We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chengdu Global Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Chengdu Global Center to your Saves list
InterContinental Chengdu Global Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1700 Tianfu Avenue North, Chengdu 610000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 56 Reviews
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed two nights while visiting Chengdu and on our way to Jiuzhaigou. This hotel is quite impressive in every standard and has great amenities. It has great breakfast selections. The water park, IMAX theatre and the shopping center within the same building can be a destination by itself and offer a full day's activities. It is not close to the city center, but transportation shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback, I am very glad to know that we were able to improve the joy during your staying with us and you have enjoyed our room facilities and various cuisines.

As you may already know our hotel is located in one of the world's largest standalone structures. With the Paradise Water Park and two shopping malls together, guests are able to enjoy all entertainments from every aspect without even leaving the building.

Thank you again for your positive comment, we wish you have a very pleasant journey in Jiuzhangou and look forward to welcoming you again to InterContinental Chengdu Global Center in the near future.

Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
7
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I should say that this hotel is one of my most funny experiences; arrived at around 9pm, check-in was not that smooth, being a Platinum Ambassador of this group, they were supposed to have got all things ready for me which they had not; I was disappointed by their hotel policy of not accepting US dollars for deposit! Claiming for a 5-star status and not catering to International travellers! The duty manager there made a gesture by offering me the same club room which I had booked for a superior room rate which was a welcome surprise of their otherwise non-welcoming attitude! Checked into the room to find to my surprise that they had not even placed a welcome letter in my name but still that of the previous guest of the room! Shame on the hotel managers! Wanted to eat something but could not find any menu book, but was told that this is found in the TV, which much to my frustration was found after juggling with a good-for-nothing TV remote device. Ordered a Vietnamese listed dish which was told after sometime that it is not available and hence went starving to bed. The next day morning had to call the "Instant Service" for a shaving kit which was brought to my room by the Duty Manager Ritchie after ONE hour; that girl in that "Instant service" either was a dumb doll or a muff who could not even respond to the morning urgency even after multiple calls! But I found something different! The duty manager Ritchie turned out to be an excellent person with smartness in understanding my complaints about the service there and so was that "Instant service" girl later who came to my room with bottles of water and apologized! Forget and forgive is my policy if they endeavored to correct which they did! The hotel has an unlimited access to the Paradise water park which alongwith the multiple swimming pools were great source of enjoyment; the Global center shopping mall with its shopping and theaters were excellent time passing avenues; food was okay in the evening with Tracy proving a smiling service to all; as usual Ritchie rose up to the occassion in allowing my check out after dinner and organizing a taxi, which otherwise is difficult; in all I sum up that the hotel has excellent infrastructure, taking time and patience to utilize them. House keeping staff need more motivation. The hotel is too big for the staff there to manage! Noisy due to the water park, hence sure will be a nuisance for a tired traveller in his morning or afternoon slumber. Good place for a day's outing eating and shopping; sure not for peace and tranquility lovers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear IHG® Platinum Ambassador,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Global Center, we greatly appreciate your comments. It’s with regret to see that even Ritchie and Tracy were helpful at the end, and our facilities had increased your overall joy, we have failed on your expectation this time.

Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has disappointed you as our honored Platinum Ambassador. Your comment about the front office and room service has been documented and we will certainly build these in to our continuous quality improvement process to truly create a Great Hotel Guests Love. Rest assured that we into both our software and hardware facilities, ensuring that we address and improve the necessary service to provide all our guests with an excellent experience while staying with us.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comment. This will certainly enable us to improve the quality of our service. We hope that we will get a chance to redeem ourselves and that you may stay with us again.


Best regards.
Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I am IHG ambassador member, the hotel claimed to have updated my room, but when I checked out I found it did not! In May 2014 it just finished decorating standard room, the only type.

It claims to have free Wi-Fi in room, in fact no signal at all.

Only one restaurant was running (the Chinese one), and the other two were decorating.

Room had very strong smell of chemistry. It was very hot in May, but duvet cover was very very thick-the winter type. Room airconditioner was noisy.

We swam in the night around 8pm, but all swimming pool lights were off, and the spa was off.

Staff were lack of training

Indeed, the hotel is near the shopping mall which is convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We take your comments very seriously, and I have read it in details, because only through comments of our valuable clients are we able to continuously improve our services.

At this point our Hotel has four types of rooms available, which are InterContinental superior room (king & twin), InterContinental deluxe room (king & twin), InterContinental club room (king bed), and InterContinental club suite (king size bed).
Besides the Paradise Island western restaurant which serves, breakfast, lunch and dinner, we also have the Phoenix Pavilion Chinese restaurant serve both lunch and dinner. On weekends we also operated the Pier Restaurant located at the Paradise Island Water Park for Lunch and Dinner. Besides the LOFT Lobby Lounge and our 24hours room service there are various additional restaurant options at the Paradise Island Water Park, the Lotte Department Store as well as the Global Mall...

We really appreciate you comment and suggestions and I have discussed it with our Quality Improvement Team and we will certainly build these in to our continuous quality improvement process to truly create a Great Hotel Guests Love.

I hope the less satisfactory service you received during your stay has not marred your image of the InterContinental Brand and we hope that we will get a chance to redeem ourselves.

Once again, thank you for having taken the time to let us know your feedback.

Best regards.

Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I recommend this hotel to people for vocation purpose, especially family with kids.
Though I reside in Chengdu, I stayed in IC global center with my wife and 2-year old daughter for one rewarding free nights from priority club.
Generally speaking, the hotel itself is an ordinary 5 stars IC hotel.However, it is the unlimited free admission to the water-park offered by the IC hotel that makes the stay amazing.

My personal experience listed as bellow.

Pros:
1. Newly decorated rooms with beautiful water-park view from balcony.(All rooms face inwards to the water-park).
2. Unlimited free admission to giant in-door water-park which offers all kinds of aquatics(2persons per room)
3. A 3D-IMAX cinema/indoor skating in the Mall collocated within 5 minutes walk from the hotel (of course not free)
4.Various of food , Shops and market in the next Mall.
5. Though located in the suburb,its transparent is good.20min to airport by car and 20 min to downtown by metro.

Cons:
1. Smelly room due to newly decorated furnitures and walls. We opened the windows for fresh air
2. Very noisy from 10:00 AM to 21:00 due to the water-park outside the balcony. Since we spent whole day in the water-park, the noisy did not really annoy me.
3. Very few cabs.


All in all, The IC hotel is an ideal choice for people on vocation trip to stay 1 or 2 nights,especially for family with kids who would take great pleasure in the water-park.
As for business trip, It seems too noisy in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center and providing your comments to us. I am very glad to know that we were able to improve your joy during your leisure time. As you have experienced yourself, all of our guest rooms are equipped with balconies with a breathtaking view of the Paradise Island Water Park. Meanwhile, we appreciate your suggestions, as it will help us to to further enhance our services in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our guest. Thank you very much again to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
-Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel will wow you in terms of size and service. The indoor water playground is also amazing. Was on a 8 day tour package and this was the only hotel where the bed is just perfect and the water pressure of the Grohe shower tap just as perfect. A word of caution for Visa and Mastercard credit card holders, do note that the entire shopping mall connected to this hotel uses only Unionpay credit cards. Please either bring lots of Chinese yuans with you or apply for a Unionpay credit card before you stay at this beautiful hotel resort.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center and taking the time to share your positive comments. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you a memorable experience. As a member of InterContinental brand, we always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and support, and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. With best regards!

-Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is huge. A resort of sort. You'll need to get on a free buggy ride to your hotel block. I think 4 blocks - one shopping mall and three blocks of hotels rooms is built around a water park. And all this is covered within a glass dome.The Hotel have just about every facilities a tourist may need. Lounge, Business Centre with Internet Access,Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room,Restaurant,Swimming Pool.From the hotel balconies you have a full view of the water park.

We were there in a Ziuzhaigou tour group and stayed for one night only so we have little contact with the hotel staff. We have nothing unpleasant happened during our stay. The room is spacious and with first class furnishing. Sleep quality was great. Breakfast was a good spread of international standard unlike the other hotels during our trip which comprise the local rice porridge mostly..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are pleased to know that you had a good time when staying with us at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center!As you may already known our hotel is located in one of the world's largest standalone structures, and with the Paradise Water Park and two shopping malls together. Many guests choose our hotel because they could enjoy themselves from every aspect without even leaving the building. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our room facilities and various cuisines. We wish you have a pleasant trip in Jiuzhaigou and look forward to welcome you on your next stay with us in the near future!
-Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for two nights. The hotel is unique and takes some time to get used to set-up. Basically trying to make a beach resort indoors - when you get that and realise it is not normal hotel it is enjoyable & not frustrating.

Hotel room is very big & high quality - downside is thin walls - neighbours had TV on in night & I had to call the Instant Service number - to be fair they fixed it as it went quiet quickly. Room did have a funny smell when entering that needs to be removed!

Breakfast is excellent. Swimming pool is superb, initially feels wierd walking through restaurant to swim, so have to remember 'beach resort' concept & it is OK. V new gym & very friendly lady at the gym.

Shopping Mall & Metro close by are v useful.

Look fwd to returning!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTUIC, General Manager at InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our food and facilities. It was our pleasure that we were able to provide you with a unique experience. To create a great guest love is our constant goal and we are always striving to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please do not hesitate to contact with us any time if we can be of assistance to you for your next stay. Thank you!

-Christian Buggelsheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Chengdu Global Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chengdu Global Center

Address: No.1700 Tianfu Avenue North, Chengdu 610000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chengdu Global Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovations until 1st December 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Chengdu Global Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chengdu Global Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.