We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate mid-range hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Furong Hotel to your Saves list
Furong Hotel
No.99 Guo Jie Lou Steet, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610031, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #325 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Melboune
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Adequate mid-range hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed one night here as part of a package tour group. The hotel has the usual facilities expected of a mid-range property: nothing fantastic, but certainly quite acceptable (although towels were a bit shabby). Free wifi in the lobby was appreciated. Breakfast was mainly geared to Asian tastes, but a number of Western dishes were available for the benefit of the groups. I don't know if these are provided on nights when tour groups are not present.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Badly lit rooms and passages, no airconditioning. Rooms are not very clean, carpets in the foyer and rooms are extremely dirty. The service at breakfast was poor. None of the staff during my stay could understand English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were taken to this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu China tour. As soon as we turned down into a seedy looking lane I knew what we were to expect. Horrible place, the carpet was full of black hairs it was really dirty. I didn't even want to put my luggage on the carpet. Bed hard, air conditioning not working properly. Asked hotel to have a look they sent someone up who didn't speak english so sign language was performed and she then indicated all was ok. I can assure you it was not. Don't know what the tour company paid for this, but whatever it was we were had. - Never again.

Room Tip: Do your homework check out other hotels. Unfortunately when you are with a tour group you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is not 5 star but it will give you the Chinese experience of a rock hard bed. You can request extra quilts to put under you to attempt to soften the bed. We got the impression they do not cater for many Westerners because the restaurant had little Western food apart from toast and the staff generallyy had a poor command of English. The location was good however with the main shopping precinct only a short walk a block away. The Hotel is situated on a back street so traffic noise was minimal. Not the best hotel we stayed in on our tour of China but it all adds to the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for extra quilts to soften the bed if this is what you are used to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Room was okay. Got there late at night & left early. Was very dim in room - could've used a lot more lighting - tough to see numbers to open locks on suitcase.

Also had a 10:30 call from a friendly local - was all in mandarin, but basically the seeing if we needed a friend. Weird. Walls were quite thin & a VERY LOUD group was in the hall yapping away. Then they left & came back. This isn't the hotel's fault, but more sound proofing might have helped.

Room Tip: As far from elevators as possible so if yappy people speak in the hall, hopefully they're at a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The hotel in general seemed OK, though the decor could have done with a refresh. The rooms were very standard, though quite noisy if you were on the street side and the beds are rock hard. The breakfast was one of the worst I've come across in China: if you prefer western-style all there was on offer was dry cake-bread and pure-sugar jam, and the local-style offerings all appeared to be leftovers from dinner, not even re-heated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a good 3 star hotel located in close walking distance to a huge local grocery and general merchandise store, as well as a number of sit-down and fast food restaurants. My room was very large, had good air-conditioning and shower, as well as a computer with a flat screen monitor. Others in my group had a refrigerator in their room, but did not have a computer. I did not have a refrigerator. There was free wi-fi in the lobby area, which smelled like cigarette smoke, but those who did not have a computer in their rooms, said that the wi-fi was extremely slow and unreliable. There is a breakfast buffet, which consisted of mainly Chinese items. There was someone cooking eggs, but he didn't understand how to make them any way other than fried. The hotel staff spoke very little English. The hotel appears to cater more toward a Chinese clientele than a Western clientele.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Furong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furong Hotel

Address: No.99 Guo Jie Lou Steet, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610031, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Furong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.