We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Chengdu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Chengdu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Chengdu to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.42 4th Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 2,103 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First time in Chengdu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Clean, tidy and safe - very pleasant stay - comfortable and quiet rooms. Only complaint - smoke free is not truly smoke free as ash trays are provided (and used) on non-smoking floors. However, would recommend this hotel. Breakfast buffet was extensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever staying in! The room was fabulous and they had a tremendous breakfast brunch. They have hotels around the world and it shows! Only problem in some area's was the language barrier, most of their staff does not really speak english at all, especially in the bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel with a view of the water and beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Kempinski has been around for a while in CDU and the hotel shows a few signs of wear. Nevertheless it is a reasonable option and a good bit cheaper than the nearby Shangri-La. The furnishings are a bit dark which gives the place a slightly dingy feel but the rooms are fairly clean and the lively German bar/restaurant lends a certain vibrancy.
I have stayed here several times and it is well used by western travellers. It does the job and will not hurt your pocket too much. The staff are smiley and helpful in a genuine sort of way. I will probably return since the downtown location is very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I had brunch there last Sunday and it was very good although too pricey for what you get at 250 yuan per person with drinks included. The pancakes were cold and the bread selection has gone down. It was not as good as last year. We were able to make a reservation with no trouble. There's still a bit of a language or communication barrier between the wait staff and English speaking customers, but that is to be expected. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience both aesthetically and gastronomically.

Room Tip: They did not allow us to take photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryForeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is really a hassle-free and top notch hotel. The room is spacious and the bathroom has everything I needed and more. Breakfast is great and the Paulaner Restaurant offers authentic German cuisine. Everything works and I have no complaints.

The only funny thing is the vehicle entrance, the road dips and then comes up again as you turn right. Be careful if you are driving here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over our 'weekend' and took advantage of their Sunday/Monday cheaper rate. The room was great--spacious and cool--and I was able to take a bath for the first time in several years. Awesome. Check-in and check-out was easy and fast, and I can honestly say that I'll probably stay with Kempinski exclusively in the future. We'll have one here in Chongqing very very soon. Added bonus was, of course, the Paulaner house, which didn't disappoint. Beyond the beer, they have a pretty incredible food menu. A few notes: the KTV in the Kempinski is ridiculous (1600 rmb minimum). The shower in our room (1216) left a lot of water on the floor because there was a gap between the frame and the door. Also, don't eat the buffet. It's misleading and bland, and the food at Paulaner is waaaaaaay better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjulie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our local contact suggested this hotel as being easily accessible for coming in and out of the city, a little bit away from the congested city centre. This seemed to be the case. There was not much around the hotel for walking, but the subway is nearby for easy access into town. The room was nice and food good quality. Shower hotel water was intermittent, which was annoying! Executive room with club access was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#5 of 2,103 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#18 of 2,103 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#21 of 2,103 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,103 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
#38 of 2,103 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.42 4th Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#17 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#53 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kempinski Hotel Chengdu 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading the way with remarkable European flair, the luxury Kempinski Hotel Chengdu is located in the "International South Core" of the city near consulates, shopping districts and high level office buildings. Hotel is 50 meters away from the subway station and a 20 minute drive, from Shuangliu International Airport, placing the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu the ultimate destination for your stay in Kempinski Hotel Chengdu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing