We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel for a short visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tianfu Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tianfu Sunshine Hotel to your Saves list
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Taisheng North Road, Chengdu 610017, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel for a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for two separate nights (visiting Mt. Emei in between). The construction work reported in earlier reviews was virtually finished with no impact on our stay. The lobby and restaurant areas were very smart. The room was a reasonable size, very clean and comfortable with a king-size bed.
The location was average. We arrived early evening and had trouble finding somewhere to eat. After wandering down a long road inundated with mobile phone shops we eventually returned to the hotel for the buffet. Big mistake. There was a limited choice of predominantly Chinese food and limited to zero amounts of food available - e.g. 2 olives, no sushi. The service was appalling - limited to little more than telling us to eat up quickly. Breakfast however was much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    158
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
29
55
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here as part of a Virgin Holidays tour when I was visiting the panda sanctuary. We arrived from the rear entrance and initial poor impressions were soon dropped when we arrived in the lobby. It's a fairly slick hotel, well presented and sort of a cross between the Holiday Inn in Beijing and Marriott in Shanghai previously visited. The rooms are very well done, clean and business-like. We had only 1 night in Chengdu and many of us weren't feeling great from tiredness so the hotel was really appreciated. The dinner area and bar are well done. Breakfast buffet was of good quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Tianfu Sunshine Hotel served as our base for our 2-night stay in Chengdu to visit the Giant Panda Breeding Center. Selection and booking of the hotel was handled by our tour company.

Location: Seemed good. Didn't have to deal with transportation since this was handled by our tour company. Some shopping and restaurants within walking distance.

Room: Lighting was very dim. Hated the shower: low pressure, difficult to control temperature, shower head is at my eye level (I'm 5'10"). Our sink drain had a small leak that dripped onto the floor, so we had to keep the wastebasket underneath to keep our feet from getting splashed. Wired but not wireless internet is included in the room. Wireless internet is free in the lobby.

Restaurant: Normally we avoid hotel restaurants for dinner, but we were tired and ate there our first night and found our noodle dish to be surprisingly good. They wouldn't let us charge the meal to our room, so we had to pay cash. Western breakfast buffet options were pretty good, with eggs made to order.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our rooms were fine, the breakfast was fine. Hotel arranged to have all of our luggage taken to the airport. Nothing that really sticks out in my mind. Liked that there was wifi in the lobby. Wasn't able to cash travelers cheques at the hotel, which was a bummer. Location for going to the Panda research center was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Although the hotel is being redone, the interior was quiet and clean. It's location was central to many of the sites we wished to visit, the breakfast buffet was fair in quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were so busy sight seeing in Chengdu we were barely in the hotel. When we first drove up, we were off-put by the construction mess, but inside was lovely and the staff fantastic. Our room was great, very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip to China. Lots and lots of variety, and, to my way of thinking, the best Asian offerings of all. My husband loved the omelet bar and even the bacon was cooked to American standards. Excellent yogurt. There were not a lot of Americans there, and we enjoyed interacting with people from all over the world. That is one reason we travel, to become acquainted with other cultures.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

OMG! What an experience! It took 3 tries to get management to provide a room with two double beds and not one queen or king which they interpreted to be a double. Finally, obtained a room with two beds and it was small, although adequate for a night's sleep. Very poor English speaking staff and not entirely anxious to get things right. Appears not used to Western visitors. Construction is going on at the hotel and it was a major inconvenience--to the tune our group had to be dropped off at the back of the hotel and enter through some alleyway entrance. Service in the dining room was abominable. One of our party ordered an item and 45 minutes later, someone came back and told us the item was not available. Food and service were both poor.

Breakfast options were ok and food was not necessarily refilled when low.

If given another option for another hotel, by all means take it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tianfu Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianfu Sunshine Hotel

Address: No.2 Taisheng North Road, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#65 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tianfu Sunshine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tianfu Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tianfu Sunshine Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tianfu Sunshine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.