We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of peace away from busy old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Chengdu Club

Save Saved
You added Old Chengdu Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Chengdu Club
No.28 Wuyuegong Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China (Luoma Market)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 1,969 hotels in Chengdu
UAE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oasis of peace away from busy old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The property is pretty impressive! Massive courtyard with several buildings, rooms are stunning, all decorated in chinese style. Very comfortable and we were lucky to get a quiet room facing the courtyard.
Cleanliness was average though, our shower drain was totally blocked and found a fly in the tea bag box. Other than that the bedsheets were crispy clean and bed very comfortable with clean towels and bathrobes.
Reception manager was the only one speaking English and was very helpful and pro-active. Let us use his own PC and provided us with all info needed.
Breakfast was delicious, but we were disappointed, that there was no coffee available!!! We opted for a good chinese tea instead, which made up for it. Helpfulness of staff in the restaurant was average with no English spoken.
Big disappointment was the hotel spa. Beautiful facilities, nice treatment brochure, but no staff and products available for the treatment we chose. We booked this hotel as we wanted to spend a last night in a lovely hotel and relax in spa before our departure back home. Even though we were willing to pay for the overpriced treatments offered, they were simply not available. We ended up going for very reasonably priced 90 mins chinese massage and foot reflexology to Buddhazen hotel just 3 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the courtyard, however I believe there are very few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
19
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very nice hotel,front desk staff need to smile a bit more,but you soon smile when you see your rooms,wonderfully set out,from the lovely decor to the three TV's, one in the bathroom even.would have like to use the spa but there was no water in it and would have loved to sit at the bar but never found it,even so we still had a very good time here,was like you walked in the gates and relaxation came over you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel and its position in town is great. First the downside, in China smoking is not frowned on indoors/outdoors anywhere - so although our room was truly fantastic is smelt of smoke, but with the windows open (always book a room and request windows, as some rooms dont have any!?) it soon disappeared. A minimum of english is spoken in the hotel but the staff are so friendly and helpful, you will work it out. The food, we only ate there on an evening once, is very nice and the breakfasts are fun, ask for bacon for your eggs and it will appear, otherwise try the other stuff and they do have coffee in the tea house, just ask. We didnt use the pool, but my husband did check it out, he thought we should update out tetnus injections before using it and it was freezing, even though it was indoors - so we didnt bother. Outside the hotel, across the street there is a whole walking area with shops of all types, another hotel Zen Buddah Hotel (we ate there most days for lunch, the food was amazing and so cheap), infact we had great fun and went there most days. Then Wenshu Monistery is good but rundown and its is to the right of the hotel, 2 mins walk. We got the hotel to get a car for us to visit the Pandas at the reserve, 30 mins depending on traffic, we arrived at 8am and got to see the pandas without loads of people for at least 90 mins which was fantastic, as they are really awake at that time and babies are only born from sept to feb - by far the best time to visit as they are on display in their nurseries, so cute. You can hug one (not a very small one) for about £130 cash on the day, but you will get about 2 to 3 mins to take a picture and that's it, you can also be a panda keeper for the day but that's expensive but probably worth it, but you have to stay the day 8-5pm. The reserve is a fantastic place, the red panda's run wild in their reserve, just dont touch them, but they are fun and there is a coffee shop worth going to, remember earlier is better if you want a great experience. Jinli Street is also worth the experience but go when its dark, all taxi drivers know it so dont worry and it closes at 10pm as does most places in Chengdu but the shops and food places are fab, there is also a Starbucks there if you are missing your caffine hit. Get your hotel to write in chinese the address and name so you can just show it to a returning taxi. We had a blast its a fantastic city.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window, you dont always get one allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I didn't stay here and can't judge it except on one front. It has a fully kitted out Western-style bar where you can get a Western-style drink whether you're staying there or not. Incidentally, I was staying at the Buddha Zen Hotel, which is about 100 metres away, and which doesn't seem to offer alcohol other than beer. But if after a busy working or touristy day and you're staying in this 'old part' of town near the monastery, and, like me you feel you deserve a drink before dinner, here's the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The location of this property absolutely cannot be beat. Next door to the Wenshu Monastery, less than a five minute walk to the subway station. On a rebuilt/renovated street, with a mix of very good restaurant options, tourist souvenirs and high-end/museum-quality handicrafts. Out the back gate of the property, you are in bustling residential neighborhood--not touristy at all with wonderful street vendors, hot pot, kebabs/skewer restaurants, local tea houses, anything you could possibly want. The property itself is beautiful, with a few idiosyncrasies. It seems that most of the deluxe rooms do not have windows--great for sleep as it is very dark and quiet, but as several reviewers have mentioned it can also be stuffy to hot. We had two rooms and in one of the rooms neither the safe nor the refrigerator worked. While the maintenance staff couldn't fix these minor problems, in general, the service was excellent. We got brought delicious snacks late each afternoon, and buckets of ice (rare in China) every night before bed. One front desk staff member was incredibly helpful in helping us figure out buying train tickets to Qingchengshan and negotiating for a car to go to the panda reserve. Breakfast was excellent and the staff there were also wonderful--helping to get a high chair, remembering who wanted coffee, quickly getting second cups and so on. The pool was a great addition for those traveling with families--it seemed not to be frequently used as we had to ask them to turn lights on for us, and the hot tubs were not heated, but the pool was clean, there were plenty of towels and so on. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The buildings are really beautiful. I walked around the grounds and I felt like I had stepped back in time. I arrived late at night (past midnight) because of my late flight. I was a little worried because the street was desolate and the front gate was closed. When I opened the gates, a guard came rushing up and pointed the way to the front desk. There are no obvious signs to the hotel, and in fact, I would make sure to print out directions in Chinese to give to the taxi driver or prearrange for transportation from the airport. The rooms are beautiful...I felt like a Chinese princess in my framed bed. The ambiance is great, but the lighting is poor and there are no windows in the room. The English level at the hotel is poor but I got by just fine....taxi drivers in China don't speak English so make sure you have a local write down your destination name and address in Chinese. I didn't have any trouble getting around, and cabs are inexpensive. The spa is really nice but prices are very high, especially for China.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Perfect in every way: big and luxurious rooms with unusual details such as TV in the bath; correct breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Located in the historic reconstructed old-style city center, with plenty of shops and food or tea stalls.
What's more, very good quality - price.
Only one small complaint: We ate 2 nights at the hotel restaurant all alone, with serious problems of communication with the restaurant staff because they barely speak English.
Perfect gym and spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Chengdu Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chengdu Club

Address: No.28 Wuyuegong Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu > Luoma Market , Qingyang District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,969 hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Old Chengdu Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Chengdu Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.