We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a long walk to the top!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Qincheng

Mount Qincheng
Qingcheng Mountain Town, Chengdu 611844, China
028-87288159
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$167*
and up
Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation...
Ranked #2 of 183 Attractions in Chengdu
Type: Religious Sites, Mountains, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A natural scenic area and a holy mountain of Taoism.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's a long walk to the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My friend and I walked to the top temple. The paths are in good repair, it is popular with the locals too. It was all very pretty with multiple temples on the way to the top.

We supplemented our trip with a ride on the gondola. Unfortunately, the pollution did hinder the view from the top.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    281
    65
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Connect with nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great views & fresh air. The restaurant peddlars at the foot of the mountain were too aggressive for our liking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“It's a good climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend and I walked up the front side of the mountain one day and the back side the next. This was a lot in one weekend even though we are both in pretty good shape. The front side is steep in many places and has a number of temples along the way. The back side goes along a stream with nice, small waterfalls. Then it, too, becomes a steep climb. I had read that the back side is less crowded, but I think it has been discovered by folks in Chengdu who go for a day trip from the city on the weekend, as it was as crowded or more than the front. The paths are good most of the time but are dirt steps in some places. If you have extra time and like mountains, this is a good, convenient one. Visibility from the top was low when I was there, but I've heard that it can be good. There are also cable cars on both the front and back sides that can eliminate the need to walk both ways.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kinda good place for light hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cable car experience was the best and smoggy or misty weather made us limited panorama view and sightseeing. You can easily hike up on stairs. Near to cable car station, there were small lake and I've bitten by thousands of small flies on my legs, it isn't cured now almost 2 weeks later.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place on the planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ok, I've lived in Hawaii and this hike beat anything I've done there. The trick is to go to the back mountain and take the gentle hike down the mountain gorge over bridges and pass numerous -- and I mean numerous -- waterfalls. The highlight of my trip to China!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Qincheng also viewed

 

Been to Mount Qincheng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Qincheng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.