We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in Chengdu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Section 1, Renmin Middle Road, Chengdu 610015, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in Chengdu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is decent but beginning to show its age. I understand a renovation is in the works, hope the results turn out well. The first impression of the hotel in the soaring lobby is great, nice fixtures, even a large fountain. The first room I was assigned was supposedly on a non-smoking floor but smelt strongly of smoke, after a couple of calls to and ultimately a trip back downstairs I was reassigned a similar room that did not have the smoke smell. Throughout the hotel the carpets are worn and stained but most the fixtures in the rooms were in great condition. The hotel had quality solid wood doors and furniture throughout, hope they survive the renovation. I also hope they bring in the Sheraton bed as the current mattresses were hard and definitely not the sweet sleepers! The executive lounge has a nice selection of food & drinks, and good views over the city. Guests are allowed to smoke in the elevator lobby of this floor though, so be prepared to walk through a cloud of smoke to get into the lounge. Overall, this hotel has nice foundations and after a light refresh, especially in carpets and bedding it will be back up to a high standard. Don’t miss the Pandas if in Chengdu!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate your consistent support to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. I am very sorry for the unpleasant service you experienced at reservartion roon arrangement, Please accept my sincerely apologies. It's our priority to put our guests before us and we appreciate your affording us the opportunity to serve you. Needless to say that we will also take the necessary action regarding training and coaching of our associates in order to make sure they will deliver our service promise as it can be expected by you. Thank you for your valuable comments which certainly will help us in the improvement process of our services.
Finally, I would like to take the chance to thank you for choosing Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    395
    106
    13
    1
See reviews for
26
42
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel for over 10 times. It is not the newest and most modern in Chengdu. The facilities and rooms are slightly dated. However, it is well upkeep, clean and efficiently run. I also like the convenient as it is located in the older part of town that provide good access to major government offices. It is one of the best value 5 stars hotel in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to hignlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We recently have undergone an extensive renovation and we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it. Thank you for your review, and we are look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two weeks and it was a great experience. All staff spoke English (not very likely in Chengdu) and they were really helpful. The breakfast buffet had variety of food.

There are almost no exchange offices in Chengdu so you might want to exchange money in this hotel, there is not a big difference in their exchange rates, very reasonable.

Also during my stay, there was an earthquake (pretty serious one) and staff were really well trained, and it was managed perfectly.

If you are a non-smoker, you might want to go and check the room because even though some of the floors are non-smoking you can see cigarette butts in the hallway and you can still smell that someone smoked in that room before.

Location-wise it's great, 1 min walk from subway station. Downtown is 15 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your generous praise of Sheraton Lido Chengdu. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm Sheraton service and high quality products to our guests. It is also very encouraging to know that our Concierge team had made your stay a memorable and wonderful one.
Thank you once again for sharing your kind review. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff on duty at the Nova restaurant on the morning of April 20 showed a high degree of professionalism when the earthquake struck. They very calmly directed us to the assembly point. It was clear that they knew what they were doing.

Well done Sheraton Lido Chengdu staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your generous praise of Sheraton Lido Chengdu. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm Sheraton service and high quality products to our guests. It is also very encouraging to know that our Concierge team had made your stay a memorable and wonderful one.
Thank you once again for sharing your kind review. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location can't get any better but everything else at this hotel needs to. This hotel is locked in the 1960's - from the decor to the customer service. Very disappointing. I couldn't wait to check out. Pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee T, General Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you received during your stay in Sheraton Chengdu. With regards to your comments, we promise to improve the standards.please be sure of that we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and comments such as your help us to do so. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I came in with high expectations from other Sheraton hotels in China, and while the Chengdu Sheraton is fine, it's not great. To start with the positive: the location is great, right in the centre of the city, and walking distance from lots of areas of interest. The staff are good, and the food is good. The building, however, is quite dated, and the rooms in particular feel much more "business hotel" than "5 star hotel", in contrast to rooms in other Sheratons I've been to in China. They're doing renovations right now in the main lobby, which caused a lot of noise, but may improve the look and feel a bit. I'd consider staying there again, but wouldn't go out of my way to book a room there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee T, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of Sheraton Lido Chengdu. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm Sheraton service and high quality products to our guests.
We are currently upgrading our hotel facilities, and we are really sorry for the inconvenience caused. Hope our brandnew hotel will create better experience for you in the future.
We are looking forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Sheraton is located right next to a large sports stadium but otherwise is well located near to the main squre and shopping streets.

There is a fairly large charge for in-room WiFi WHY???? so it was down 16 floors to the "Sheraton link" and on no less than three ocassions none of the PC's were working. IPAD to the rescue.

Room was reasonably comfortable with a view on the stadium!!

Room Tip: Breakfast was included so did not get the price but the food was superb - great fusion buffet - east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee T, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to hignlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.
Complimentary in room WIFI and HSIA is provided for all of the guests booked from internet, started from Feb2013.

Thank you once again for sharing your kind review. We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel

Address: No.15 Section 1, Renmin Middle Road, Chengdu 610015, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#80 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming foreign officials, dignitaries, convention delegations, and business and leisure travelers alike, Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel is ideally located in the centre of the city and the hub of Chengdu’s business district.Wireless internet is available in all guest rooms and public areas. In fact, we're Chengdu's only fully wireless hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Chengdu
Chengdu Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.