We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Oriental Plaza. As a platinum redeeming rewards points, we were given an upgraded room on the executive floor (which includes up to RMB50 laundry service; free drinks in the club lounge, and 4pm late check out).
The night before we stayed at the Holiday Inn Century City West. While we had no problems at the Oriental Plaza, the service at Century City was much better. The breakfast buffet was good, but not as full as the Century City. One major advantage of Oriental Plaza is location- it's right by a subway station downtown. Also, it has a heated indoor pool that my son spent most of our stay in. It's 1.4m deep so perfect for him.
One of the few drawbacks was the bathroom- the lock didn't latch and there's a huge window between the shower and main bedroom. You can pull a curtain down on the bedroom side, but if you're in the shower, anyone in the room could just pull up the curtain. Also, the room was warm- no matter how I adjusted the thermostat, it always stayed just too warm.
Overall I'd recommend the hotel, but it took 15,000 points. The Century City is a much better hotel and only takes 10,000.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    88
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
31
5
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very good location, add the entrance of subway line 2. New hotel, very good breakfast (sushi, noodle station and eggs station, fresh fruits and vegetables, all kinds of bread, good coffee), nicely appointed rooms with modern bathroom.

Nice executive lounge, with choice of snacks (sushi, pasta, spring rolls and pastries) and drinks (beer, wine, softdrinks) in the evening, from 18.30pm to 21pm. Well worth the extra money.

Reception staff could be more client oriented, and availability of maps in English would also be an improvement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on a business trip. The hotel itself is very new and the reception area, lobby and restaurant are very nicely decorated. The staff on reception who checked us in were not very friendly and no one offered to carry our luggage from the taxi or to our hotel rooms.

We had paid to get a pick up from the airport and the driver demanded a cash payment when we arrived. This is unusual and I would've preferred to have put it on my room account.

The room was nicely decorated with a large tv but I was given a twin room rather than a double. I asked to change and was told it was not possible but I am sure that the hotel was not full as breakfast and reception were really quiet.

Two staff from the concierge were really helpful, polite and friendly. The others did not speak good english and were unable to help with basic requests i.e. finding locations etc. There were also times when they put me into taxis without telling the driver where I was going.

The hotel was ok but the staff need some training. Breakfast was also a little disappointing with only a few international options.

Room Tip: Ask for a double...you won't get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is a 10 minute walk away from Chunxi Rd. which is the center of Chengdu. Since the hotels closer to Chunxi Rd. are all old and expensive (including the Holiday Inn option) or just old, this is hotel is a great option if you want to be close to the action but still stay in a new hotel.

Unfortunately, the location and the new hardware is the only really good things about this hotel. The bad things are:
- Clueless front desk staff (attitude reminds me of 2 and 3-star hotels in China 10 years ago -- they "manage" guests instead of trying to help them).
- Useless bell boys, prepare to run after your own taxi.
- Bad plumbing, although the hotel is brand new (early 2012) both rooms I have stayed in had bathrooms that became flooded after a short shower.
- Really bad food, really, really bad food, especially when you consider this to be a Holiday Inn in the year of our lord 2012 (again, reminds me of the way Chinese hotel food used to be in the better western hotels 15 years ago)

Last time I stayed here the pool was closed even though I had called before and asked and they guaranteed it would be open. This time around we were told that they could not give us a King-Size bed although we had booked a King-Size bed room via the Holiday Inn website one week in advance and had confirmation! I said it was acceptable, and the explanation was that people who came before me had selected King-size rooms and since they came before me they got them. I argued for 20 minutes while my girlfriend fell asleep in the lobby. Finally, after I started dialing the Holiday Inn number in the US, they gave me a King size bed room.By that time I was already so pissed I did not really appreciate the upgrade.

One things I learned from my upgrade: Don't pay for a suite. I prefer the regular deluxe King-size rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good: very helpful and friendly staff- very happy to try to speak in English as well as give us directions to various places, get us cabs, good wireless in the lobby and cafe but none in the rooms, excellent coffee in the cafe, good breakfast.
Bad: far from city center, far from airport, close-enough to Renmin park but why would you want to really go there?
Ugly: room sort of had a window - 3/4th of it was a wall, very wierd and claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Check out the area at the back of the hotel further from the 711, loads of little local restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your time and comments about your stay at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and excellent. Thank you for giving us an oppotunity to showcase out facilities and services.
Regarding to the wireless, we have upgrated the service machine so that wireless can be used anywhere in the hotel. As to the location, actually, our hotel is just five minutes drive from city center—Chunxi Commercial Street, and our hotel could provide a map for your refrence. Due to engineering design, there is one room with a relatively small window in each floor. We are sorry for any incovenience caused, and we have informed our enginerring department on this issue.
Please drop us a note if you ever visit Chengdu again, we shall provide more detail information for you!

Regards,


Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location with a subway station literally next to the hotel entrance and a lively little street adjacent to the hotel with plenty of food stalls, restaurants and a lovely open air teahouse (next to the river). The bus station for a daytrip to the Dafo Giant Buddha is a 10 min taxi drive.

Rooms are large and high standard; hotel is brand new and occupation still low, so ask for an upgrade when you check in.

Overall very good place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Checked in the 2 nd of october and booked an executive room. It is mentioned that this hotel has AC but after 4 hours the temperature was still 23 degC in the room. I finally went down to the reception and they told me that they have inabled the AC to be individually controlled below a certain amount of degrees. There was also a smell of urine in the bath room and the shower was dirty (I have evidence on pictures). I do travel up to 200 days a year and I do off course know that HolidayInn is not a five star hotel, but an AC which cannot be controlled and dirty smelly bathrooms are not ok. As consequence of this I cancelled the other 2 nights directly during the first evening. The breakfast room was overcrowded and You needed to fight for a table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Address: No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the stylish, contemporary Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to relaxing and enjoying your lifeConveniently located at Zhiquan Duan, East Avenue, Chengdu Financial Centre and 19 km from Shuangliu International Airport. We are close to Yan Shi Kou Commercial Centre and Chun Xi Lu Shopping Street, within 5 minutes driving. Lai Kwai Fong and Jiu Yan Qiao Street , the city bar street, are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Commute easily to other parts of the city, such as Wuhou Temple, Kuanzhai Alley and Du Fu Thatched Cottage with the nearby No.2 Metro, which takes only 30 seconds to get there from hotel Porte Cohere or readily available taxis in the district.Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels, work desks with ergonomic seats and high-speed Internet access. Let our Business Centre support all your secretarial needs with print, fax, copy, email and IT services. With one function room and three meeting rooms, banquets team can customize our facilities to suit your event’s needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or special wedding dinner.Renew your body with a workout or swim in Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s modern Fitness Centre. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at Jinjiang Chinese Restaurant or in our all-day dining - Cafe C and room service. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea or evening cocktail at hotel lobby lounge.Make Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza your first choice in your next trip to Chengdu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.