We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for an early start !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)

Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)
No.1375 Xiongmao Avenue the Outside Northern Third Ring Road, Chenghua District, Chengdu 610081, China
028-83510033
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$89*
and up
Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda...
Ranked #1 of 308 things to do in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sheffield
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Be prepared for an early start !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you want to see the Pandas you need to be there before 9.30am .We observed the young Pandas at three different age groups. We went to the incubators but only had moments to observe the babies because of the queues.However we did have a wonderful time watching a youngster with its mother seeming oblivious to the attention of the audience. Ensure you have lots of video time. Be careful some of the paths are quite slippy and steep and can catch you unaware as you are too busy looking at the lush plants and flowers. I would advise skipping the carts and head straight for the young Pandas to see them having breakfast, facinating to watch them use their 6th finger. Take a walk to see the lake with its black swans and a chance to feed the koi carp who fight for a morcel of food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,659
    590
    110
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Getting There”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is possible to get there by local bus. We took the 64 from just along from Starbucks in Tianfu Sq to the very last terminal called something like Zhouzhong Monastery. This is a very Chinese bus station with no set platforms. Ask for the 87 which was a blue bus with wooden seats. It goes on and off the main road a bit eventually getting to the Panda Sanctuary which is well signposted. Make sure you arrive before the 10am tours. The nursery area seemed less crowded and there were great photo opportunities in the morning. We were impressed with the number of pandas and the environment. The cleanest toilets are opposite the Panda Kitchen. Getting home was an adventure as we couldn't find the 87. Only do this if you have the time and want to experience traffic mayhem a la China. Cost 4RMB each way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the top experiences on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was probably the#1 favorite experience our kids had during our 3 weeks in China. The visit was well coordinated and very educational.
If you arrange your visit ahead of time it is possible to get a behind the scenes tour for the research labs that (for us) included the chance to help care for the animals {you pay extra to have a chance to clean the cages, weight up their poop, and then feed them a snack - apples on a stick to get them moving around}. This is a good way to help support the research and have a little fun, but you have to be open minded about it. It gives the closest panda encounter you will get anywhere in the world.
For another additional fee you can hold a young panda on your lap for a minute or two. It was an unforgettable experience for the kids ! It was not cheap (about $100/kid when we were there) and if you didn't pay you didn't go into that building, so the researchers take the pics of your kids using your camera if the parents elect to stay outside (they did a fine job w/ the pics).
Try to go early in the morning while the temps are lower so the animals will be more active and the crowds will be thinner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Panda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The panda is very lovely, especially the baby panda, we went to see the baby panda who is 2 weeks old, then the one is 2 month old, they look really different, the 2 weeks old panda just look like a small baby cat, the youth panda love to play, for the red panda, if compare with the panda, I think they are not as lovely as the panda, but they are lovely too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Chengdu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Go early to beat the crowds, go in September/October to see the babys born in August/September. Beautiful, large park and pandas at all ages – great to visit even for someone who is not an animal freak. We got there by taxi (RMB 50 from the city center) by 0745 during the October national holiday. At that time the park was still empty and peaceful. Go visit the feeding of the cubs shortly after 8. Bring enough cash (there is no ATM in the entire park and some shops only take cash). Taking a cab back to the city center is easy, they are waiting in line right outside the park entrance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi) also viewed

 

Been to Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Panda Breeding Research Base (Xiongmao Jidi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.