We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minshan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Minshan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minshan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Section 2, Renmin South Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,969 Hotels in Chengdu
CARRICKFERGUS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night as part of 'Splendours of China' tour of China. Location wise, in shopping district.
First sight - very impressed - it is modern, clean and deserves its 4 * status.
Room (standard room) and bathroom again clean and modern, 2 standard size double beds, shower in bath.
Breakfast usual large selection for both Western and Chinese tastes and good quality.
Bar has both smoking and non-smoking areas - efficient service.
Overall, no complaints - recommend it .
Final note, reviewing my credit card statement once I got home, I noticed that I was charged twice for a round of drinks - am in process to try and retrieve second payment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    145
    34
    9
    0
See reviews for
5
7
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed here twice in April and have no major complaints, but this is not five stars. Rooms are fine, 3 to 4 stars, not fantastic as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Staff is unevenly polite, sometimes a bit dour and sometimes smiling and helpful. Buffer restaurant is varied and good quality, again a 4 star, but service leaves some to be desired. I had to get up repeatedly to ask for drinks.

I would return to this hotel and would recommend it, just call it a 4 star...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I guess front desk people are working there just for the sake of working. When I check in I never heard from them welcoming me and when I check out the lady who entertain me had a grumpy face maybe I check out too early around 600 am. Also the concierge was really really bad.. I request him to call a taxi for me but he never leave his desk so I just when out the street and get one.. I left June 3rd morning.. The only consolation is the house keeping people are quite helpful. But their new main wing room are quite nice.. but personal touch is lousy.. I guess because I look chinese.. Also seems they are quite few Non-smoking room ..so if you are non-smoker just beware you might not have a room for you even you have made a non-smoking reservation

Room Tip: They said the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Located in the middle of a posh shopping district/avenue (Tiffany & Co is across the street and Dior is next door), I gave this beautifully appointed, modern hotel only 4/5 because the bathroom smells like mildew. It's the one thing I cannot tolerate. Ew.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The lobby is gorgeous. It's big and airy and modern, as is the room I occupied (1 king bed). The bed is firmer than I like, but I still slept. The hotel provides two complimentary bottles of water per room per day.

The room, bedding, and bathroom is clean (except for the smell of mildew).

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

For a hotel in this price range I was really dissapointed. Mostly I stay in places where the costs of a night are about 10% of this hotel, and my experience is much better.
Ok, the room was nice, and the beds were perfect. It was quiet, the soft carpets on the floors everywhere really helped a lot.
But the staff at the frontdesk was really unpleasend and unfriendly, both at check-in and check-out. The man at the door helping me to get my taxi to bring me where I wanted to go was very helpfull and nice. That is the sort of people that this place needs.
In the room the remotecontrol of the TV did not work. But the bathroom was bad designed as in the old days in China. After a shower you cannot water stands everywhere in the bathroom and will stay there for several hours. Leaving your towel in the bathroom means that you have to walk with wet feet through the room.
It is really too expensive for just a nice bed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hotel re-opened a month or so ago after renovating the entire hotel. Overall, my thoughts are positive.

- Rooms are clean, newly-furnished, beds/pillows are very comfortable, bathrooms were very well done, everything works in the room;

- Public areas very nicely kept, attractive clean environment. Lobby bar is more elegant and comfortable.

- Service remains very good throughout the hotel: reception, concierge and restaurant service - all outstanding.

Only real negative to this hotel is the quality of the food; found it bland and unimaginative. Ate dinner at the 21st floor western restaurant and the 1st floor breakfast buffet. Very disappointed in the breakfast buffet; seemed very little in the way of western-type food with an over-abundance of chinese food (dumplings, sauteed vegetables, noodles, etc.). Fruit and bread selections were extremely limited. Clearly this hotel caters to Chinese more than Westerners with respect to food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

As only few reveiws for this hotel thought I would post my review however I only spent one night here so my experience is limited.

the room was clean and tidy. had usual ameneites expected. Room I had was facing the road and the noise from traffic and car horns was disturbing. If i was there any longer than one night I would have requested a room away from the traffic noise.
Staff pleasant. Breakfast fine with usual options.

Changing money took a long time at reception. Not a huge problem but may have been to those waitting behind me.

As i say only stayed very short time and as such did not use any of the additional facilites except room, currency exchange and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshan Hotel

Address: No.55 Section 2, Renmin South Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#79 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Minshan Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Minshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minshan Hotel Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minshan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.