We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with credit card deposit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homeland Hotel to your Saves list
Homeland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.181 Jichang Road, Chengdu 610225, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 2,057 Hotels in Chengdu
Waratah Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful with credit card deposit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel is convenient for overnighting between flights. I have stayed on 7 different occasions but last time I checked out at 5:30 am after arriving at 12:30 am and did not request return of my room deposit slip for CNY2000. This was then charged to my credit card on top the overnight charge of about CNY1200. Homeland ignored any emails from me requesting refund and I'm still waiting on my bank to have the disputed amount refunded.

Room Tip: Local guest clientele can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    112
    23
    8
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel near the airport, the Homeland Hotel is great.

Our flight into Chengdu was so delayed that we arrived at the airport at 3:30 in the morning. The ride to the hotel was no more than ten minutes. Though they were not expecting us (per the folks that had booked and paid for our room) till the next day, check-in was no problem.

We were pleasantly surprised by two things: the quality of the customer service and of our included breakfast.

When we checked in, we mentioned to David, one of the front desk people, that we needed a local SIM card for our phone, but were leaving later that morning for a side-trip to Jiuzhaigou before coming back to the hotel a day later. We wouldn't have time to go out and buy a card ourselves. As soon as the stores opened, he went out to buy us a SIM card and since he was no longer on duty when we were ready to depart, he gave it to another staffer to bring it to our room, install it in our phone and show us how to make local calls. We simply reimbursed the cost of the prepaid SIM card. That was really above and beyond our expectations and we filled out a comment card just for that! In addition, we got snowed in during our side trip and were unable to make it back to the hotel for a planned reception and dinner the next night. We called Demi, the Guest Relations Manager, and she looked all over the hotel to track down the folks we needed to notify.

We were also pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantify of the breakfast buffet--much larger than any of the other hotels we stayed at on our two week trip to China with not only made-to-order omelets, but made-to-order dumplings and noodles too.

Given these pleasant surprises, the only reason I did not rate our stay five stars is because we thought our guest room was a bit hot, something we found to be common in China. We were apparently in-between seasons, and the air conditioning had not yet been turned on. According to a hotel we stayed at in Beijing, the government can dictate when the hotels are allowed to turn on the air conditioning. The staff suggested that they change our bedding from the winter to the summer bedding, but if they did, we didn't notice.

As in any other city, if you take a taxi the very short distance from the airport to the hotel, the driver will not be happy. We had one complain that he had waited over an hour at the airport only to get a ten minute fare. I think there is a good chance they may ask for an extra payment. Ours certainly did. If you don't need to be near the airport, you might be better served choosing a hotel closer to the center of town. It generally took us 45 minutes in commute traffic to get across town to Sichuan University. BTW, be sure to fasten your seat belts if you can find the buckle--we discovered when taking taxis in Chengdu that red lights and highway dividers seem to be for general guidance only. They are routinely ignored. Fortunately, our group used a private mini-bus most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Homeland Hotel is on a grand scale with elegant marble clad public spaces, nicely furnished rooms with fresh silk and linen bedding in our room, we stayed in a suite on the top floor with its own two person sauna, very good food (and wine - French and Italian decent bottles, though you will pay more than North America for these) across a range of domestic and national cuisines served in the hotel restaurants. Excellent lobby staff and room service meant that we felt connected and supported throughout my stay. I and my wife are from Edinburgh and fulfilling a lifelong shared desire to visit the Panda Breeding Research Base. Following the arrival at Edinburgh Zoo of Yang Guang and Tian Tian - the city's two Giant Pandas - we just had to see their home environment and meet their relatives! Great trip, we were off the plane swiftly and smoothly to the hotel and not too far from a day with the Pandas in bamboo heaven!! Also visited Mount Qincheng, the poet Du Fu's cottage and Wushou Shrine, Chengdu is very welcoming and charming and Homeland is big and secure with the type of attentive quality service to make you feel cossetted. Shame there isn't a direct flight to Chengdu from London/Edinburgh. Back again soon to explore more.

Room Tip: Book a suite with its own sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The bets choice for an airport hotel in Chengdu where the seminar my colleagues and I were to participate was held. Takes about less than 20mins from Shuang Liu International Airport by taxi and easy to locate. Only thing is the local cabdrivers are ok picking you up from the hotel to go anywhere you want but won't necessarily want to charge you by the meter when returning back from the city because of the distance.

Rooms were nice but didn't have the best room service nor english speaking staff. The water was also not hot enough but the rest was great for an airport hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

As a native New Yorker consultant psychiatrist (in her 60s!) who now spends three months each year traveling I hold appropriately high expectations of service. This was my second time in Chengdu on business and the first at the Homeland Hotel having stayed previously at the Sheraton, my international hotelier of choice. I must say I was very pleased from the moment of my arrival with the level of professionalism and courtesy shown by all levels of staff who were well trained. The hotel amenities are international 4/5 star and the cuisine is worthy of comment: a delight. I do not usually trouble to write reviews, this is my first, but I can comfortably recommend this hotel as on a par with the Sheraton for standards of service quality and security.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Homeland Hotel for a meeting with Chinese colleagues. With its (at least partially) English speaking staff, western-style rooms and amenities it fulfilled the role perfectly. Staff were on average very friendly and helpful. The interior decoration is a sort of Chinese interpretation of European palace style.

My room was pleasantly large and well equipped. The bed's mattress was relatively hard, but for me that was just fine. The minibar with two soft-drinks and one beer was not luxurious, but good to cool down water (note: free bottled water is supplied in the bath while expensive Evian is waiting beside the tea maker).

We never got around to try the pool, partially because almost every day of our stay they seemed to need it for something else, e.g., a platform for a fancy wedding. The wedding business seems to be a major source of income, over the weekend and beyond there were at least three. Also other conventions took place.

Food at the Chinese restaurant was very nice. We also quite liked the large breakfast buffet with its varying choice of Chinese and Western options.

Should you want to see downtown or other attractions you need to travel. We tended to use taxis which worked fine (having a card provided with the hotel directions in Chinese helped).

A final quibble: the bar served all sorts of international standard drinks by the glass, but for the Chinese liquor we would have needed to buy a bottle, which seemed too much.

All in all a good recommendation if you mainly want to sleep over and maybe visit a few of Chengdu's sites outside the centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This is a big hotel, located near the airport. It's a recent building, and the rooms are nice, even though they could be cleaner -- the glass in my room had clear grease marks from the previous occupant, and the smell of sewage coming from the sink was impossible to get rid of. Beds are hard -- good for your back, I suppose... The restaurant's food was excellent, and the hotel apparently caters to many events, marriages first and foremost. These can be quite interesting to witness for a foreigner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeland Hotel

Address: No.181 Jichang Road, Chengdu 610225, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#40 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Homeland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeland Hotel Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.