We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Chengdu Taihe to your Saves list
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Binjiang Middle Road, Chengdu 610016, China (Formerly 索菲特万达大饭店)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 2,072 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location of this hotel was excellent. We were within walking distance of most things we wanted to do in the city area. We were upgraded to a suite due to a series of issues we had with the service in the restaurant. There were evidently a number of language problems which, given that it is a first class international hotel, need to be addressed.The moral of our story with this hotel was speak up when you have an issue. We were lucky enough to be travelling with a guide and the owner of that company assisted us to communicate our issues to the manager.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We do appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. Our priority is to delivery a high standard of service and quality throughout our hotel and we are working diligently to improve the training and supervision in particular for the English language level of our team.

We hope we will have the opportunity to have you staying with us again on your future visits to Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    298
    81
    34
    19
See reviews for
34
94
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Overall this is a very good hotel that we found isolated staff members let down. A number of mistakes from the restaurant (among which was signing the bill and five minutes later our room doorbell announcing the arrival of a waitress accusing us of trying to avoid hotel charges by using the wrong name - Given name instead of Family name, not understanding we use our family name last and a string of "I am sorry sir, we have run out of the wine you have chosen" at the same meal ) took the shine off the stay. Upon telling our tour guide about our experiences he told his supervisor who contacted the hotel and arranged an upgrade to a suite without cost. In the end this was excellent recovery by both the tour company and the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager S, Quality Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu.

We do appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu. We do take your review comments very seriously and apologise for the lapses in service and errors we made during your stay.

We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you staying with us again to experience our improved quality of service on your future visit to Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

location hotel very good along the river,at night we can walk along the river enjoyed our time,
size room a little bit small compare with other Sofitel hotel ,room need to renovation because too old and cleanliness very poor example sofa and carpet dirty. comunication with local staff a little bit difficult in english language

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie C, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and we do take your review comments very seriously. Our priority is to delivery a high standard of service and quality throughout our hotel and we are making much effort to improve the training and supervision of our team, regarding to the improvement of English language of our staffs. As well as enhancing the cleanliness and maintenance to our guest rooms. We sincerely hope you have the opportunity to experience our improved quality on your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Sofiitel Wanda Chengu is well located being in the cenre of town and only a 300m to the subway. The hotel is modern and the service level is generally excellent but is let down by a lack of attention to details, eg while our room was reasonably neat and tidy but the top of the bed head needed dusting, the outside enterence to the room needed vacuuming and house keeping, while taking away the towels foregot to replace them.

However the greatest sin was no cold beer in the Club Lounge! The staff could get could get beer from "down stairs" if you insisted.

Despite this, the face to face service was excellent, particularly from Cherry who booked us in at reception and provived efficent and friendly service in the Club Lounge.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie C, Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
e do appreciate you taking time to share your pleasant experience at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu and in particular your kind comments regarding Cherry. We have followed up with our Housekeeping team regarding the areas you have mentioned as well as ensuring our Club Lounge is well stocked with cold beer in future. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location, you could walk or get taxi rides to all the sites nearby. We had a suite which was spacious, big bathroom and had its own computer and wifi in the room. Although we were a long way up, the seal around the window wasn't great and there was some traffic noise. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Reasonable selection at breakfast although it was pretty busy and seemed to get emptied quickly! We ate at the Chinese hotel restaurant one of the nights, it was okay - not great and it was over lit with little atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie C, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for taking your time to write the review for our hotel and your positive comments. It certainly is a pleasure to know that our efforts are recognized..Thanks for your comments regarding our breakfast and Chinese and will work with our team for improvements. .We hope you will be satisfied on your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The duty manager told me the Sofitel is "the best you can get in Chengdu" and given the top notch quality of my suite overlooking the Jinjiang River how could I not believe him? The Wanda merges European luxury and elegance with Chinese decorative accents; a superbly comfy bed, plush furnishings, attractive art, mirrors everywhere, large flat-screen TV, work desk with Windows PC, a spacious marbled bathroom, separate shower stall, Occitane soaps, shampoo and lotions, a walk-in robe .. what's not to like? And you can switch off the air-con!

Better still, Wanda suites have free, seamless, fast in-room wi fi - a first in my experience of Accor hotels. There is also free wi fi in the lobby but not yet in standard rooms. Add a good location - it's a 10 minute walk to Tianfu Square - and you have a city winner. New five star openings over the next 12 months will keep Chengdu high end competition sizzling hot - just like Sichuan cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie C, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write the review for our hotel. Your positive comments regarding our Hotel Fixtures and Furnishings quality and standards as well as our teams service improvement are much appreciated. It certainly is a pleasure to know that our efforts are recognized. We hope you will be equally satisfied on your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful hotel within the city. Short taxi ride to all major places of interest. We enjoy the stay and the buffet at the cafe. The pool is excellent and beautiful. Great experience throughout the stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie C, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Sofitel Wanda Chengdu.We are very pleased that you had a good experience here. We look forward to extending our Sofitel Wanda Chengdu’s Magnifique service to you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.8 mi away
Rhombus Fantasia Chengdu Hotel
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,072 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,072 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
#28 of 2,072 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
8.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chengdu Taihe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Address: No.15 Binjiang Middle Road, Chengdu 610016, China (Formerly 索菲特万达大饭店)
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#12 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#45 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chengdu Taihe 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe luxury hotel is ideally located in the centre of the city on the picturesque Jinjiang River. The hotel is a 20-minute drive from Chengdu International Airport and 15-minute walk to Tianfu Square and the citys commercial centres.The 162 Luxury Rooms and 100 Suites accommodate guests in French elegance with a subtle Chinese touch. Every detail has been attended to for an extraordinary experience from the indulgent Sofitel MyBed to fragrance lighting entertainment and technology.Three inviting restaurants delight with Chinese Japanese and Western flavours while 3 bars offer a choice of fine drinks to savour. Leisure facilities include the spa fitness centre indoor swimming pool Jacuzzi and sauna for male guests,. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Venere, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chengdu Taihe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Chengdu Hotel Chengdu
Accor Wanda Chengdu
Sofitel Chengdu
Chengdu Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.