We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Riverview Chengdu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Riverview Chengdu to your Saves list
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.1 3rd Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

After spending 6 nights in 5 star hotels it made a nice change to book into these very nice serviced apartments in Chengdu with great views over looking the river. Our 18th floor apartment was very spacious and well appointed with lounge (large widescreen tv lounge & bedroom) complete with desk area, bedroom and wet room toilet & shower. Bed very comfortable, and everything clean and well maintained. Added bonus was the self-service laundry facilities complete with tumble drier. Conveniently located just a short walk from a subway station and less than 30 mins from the airport by taxi would recommend this as a convenient base if like us you're visiting the Giant Panda
Research and breeding centre.

Room Tip: Our room 1 had views in both directions due to shape of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Emu-Pat

Thank you for choosing Somerset Riverview Chengdu as your choice of accommodation in Chengdu
.
We are glad to hear that you have a nice stay in our property, your compliments will be shared with our team. Receiving such positive feedback from guests like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our Ascott International serviced residences.

Yours sincerely

Crissy Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
14
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is value for money and in good location near the metro. The rooms are very nice and staff are good.
Breakfast is OK but limited range unless you like Chinese for breakfast, they do have cereal and toast and cook eggs to order.
Has a Maan coffee shop next door which is OK and does a range of food, and a 7 11 shop which is 24 hour selling water , beer , wine extra .
Its cheap and easy to take the metro to Raffles shopping centre which is high end shopping and some good restaurants including Din Tai feng .
Good western bar called the Lazy Pug near Togzilin station in the Master building ground floor next to Regal Master Hotel.
The staff will also organise taxis to Panda's etc.
Note - when getting a taxi its some time easier to get dropped off on Renmin Road , some drivers get confused with the address, easy solution is to ring hotel when you catch the taxi , especially from the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on river side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Gleen G G

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Riverview Chengdu.

We acknowledge your concerns regarding the quality of food served at breakfast spread and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared
with the vendor and we will work very closely with them to improve the breakfast spread for the dining enjoyment of all our residents.

For the taxi, i am sorry to bring you inconvenient, please don,t mind to contact us if you have any problem.

Please rest assured that we are committed to provide excellent services and products to all our guests.

Meanwhile, if you have any further questions or wish to feedback directly to us, please email us at this address. We will be most glad to assist you.

Once Again, thanks for choose Somerset Riverview Chengdu and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is new and the amenity is beautiful. The bed is quite soft and comfortable (compared to the Somerset hotel in Chongqing). However, the breakfast is rather plain, and the location is a bit awkward. Though the hotel is at the center of the city, it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the nearest shopping malls and attractions. Do not forget to take the hotel address with your, most of the taxi drivers do not recognize its location. An alternative is to take metro, the nearest metro station is about 15 minutes walk away.

Our check-out took about 20 minutes and we were almost double charged.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the water view....or else you have to face a ugly construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervin H, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Power_IT1,

Greetings from the Somerset Riverview Chengdu! Your trusted "home away from home"!

I am heartened by your positive feedback on your stay with us. It means a lot to me and my team, that we have met and exceeded your expectations in delivering a great stay experience at our property.

I note your most constructive feedback on our breakfast. Please rest assured that we are looking at expanding the variety and selection of food items on our menu. Informatively, we have included a new Healthy Breakfast corner, complete with a full spread of continental breakfast offerings such as premium Swiss muesli, skim milk, wholemeal bread etc. In addition, we do also have a brand new all-day diner that offers authentic Singaporean delights, manned by a team of experienced chefs.

Our location is ideally central, as it is only a train stop from the shopping/entertainment district of Chunxi Road. In addition, i am excited to share with you that we are in the center of several other entertainment/lifestyle hubs such as Lan Kwai Fong (approx. 10mins by taxi), Raffles City mall (1 train stop away) as well as Tong Zilin - A famed European-styled lifestyle street (a mere 2 train stops away).

The Somerset's biggest strength is in its location; in that while it is still central, it is tucked away in a serene, idyllic and picturesque location so that our guests can take a respite from the maddening crowd and built-up concrete jungle that is the city centre.

For the longer-than-expected check out experience (as well as the oversight in almost double-charging you), please accept my sincere apologies. Excellent (and efficient) customer servicing is of paramount importance to me and my team here at the Somerset, and i assure you that your feedback is well-received and the neccessary follow-up measures undertaken. Informatively, for a more seamless check-out process, guests can approach our dedicated Ascott Host service ambassadors at anytime, to see to all the neccessary details while they prepare for their departure.

Once more, Power_IT1, thank you for your most constructive feedback in your stay with us. At the Somerset, we believe in continuous improvement through innovation and service enhancements, and as such, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and to provide you with a much more memorable experience on your next stay with us!

With best wishes,
Mervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

After a big roadtrip in Tibet we arrived to Chengdu looking for comfort. We picked Chengdu as our main departure point for our day trips in the surroundings (Qingcheng shan, Leshan etc).
First of all we were upgraded to a larger room which was great! The perfectly equipped rooms make you feel at home.
You have a washing machine in your appartment, gym, pool etc. We enjoyed it a lot.
On the bad side we did not appreciate that the A/C worked non stop and it was very loud. We could even feel the A/C's vibrations of the room downstairs.
I would also have skipped the breakfast which is quite basic.
Other than that it was a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervin H, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear thetravelreviewer,

Greetings from the Somerset Riverview Chengdu! Your trusted "home away from home"!

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, i am glad that we met and exceeded your expectations in providing a comfortable sanctuary for you and your family. It had been a pleasure of us in hosting you here.

Pertaining to your most constructive feedback on our air-conditioning, allow me to assure you that our air conditioning in the rooms function silently in most instances, unless adjusted at higher wind speeds (in the air ventilation mode). Specific to the vibrations felt, i do apologize as the room assigned to you was just above our maintenance room. As a result, there will be instances of slight disturbances to you and your family. Please accept my sincere apologies, however i do assure you that such instances are isolated and do occur very infrequently -mostly during the maintenance downtime periods in the late night.

On behalf of the team at the Somerset Riverview Chengdu, thank you once more for your patronage and for your beliefs in our product/services. We look forward to welcoming you back again and providing you with an even better "WOW" experience on your next stay with us!

With best wishes,
Mervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I came to Chengdu to visit our nephew, who is studying medicine at Sichuan University. We asked our travel agent to find a nice hotel near the campus and we couldn't have been happier with his choice. The Somerset Riverview is much more than a conventional hotel. As a "residence," it offers a much bigger room -- a small apartment, actually -- as well as an excellent dining room, pool, gym and other facilities, all of which were clean and modern. The management was also very helpful. The next time I return to Chengdu, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervin H, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Himalaya-to-Carolina,

Greetings from the Somerset Riverview Chengdu - your trusted "home away from home"!

My team here is excited to receive your positive feedback on your stay with us.

You are absolutely right that the Somerset is more than a conventional hotel. We believe in creating homes - more specifically, luxurious private sanctuaries that the entire family can come relax and soak in the warm ambience. To enhance your stay experience, we offer an exciting range of lifestyle activities that the whole family can partake in. Choose from an invigorating yoga session to an adrenalin pumping dance class while fitness enthusiasts can always challenge themselves over boxercise classes. All completely complimentary! When done, soak in the luxurious pampering by our own dedicated in-house massage/spa therapists. At any moment if you are feeling peckish, select from a wide range of gourmet delights in/about our residences - from the renowned MAAN Coffee chain at the ground floor to scrumptious Southeast Asian fare at our exclusive in-house dining area (with an excellent riverfront view!)

At the Somerset, we believe in providing a healthy and wholesome lifestyle for you and the family. while delivering a sterling brand of personalised customer servicing.

Thank you once more for making our day (as much as we had made yours)! I look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" really soon!

With best wishes,
Mervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in June and thought the apartment and location were just great. It is on the same side of the city as the airport so easy to access. It is situated on the riverside in a up-market area were it is lovely to walk along the river and catch the parks and shopping areas. The apartment was very spacious and modern with high class fittings and fixtures. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable. You can spread out on the sofa in your lounge at night with a drink and watch you favorite TV series, great. All the amenities are provided and the kitchen was fully fitted. The staff were accommodating and helpful, booking us a trip to LeShan. Complimentary coffee in the reception. The subway station is nearby so you can get into the cit centre and quite close to the Panda centre, taking a taxi therafter. The airport shuttle bus stops just across the bridge from the hotel. The is a large supermarket nearby and take-away. Also a convenience shop just outside. We enjoyed walking along the riverside at night and watching the fishermen. Great place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervin H, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Morrey,

Greetings from the Somerset - your "home away from home"!

Thank you for making our day here! We are hugely motivated by your glowing review and we are inspired to do even better.

At the Somerset Riverview, our key strength is offering a quiet, clean and incredibly comfortable place for you to relax and to indulge in the serene ambience against the iconic Jinjiang River. Besides a great location, right in the heart of the city, we offer a fantastic suite of lifestyle services to meet the needs of every single one of our guests.

With one of the best gyms in town, set against the backdrop of the riverside, you can choose to work up a sweat with our innovative Boxercise keep-fit class, Dance/Hip-Hop lessons and/or Yoga. Classes are completely complimentary for guests, and guided by our Chief Fitness Officer from the United States. Kids in the mean time can continue to play and learn in our kids' play room.

If you are keen for a dip, look no further than our fully-equipped fun pool where you can shoot hoops (Water basketball), play Water Volleyball and for the kids, to soak in a mini-jacuzzi complete with fun slides!

Choose from delectable treats at our cafe located at the 1st Floor, to savoury meals at our Vegetarian restaurant in the 2nd Floor; and if you are looking for a quick bite, Subway and 7-Eleven are just round the corner! Once done with dining, you have the option of an exclusive in-house massage/spa service by our top therapists.

Once all done and ready for a night-cap, you can select a wide range of DVDs and kick back on our soft and plush lounge sofas. For the more adventurous, head down to our Game Room, for a spot of video gaming, billiards/pool or even a round of table tennis with fellow neigbours in the community that is Somerset!

When you select the Somerset, you are selecting a balanced lifestyle concept - that combines the very best of business facilities (e.g. blazing WIFI) and a stellar, bespoke lifestyle set of offerings. We believe in only delivering the very best guest experience and in that every guest should leave the property in a much better/happier state they were, when they first arrive.

Thank you once more Morrey for making our day (as much as we have made yours)! I look forward to welcoming you back "home" really soon.

With best wishes,
Mervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staff worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed. I was so overwhelmed with gratitude for the unexpected details that were put into the care of my stay. I would recommend it to anyone and am certain that I will be back for another visit! If you are looking for a relaxing get away then this is the absolute best place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervin H, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Finn a,

Warmest greetings from your home away from home at the Somerset Riverview!

We are so glad to have made your experience a lovely one, and we are truly touched by your glowing review! It means so much to our team here.

At the Somerset Riverview, we pride ourselves on a highly customized experience that is always warm, genuine and most importantly, comfortable and truly stress-free. What truly keeps us motivated and going, is the smile of satisfaction on each and every one of our customer.

You can always be assured that every single detail is carefully thought, every service experience carefully planned prior to your arrival and every need taken care of according to your specifications.

Relax, be pampered, and let us take good care of you here at the Somerset. Finn a, you can always call on the Somerset Riverview as home; because to us, every guest is treated as family. We sincerely look forward to preparing to wow you all over again, on your next visit!

Thank you once more, you've made our day! (Just as much as we have made yours).

With best wishes,
Mervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Riverview Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Riverview Chengdu

Address: No.1 3rd Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 2,060 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Riverview Chengdu 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the banks of the Jinjiang River, Somerset Riverview Chengdu enjoys a prime address in the city of Chengdu. Nature features heavily around Somerset Riverview Chengdu. Whilst meandering water ways with romantic arched bridges make for a pretty cultural picture, local tea houses and bars alike takes on a fantastical modern allure. The 200 serviced residences is furnished with a modern and comfortable living and dining area, broadband Internet access, satellite television access and a fully-equipped kitchen. We offer you a wide range of apartment sizes from studio to three-bedroom apartments tailored to your lifestyle. Our 24-hour on-site security personnel and video intercom system provide you and your family a secure living environment. Somerset Riverview Chengdu is ideal for executive and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Our rooftop garden is the perfect relaxed space for lazy summer barbecue. Unique facilities include fully-equipped gymnasium, sauna rooms and children playground offering extensive leisure and sports choices for you and your family to relax and refresh. Our recreational residents’ programmes like city explorations and networking gatherings enable you to meet people and network within your community. Our helpful and caring staff is always striving to exceed your expectation, showcasing the core value of Somerset’s signature Heartware service, which is our commitment to tailor each residence to your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Riverview Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Riverview Chengdu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.