We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel on our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Poly Park 198, No.1980 Shulong Avenue, Xindu District, Chengdu 610503, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 2,057 Hotels in Chengdu
cumbria
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“best hotel on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Flew fom Xian to Chengdu in the morning on the way called at Leshan to see the worlds largest buddha only 4 of of our group walked to the top the rest went on the boat to look at it.Had a hot pot supper on the way to the hotel a speciality in the area I wasnt to impressed, cook your own meat and veg and add your own spices. The hotel when we arrived is just beautiful winderful reception and dining areas our bedroom eas lovely sliding doors from bedroom area to bathroom everything you want toileteries.slippers free safe and lovely comfy bed. The gardens with the ly mock chapel was lovely, breakfast really nice wish we could haved stayed longer

Room Tip: couldnt rate the spa as we didnt use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet Z, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden and your valuable praise. Look forward to welcoming you again with our excellent facilities and service at land of pandas. Round-trip shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre also will offer ideal convenience and quickness for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
41
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Huge hotel , amazing facilities, beautiful bedroom with a huge bathroom area with a roll top bath. Lovely comfortable big bed.
We had a long day travelling and just looking out of the window made it seem worthwhile.
We were going to sit and have a drink in the bar but once I had a bath and put on the towelling robe nothing moved me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet Z, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, the first city-resort hotel in North Chengdu, and your valuable praise on hotel facilities and environment. Look forward to welcoming you again at land of pandas. Round-trip shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre also will offer ideal convenience and quickness for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A cheap 5-star hotel which turned one year on Sep. 23rd 2012. It has it's own small outdoor beach, indoor pool, spa etc. Club rooms / suites tend to be very cheap and good value-for-money. Hotel breakfast is amazing with very good bread (which is rare in China) and Dinner Buffet is also value-for-money. For club-rooms there is access to a spaceous lounge on 21st floor

A really nice touch is the play-area at the buffet-dinner restaurant (also available for non-diners), which will keep smaller kids entertained for a while. Note free transfer to the Panda Research Institute is also available.

In general - very nice hotel. Only minus is distance to city centre and airport, as traffic on the ring-roads tends to be heavy.

Note: For those used to travelling in China, they will know that 5-star here is not always comparable to 5-star other places (can vary a lot). This hotel *is* 5-star, even though you may run into reception / service-center staff who are not totally fluent in English. But they solve it quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet Z, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden and your valuable praise and comments which will improve us to serve guests better. We will enchance staff training on English and service skills constantly. Look forward to welcoming you again with our excellent facilities and service at land of pandas. Additionally, free round-trip shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre also offers ideal convenience and quickness for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful property, spacious & comfortable room. Nice breakfast buffet. Friendly & relaxing atmosphere. Shopping close to hotel. Great location to stay & close to Chengdu Reasearch Base of Giant Pandas.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet Z, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden and your valuable praise. Look forward to welcoming you again with our excellent facilities and service at land of pandas. Round-trip shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre also offers ideal convenience and quickness for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

On a recent trip with customers we stayed on this hotel.

I choose it because it was pretty close to the Panda Base and didn't expect much really.
We were really surprised by the hotel, Rooms are big, clean with lots of light and REAL nice.
The buffet was great too.

I had a problem with my credit card at check in (amex wasn't so sure it was me going through China), when the front desk crew so my anguish face (I had my customers there with me), they told me they were sure it was an error and gave us our keys.

Next day still with amex not working I ended up paying with other card and I got nothing but smiles and good treatment.

One last story: I forgot my wife computer bag in the lobby, I call the hotel from the Airport and ask them to take the bag to the airport urgently, after asking to describe the content (to make sure it was my bag) they sent the bag to the airport in a Taxi including a release form so I could sign at delivery.

I can't tell which was better, seeing my wife's soul coming back to his body after retrieving his laptop or the compliments from my customers telling me in the rest of the journey how much they enjoyed staying there...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden and valuable praise. Look forward to welcoming you again with excellent facilities and service at land of pandas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very nice hotel, large and clean rooms. Nice big windows which bring in lots of light and good atmosfere. Nothing wrong with the hotel but management makes it pretty annoying and unnecessarily expensive.
Airport transfer arranged by hotel RMB500, arrange yourself RMB 102.
Taxi to south bus terminal RMB130 arranged by hotel, arrange yourself RMB 47.
Do not order breakfast in your room because they will call you in the morning every morning: while the paper you fill in and hang on your door to be collected before 3 AM is very clear i.e. only boxes need to be ticked, they will always call (between 7:30 and 8 AM) to explain, even if you order for the breakfast to be delivered at 9:15! very annoying to explain to someone who only has a 25 word english vocabulary that you wish to have fruit platter AND grape juice. So with this breakfast you cannot have more than 1 juice, 3 bread items or 1 egg per person. also you cannot have fruit juice and fruit platter….not possible is the reply. Also EVERY morning they come unannounced knocking on your door if you have laundry, today at 7:45 while we had the euro2012 matches at night! IF I want my laundry done I will ask for it.
Good swimming pools, although wearing a swimming cap thing is obliged… even outside with all the frogs loving the pool as well and all the sand and smog falling into the pool anyway.
The band allowed to play during diner is more like a karaoke you see on nearly every corner in the Philippines..not very good.
I would stay here again but things need to be changed, maybe different management?

Room Tip: take room that ends with 03. you get the last room in the hallway, away from elevator with a nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet Z, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden. Your valuable comments will improve us to serve guests better. We are sorry for the inconvenient and uncomfortable experience during your stay. We will enchance staff training on service skills constantly. Hope to welcome you again with our improved services in the near future. Free shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre offers ideal convenience and quickness to you additionally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great if you are going to the Giant Panda Breeding Center because it is so close. The rooms were excellent and he staff were friendly. They even sent a cake to my sister because it happened to be her birthday.

However, we did encounter some problems while staying here. First, the hotel's ATM was out of money, so we had to take a taxi 15 minutes away to get money and pay 80Y for the taxi. That was an inconvenience. Then, our laundry bill was outrageous. We just had some underwear and tee shirts cleaned and didn't look too closely at the prices and when we got the bill it cost us over $150! They evened charged a 100Y service charge, which thankfully the did take off for us when we complained. That was ridiculous.

The buffet was also disappointingly simple and overpriced. Everything comes with a service charge too, which is baloney because nowhere else that we stayed had his service charge.

I would only stay here again if it were free because it's just too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet Z, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Ms.Allison, Thank you for your praise and valuable comments which will improve us to serve guests better. We are sorry for the inconvenient and uncomfortable experience during your stay. We will enchance staff training and facilitity maintainance constantly. Hope to welcome you again with our improved services in the near future. Free shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre offers ideal convenience and quickness to you additionally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden

Address: Poly Park 198, No.1980 Shulong Avenue, Xindu District, Chengdu 610503, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 2,057 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of colorful Poly 198 Park, Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden is the first international upscale hotel in North Chengdu. The hotel conveniently adjoins High-Tech West Zone and Xindu Industrial Park, and is within nearby walking distance to a 2,000 acre music park, Poly Lafitte Sports Park and the world famous Chengdu Panda Base. We are 30 minutes’ drive from downtown’s Tianfu Square, 20 minutes from Chengdu North Railway Station and East Railway Station, 45 minutes from Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport. Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden offers 345 exquisite guest rooms, each designed to exceed your expectations. We also feature 3 signature restaurants of differing styles, presenting you a delectable range of global cuisines and delicacies, along with a carnival of Sichuan and Cantonese specialties. Choco Deli offers a distinctive French and European flavor, a variety of homemade breads, cookies and tasty selection of fine pastries and cakes for all occasions including weddings. The hotel is additionally equipped with Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Touch Spa, Indoor and the only Splash Outdoor Pool in town. 3 round trip shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre Tianfu Square is your ideal choice of convenient travel with quickness. What’s more, Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden features an 800 square meters ballroom and is complemented by our Tulip function room with independent reception hall and 6 additional function rooms. In addition, the hotel offers 3,000 square meter outdoor banquet area and space suitable for any number of events. As for that special day in people’s lives, the hotel presents a unique outdoor venue that’s ideal for weddings and parties presented by our devoted Crowne Plaza Weddings team.With its attractive environment, elegantly appointed rooms, broad range of meetings and event facilities, unique dining and recreation facilities and excellent service, Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden offers you a refreshing and successful city-resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.