We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best serviced apartments in Chengdu.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Chengdu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Chengdu to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Chengdu
4.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.111 Zhihui Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely the best serviced apartments in Chengdu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

A few colleagues and I stayed at Fraser Suites Chengdu a few weeks ago while in the city for a business conference. My impression of Serviced Apartments has always been on a low side, especially since we always stayed serviced apartments in other cities. But I have to say, this one wowed me the most.

The facilities and rooms were impeccable. Even though this property is relatively new, the upkeep and maintenance of the building is top-notch, especially since I'm in the real estate line and I love scrutinizing the details of any hotel I stay in. Design is very modern, and the materials used were of high-quality grade. However, for a 1 year old building, the maintenance was impeccable. The rooms are large and very clean, sheets were spanking white, and my bathroom is always show-room quality when I return from a long day of meetings. They don't skim on amenities either, using Peter Thomas Roth toiletries. The beds are ridiculously comfortable, I always fall asleep within a few minutes after laying my head over the plush comfy pillows. Now, I'm a messy person so every morning after leaving my room/apartment, it's always in a mess, but their housekeeping is immaculately clean and neat.

Facilities are... how should I say it... opulent. The swimming pool is nice and warm, and the ceiling is designed with star constellations of LED lights. The gym is spacious and clean, and there is this "retreat" room filled with OSIM massage chairs, perfect for some quiet relaxing times while looking out through the floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Chengdu skyline. I took some time off to try out one of them, and am now seriously considering to get one for home.

The cafe/restaurant is small when compared to a full-fledged hotel, but this is expected for a serviced apartment. However, the breakfast offerings are decently good, and while having dinner we also had South-east asian cuisine from the menu. If you're looking for Laksa and Chicken Rice, this is the place to go for. //TIP: if you want to try some Sichuan cuisine, during breakfast there is a "hidden" menu. Just ask the staff and they will provide you with the menu, which you can order several Sichuan dishes for your taste buds.//

Staff were very friendly and made the effort to go the extra mile. We booked studio rooms, and upon checking in the front desk staff upgraded us to one-bedrooms and even brought us up to the rooms, giving us a tour of the room itself, teaching us how to use the appliances, TV, washing machine etc etc. I must sound really stupid when I didn't know how to work the living room TV system, bathroom TV, and the iPod docking sound system, but the staff were patient and carefully walked me through the steps.

Of course, there are some caveats. Being new, I think there are some floors that they are still working on, and you can't smoke in the building. The adjoining mall, Yanlord Landmark, seems to be empty at most times since they carry high-end brands like LV, Prada, Dior, etc... which means most of the local city denizens cannot probably afford. My guess is that there is always a price to exclusivity, but at least the food options in the mall are good! Also, since the place is so new, many cab drivers don't know the place unless you tell them it's Yanlord Landmark (仁恒置地). The good part is, the location is very central! You can get literally anywhere by cab in Chengdu City within less than ten minutes!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Zhoos,

My team and I are thrilled to read about the comments you posted. We are indeed so happy to have given you a wonderful "service apartment" experience. Fraser Suites Chengdu is in fact the most luxurious Service Suites in Chengdu. Hearing the passion in your voice as you discover the high quality sheets, amenities, materials and bedding makes us proud and truely happy to have made your stay a memorable one. Our swimming pool has the best midnight swim experience in Chengdu and if I may say, in China as well.

As you have rightly pointed out, we are relatively new and are working to ensure that our brand is well known in the City and especially to the cab drivers.

Thanks you once again for your detailed comments and we look forward to giving you another great experience should your travels bring you to this part of the world again.

Sincerely

Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    45
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
86
56
9
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I haven't stayed at any other Chengdu hotels but the location of Frasers (right on top of the best mall in Chengdu, Yanlord Landmark and in the middle of Chengdu's CBD) is great, the service was international standard and the facilities are top notch and new, especially the heated indoor swimming pool. The breakfast was decent, great for China standards but of course there is a kitchenette in the room so there's always the possibility of cooking your own food!

Room Tip: Great views and full floor to ceiling windows so ask for high floors to take advantage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear sting800,

My team and I read your comments with great interest. Location is truly important for anyone choosing a place to stay and we have the best location in Chengdu. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your return visit soon.

Thank you once again for chosing Fraser Suites as your residence in Chengdu.

Sincerely

Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This hotel has only been open for under a year so is relatively unknown. But I suspect that once more people stay here & spread the word it will go up the Tripadvisor rankings (as I believe it should rank in the top 20 – having stayed at other hotels in Chengdu).

We stayed here for 6 nights, a family of four, in a 2-bedroom suite. The rooms are very luxurious with great ID design. This is a serviced apartment which means that it is much more spacious than usual hotel rooms – we had 2 bedrooms, a living/dining area with a study corner, and a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine & drier. There is even a TV embedded in the mirror in the master bathroom (which the kids loved) and a Blue-Ray DVD in the living room. The lighting is very well thought out and can be bright or ambient to suit your moods. And the heating in every room can be adjusted (& it actually works unlike some other 5-star hotels).

The location is very good & the surroundings cater for all tastes. All the exclusive brands (LV, Gucci, Rolex, etc) are just next door in a new, swank shopping atrium which also houses restaurants and a gelato bar. At the other end of the spectrum Carrefour is directly opposite in another complex which houses a food hall, bakery, cinemas and shops. A 24-hour KFC is next to it and there is good variety of shops and amenities within a 5-minute walk, including a local market not for the animal-rights activist (live seafood crammed into aquariums, even saw small crocodiles with the jaws tied up obviously destined for someone’s dinner table!).

Tianfu Square is 5 min’s walk in 1 direction, the Jinjiang metro station is 5 min’s in the other direction. Walking to Chunxi Street (very extensive but just like any other big-city pedestrian shopping mall in China) is about 10 min’s walk.

The facilities are excellent. We really enjoyed the 20 meter indoor heated pool (check out out the starry ceiling) and the massage chairs next to the gym. There is also a Wii in the kids’ playroom but it wasn’t working towards the end of our stay.

Breakfast is decent with a good selection of Western & local. The a-la-carte for lunch and dinner also has chicken rice and laksa (reflecting the Singaporean Frasers brand and management) – a real surprise for homesick Singaporeans and Malaysians who can’t take too much of spicy and oily Sichuan food.

The manager, Danny, was very helpful and his staff were all very obliging. The earlier opening hiccups (see previous postings) seem to have been all ironed out and Danny seemed genuinely appreciative of any feedback. Service overall was friendly and efficient. But for some reason we couldn’t figure out why the chambermaids were reluctant to replenish our bathroom bath gels and shampoo on a daily basis (we had to chase them up every 2nd day).

The only drawback is that taxi drivers are not familiar with the hotel as it is still newish. Showing them the hotel card is of little help as the address is a little-known side street. But I worked out that if you tell them it is opposite the well-known older Celebrity City Hotel (成都城市名人酒店) on Renmin Nan Lu they will get you there. Once near Frasers Suite you can’t miss the 30+ storey modern building with the name in English on top.

The hotel is ideal for families or couples who want that extra luxury and space. There are also long-stay expats here besides the usual local and overseas tourists. The rates are not cheap but in my opinion why pay the equivalent at other well-known names when you can get so much more for your money here?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear tttan,

Thank you so much for your confidence in Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are indeed glad to say that we now rank in the top 20 here on Tripadvisor. Making your stay a memorable experinece is what we strive to do always for all our guests. We loved reading your detailed description of our suites, facilities, product offering and especially about the surrounding area. You and your family are truly explorers of the city.

Thanks again for posting these facinating comments. I am sure those reading it will come to know Fraser Suites Chengdu better. We will continue to promote our brand in the city and will direct our efforts to ensure that taxi drivers will know of our location and presence.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We are a group of Rotarians & friend (4 Australians, 3 Malaysian Indian Muslim & 13 Malaysian Chinese). Total 20 of us on tour to Panda Centre, Sanxingdui, Juizhaigou, Leshan & Hailuogou in China. Chengdu was our mid - point to travel northeast to Panda Centre & Juizhaigou and then southwest to Leshan (grand buddha) & Hailuogou. The 2 nights we stay at Frasers Suites was very good and relaxing. The check-in was well take care of. The reception staff know their job well and converse in reasonable good English. Security access is excellent. I book 5 Suites units for our group. Each unit comes with 2 rooms (one room king size bed, the other twinbed) and a lounge & kitchen area. Attached are some of the photos I have taken. This is an apartment hotel, so if you need to cook and wash your laundry, stove, washing machine & dryer are all there. This is very conveinent for traveler like us. The lounge & kitchen area very spacious. All these makes you feel very homely. Rooms, lounge area and bathroom are all very clean. Wifi access is free and they have a computer room equiped with Mac computer if you need access to internet. Did not have time to try out the facilities provided, like indoor pool, steam & saune rooms, a billard & aerobics rooms. Most of the time was spend shopping and looking for tasty food which are very near the apartment hotel. The location of the apartment hotel is just opposite the shopping area, slightly away from the big crowd which you normally see in shopping area in China. Breakfast was good, mostly western with a little bit of chinese dishes. Even though this apartment hotel is about 4 months old, new and spotlessly clean I could constantly see workers cleaning the public area to upkeep the property.. Our group have a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Overall I'm happy to say none of our group members complaint on the service, breakfast & rooms. They have only good comments for the apartment hotel. I have stay in Fraser property in Singapore before and this one is just as good, truly 5 stars hospitality. Will definitely stay in Fraser Suites when I visit Chengdu again.

Room Tip: Make sure all the rooms are with attached bathrooms, if you book 2 rooms unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear 28Sunny,

We really enjoyed your company and the company of all the fellow Rotarians during your recent visit to Chengdu. We were delighted to have such experienced travellers with us. Your wonderful remarks made our day and we are very thankful and sincerey appreciate your comments.

We look forward to being of service to you when you visit us again.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were staying at another 5 start property when we viewed Fraser Suites Chengdu. The sales manager told us the facilities like the gym, etc were available 24 hours a day. We were initially treated well; but we soon realized that the sales team and the front desk (operations) team are different; and experienced relatively poor front desk service. The key card holder, for example, says "24 hour gym access" as the sales manager also told us; but our key card does not open the gym after 10 PM or so. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk staff, she rudely said "24 hours access in only for long stay guests, you are short stay". Since we pay more per night than long stay guests, this was really shocking and rude; since we were told otherwise when looking at the room with the sales staff. In addition, the sauna was broken, the steam room did not work, and when we brought this to the attention of the staff, they seemed not to care at all. Frankly speaking, breakfast was cold, terrible with a very poor menu selection, at least based on other properties we stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear firestardude,

Thank you for your comments here on tripadvisor. We do appreciate your feedback as this will only enable us to do better. As we have calrifyed with you personally on your departure, we did inform you that the facilities were not available 24 hours a day. You have also acknowledge this upon your departure and said that it was a misunderstanding. However, we have taken your comments into consideration and are happy to inform you that the gym and pool are now available 24/7. We have also checked the steam and sauna and found both in good working condition. We have now placed instructions on how to operate these facilities to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy them. As for breakfast, we agree that we cannot compare with hotels on the spread and variety, being a long term residence, but many of our guests are happy wiht the offerings we have. However, we are continuing to add variety and quality through constant feedback for our guests. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope that we could be given a second chance to make a first impression.

Warmest regards,

Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We are a family of 4, 2 kiddos under 3, staying here for 7 weeks while on business. the hotel manager Eric and his staff are going out of their way to make us feel "at home", welcome, and comfortable. THe team is incredibly well trained in service level and friendliness. we have the doorman greeting us, and helping us carry goods up the the apartment without even asking. The restaurant service, Monica and Nicole, are very responsive and attentive. The rooms are brand new, great condition. Only weak link is the internet access is a bit fritzy. wonderful pool for adults (laps) and kids pool is separate. indoor and outdoor playground with excelletn security access. Overall, we could not have picked a better place to feel at home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear evilexis,

My team and I are delighted to read your comments and are happy that we have given you a positive experience here at Fraser Suites, Chengdu. We would like to inform you that we have improved the internet access now. Wireless interface is available throughout the property. Once again, thank your for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you "home" soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Travelled in a party of three adults and two children under three and booked interconnecting one bedroom apartment and a studio. Both rooms were very large with every convenience included and as the hotel only opened four months ago, almost everything was spotless. Sadly the windows were filthy and when I say filthy I mean never been cleaned, so the view could not be enjoyed at all. Elsewhere in the hotel public areas were constantly being cleaned, which is nice in China where things can get dirty pretty quick.
The swimming pool, indoor and outdoor kids play areas were all well fitted out and spotlessly clean. Management, if you read this - put a BBQ in the outdoor area.
The buffet breakfast was pretty good, the omelette man certainly knew what he was doing. Otherwise nothing stood out as being any better than your standard 4 star asian hotel. One point, our friend's 2 year old accidentally dropped a plate and the hotel management charged them 30RMB... which is just ridiculous.
Finally, the staff seemed very keen to help and well-trained in the manual tasks of their jobs, but didn't have the ability to offer suggestions of what to do in Chengdu or organise tours etc.
Overall this hotel was very good but there were just one or two things that need to be ironed out to make will make it great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear NicknCaro,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to have given you a memorable experinece here in Fraser Suites, Chengdu. We appreciate your feedback on our shortcomings as this will only enable us to better ourselves and to give you the level of service and comfort that you have come to expect. We are happy to inform you that we do have a BBQ grill now and use it ocassionally for our Residence Parties in the outdoor area. We have also trained our staff on the offerings around Chengdu and are able to make suggestions and arrangements for our guests to visit surrounding attractions in Chengdu. We apologise about the charge for the broken plate and have ensured that our staff are now trained to understand that accidents do happen, especially with children and that such incidences should not be charged. Once again, we are glad that you have given us valuable feedback to improve our product and services. My team and I look forward to your next visit soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Chengdu

Address: No.111 Zhihui Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610000, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Suites Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located between the Central Business District and Tian Fu Square, Fraser Suites Chengdu couldn’t be better placed for executives and family members. This mixed office, retail and serviced residence development includes a high-end shopping mall and offices too – everything a business or leisure traveler could need, right on their doorstep.Hospitality and guest services at Frasers Suites Chengdu are second to none, with a 24-hour concierge and personalized daily housekeeping. Step outside this striking property, created by award-winning international architects, and you are only moments from world-class department stores and key commercial buildings. From the transport hub located close to Fraser Suites Chengdu, it’s easy to explore Sichuan Province and surrounding regions.An iconic landmark building with two floors dedicated to health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu features 360 Gold-Standard residences that combine comfort, style and technology with full facilities in a standout location.With a range of room sizes and configurations, each exquisitely appointed apartment offers panoramic views, an ergonomic workspace, and sophisticated, yet understated interiors by acclaimed Hong Kong designer Steven Leung.Key business and shopping destinations are only moments from the property. And as ever, the Fraser Difference: renowned personalized service and facilities to complement your every lifestyle need, will further enhance your stay.With great emphasis on health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu provides a comprehensive range of facilities within the property. Complementing the indoor pool, fully equipped gym, hot and cold tubs, as well as steam and sauna rooms, there’s a dining café, billiard room, children’s playroom, The Retreat, and a Business Centre with function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fraser Suites Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Chengdu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.