifi was also available.

All in all, an acceptable stay without any issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are in transit or have business near the airport this is a good hotel for you. If you have business in town (or need fluent English speakers) you probably want one closer in. There are no museums or cultural facilities anywhere near the place.

For background, I spent 3 stays totaling 9 weeks over a 4 month period during the spring of 2012. I was in Chengdu with a crew working at the airport.

When we first arrived the hotel had a limited number of people who spoke any English at all. By the end our month’s long odyssey there were several staffers who could get by and a couple who spoke quite good English. All very pleasant with a desire to help.

The first floor is an enormous open format party room which makes a good first impression. The guest rooms are fairly standard: Bed, 27” flat screen, mini-fridge, a small desk with hardwired Internet, and a closet. There are NO non-smoking rooms and the clientele has the habit of lighting up in their rooms then leaving the doors open so they can share the stench. Requesting an upper floor and/or being near the end of the wing helps as there are open-able windows at the end of the corridor next to the emergency stairs.

They were in the process of refurbishing several of the floors so some of us got rooms with pealing wall paper and badly worn carpet. Some got rooms that had a fresh coat of paint, carpet, new beds, and a full size picture window from the bedroom looking into the bathtub. I’m not kidding.

They give you two small bottles of drinking water each day (bathroom faucets marked as not potable). Right around the corner (approximately 100 yards) is an ATM and Ho-mart grocery store and where we obtained packs of water and sodas to put in the fridge.

The breakfast buffet is huge. There is a good selection of hot goods, fresh fruit, and bakery items. They have a noodle chef and an omelet chef. Note: They tend to make the eggs a lot runnier than most westerners prefer and drown their griddle in grease. The fried eggs usually had the whites just barely set and the yolk still cold. There is a good selection for dinner and the food was quite good until we’d all gone through the full menu a couple of times.

If you are with a large party they have several Chalets on the grounds behind the hotel. These are 2 story buildings with a full living room (big screen TV), dining room, and kitchen (no pots, pans, or utensils but a stove and fridge) on the first floor. There are 3 to 5 bedrooms on the second floor each with its own TV and full bath. We moved into one of these during my March trip and it was a great environment for relaxation after work. Bring a wireless router and your whole crew can surf anywhere in the building.

We will likely be back in CTU next year and will probably use the Homeland again due to proximity to the worksite and price.

Caveats: When you arrive at the airport taxi drivers might not want to take you to the hotel since it’s such a short fare. It’s about 20 RMB by the meter. We usually offered 50 and they were happy.

All of the western restaurants are downtown or at the mall. When you want to go back to the hotel we had a lot of taxi drivers decline to take us because the hotel is outside the last ring road and it’s hard for them to find a returning fare without sitting in an hour long cue at the airport. Start with an offer of 50RMB and they might agree to take you.

The desk only had one usable outlet since the lamp was plugged into the other. A run over to Ho-mart and 35 RMB later I had a four port power strip. Bring your own Ethernet cable and remove it before leaving each day. Housekeeping will wrap it up nice, tight, and pretty to make the room look neat but turning it into a really poor data cable.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors and try to get as far from the center of the building as possible. Ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Location
This hotel is also fairly close to Chengdu Airport (15 minute drive away). Its a hotel that you would only really want to stay there for one night. Although its 4 star its more 3 star. 
Room
I checked into a regular room which had to be changed because of the strong smell of dampness. 
The hotel is rather dated and that included the air conditioning system, presumably when a room is not used they do not have air con going in it so the room starts to get too humid especially in the summer resulting in the furniture smelling damp which leaves a very uncomfortable odour. After being allowed to move, the next room didn't have any toilet paper which was quite annoying and house keeping had to return. The room itself is of ok size but very dated furniture style, old trying to be elegant wooden counters but in need of a paint job. The bed is of ok soft ness but had felt like it sheets on the bed had been made a month ago and not used since. The air con is not great, very old style dials which makes it difficult to pin point desired temperature. The bathroom is also dated in style compared to other Asian airport hotels. The water worked ok and the shower and bath were fine but the counters just looked about 20 years old. 
Facilities
Didn't get to see much of the facilities of this hotel as there was a large trucker convention going on when I arrived but there is a couple of restaurants and a outdoor swimming pool seen from the room. Very bland nothing special about it. I did order room service and decided to go for a Pizza which was a bad option as it turned up almost stone cold, hard base and the cheese as you pick it up the food slides off without any effort. Microwavable ones are better.
Staff
The staff at the hotel were kinda of strange well at least the reception staff they were all girls in very short skirts and tights, i was a bit confused as if they doubled as other jobs for the guests?  The staff didn't speak much English unless its the area manager whom was helpful. Ordering room service was fairly difficult as they can't speak any english and you need to go through the area manager. 
All in all if I stayed in Chengdu again I probably would give this hotel a pass. 

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeland Hotel

Address: No.181 Jichang Road, Chengdu 610225, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#43 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Homeland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeland Hotel Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.