We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, wonderful staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BuddhaZen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BuddhaZen Hotel to your Saves list
BuddhaZen Hotel
B6-6, Wenshufang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 2,073 Hotels in Chengdu
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“great hotel, wonderful staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in a suite for a few nights and loved it. The hotel is in an old traditional Chinese building and is beautiful. The room was very nice, our suite had a sitting area and a large bedroom area. the staff were friendly and helpful - they arranged our travel to visit the Panda Centre as well as our tickets, and made several very good restaurant suggestions. The location was convenient for many restaurants and temples. If we were to visit Chengdu again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    185
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
100
167
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, historic area. This hotel, like other buildings in the area, is built in a very old, traditional Chinese building, but updated and modern inside the rooms. Very clean and comfortable.
Worth spending some time just looking around at the hotel's decor & architecture,.. And even more time exploring. The surrounding area.
The location and neighbourhood is the best part of the hotel. It has a real, "old China" traditional feel that is VERY different than the rest of downtown Chengdu. Tons of local shops and food around the area.

TIP:
Airport pickup 180Yuan
Hotel booked taxi back to airport 80Yuan
-Cheapest to just wave down a taxi off the street and make sure they use the meter

No English Channels on TV

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is located in a pedestrian market street, giving it, with the traditional architecture, a flavor of old China for the tourist visitor. But don't be mislead, the hotel has all the modern conveniences that one might want while traveling, such as complimentary bottled water, an electric tea pot, a refrigerator, and a bathroom with a tiled shower (no tub), and a Chinese themed vessel sink, plus bathroom amenities. The bed is firm, but comfortable. There isn't an elevator, but the ready to please staff always helps carry the luggage up or down the stairs. The common areas are large and uncrowded while we were there, and the scrolled woodwork is throughout the hotel giving it a lovely atmosphere.

The one drawback is that, because the hotel is in the market area, it can be very noisy. It was wonderful to go out on our second floor balcony to watch the activity in the market, yet when the noise from the stalls goes on until 9:30 PM, then it's not as much fun. But it did eventually quiet down, and we were able to get a good night's sleep.

So if you don't mind going to sleep later at night, this is a wonderful hotel to experience while in Chengdu.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at buddha zen for 12 nights. Courtious staff who carried our bags to our room after a long flight. Clean room with a modern bathroom. Did not try the restaurant as there was so many great food places out on the street. Would reccomend this hotel and would stay here again on future visits to chengdu.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

last I stayed here there were mould on the shower areas. A waste given its a nice place. Lights were not working. Maintenance not up to expectation. Any improvement as I really like the ambience but frightful of mouldy bathroom? Smells too. Shower drainage not good

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We had two rooms side by side and were on the top floor overlooking the lane way below (as requested) and suggested by other TA members.

Hotel staff were very pleasant and helped take our suitcases up the many stairs.

I personally loved the old style rooms with traditional decor (but modern bathroom).

It was a very quiet time of year.

My only bad point was the TV listing was suppose to have HBO and other western style channels but neither of our rooms could access them but we didn't bother to ask why.

The hotel arranged our taxi to airport on departure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Chengdu first of all is a wonderful wonderful city. The hotel is situated in a newly built "old" tourist area. It is next to the landmark monastery WenShuYuan. The staff are friendly and professional to greet me and take me into the room. I like the overall "old" feeling of the hotel coupled with its modern facilities and cleaniness. The balcony looking into the streets are the perfect place to have a cup of tea to relax your souls.

Service is only given 4 stars as some of the staff feel a bit lost. In one instance the staff had no idea about the surrounding when I asked for recommendation for dinner. I extended my stay there on daily basis. However when I called the front desk regarding the extension, they seem to have no idea whether to charge me deposits for the extra night, and how much to charge.

Overall, it is a nice hotel in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BuddhaZen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuddhaZen Hotel

Address: B6-6, Wenshufang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#47 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BuddhaZen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddhazen Hotel Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BuddhaZen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.