We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wenjun Mansion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wenjun Mansion Hotel to your Saves list
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.180 Qintai Road, Chengdu 610041, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 2,072 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

good location at Qintai Road. The new MRT line 2 Tonghuimen Station is just 5 minutes away. stay at both Chinese style room and western style room during my stay at Wenjun Mansion and prefer the Chinese style room. the staff is knowledgeable and can speak well in english.

Room Tip: choose the chinese style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    127
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
44
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the hotel for 4 different nights in 4 different rooms. We loved the hotel for its unique decor and the location. We loved the ambient too. We were not so impressed with the first night at a western style room. The room was a bit dirty, especially the shower. it seemed that there was mold at the bottom of the shower. The experience of the rest of 3 nights were great after we switched to chinese style rooms. The rooms seemed much cleaner and I loved the wooden floor.I would definitely stay there whenever I visit Chengdu.

Room Tip: Choose chinese style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

In terms of location, this is a great hotel. It is situated within walking distance of some nice parks and the famous Kuan alley way宽巷子. It is located right near the newly opened number 2 subway line, the stop of 通惠门 Tonghui Men. You can also take the 47 bus directly from the East railway station. In Chengdu, I recommend relying entirely on walking and public transport for getting around. Don't bother with hailing a taxi in Chengdu. Two reasons 1) it is just plain difficult to find an empty taxi, and 2) when you finally find an empty taxi, the taxi driver will very likely not know where you want to go, ask you to give directions on how to get there, and you will be just so frustrated with that experience. This happened to us numerous times. The public transport, especially the clean and new number 2 subway line, is fantastic, and buses will take you everywhere you will want go to. Unfortunately, buses are not an option if you cannot read Chinese, but there is English on the subway lines.

The hotel structure is in the structure of a courtyard and has four levels; on the first two levels, the rooms can be quite dark and dusty, so it is not so great for people with allergies. The rooms overlook the courtyard. After the first night, we asked to switch rooms and were moved to a third level room, which had more air circulation and less dust mites. The Chinese-style standard rooms are quite charming, with traditional decorations and furniture. The water pressure in the shower is quite strong and the temperature does get hot. There are wooden chairs and tables in front of each room on the open corridor of each level, where you can enjoy the morning and evening hours. The housekeeping is very good, though not immaculate.

The cons. I have already mentioned the dust mites. I see that someone else has already mentioned that there is no wardrobe, so you can not hang your clothes, but simply leave them in the suitcase. If you want to do your wash, it is 20 Yuan, but there are no dryers, so you can only lay them flat on the bed or hang your clothes outside on the ground floor, where the washing machine is. The breakfast, at 25 Yuan, was overpriced. You get some mediocre bread, red tea, coffee, Chinese porridge and snacks. After the first day, we bought along our own bag of oatmeal (7 yuan at the nearby grocery store) and some fruit and nuts (30-40 yuan) which lasted the whole time of our stay. The hotel staff are helpful for leads on how to get to the more well-known tourist sites, but they are not comprehensive in terms of letting you know what the best way for getting to lesser well-known (but still quite famous) sites.

The price of staying the night at the hotel is variable depending on whether it's a holiday, whether they like you, and whether you have a "membership card". Our room, with two twin beds and a bathroom, was 230/night, which I thought was quite reasonable, but the advertised price was 300 or so, which I think would have been too expensive.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less dust and better air circulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I think for a foreigner traveling in China, whether or not your hotel staff speaks English or has experience dealing with foreigners is very crucial. Wenjun is quite cosmopolitan and there is one girl at reception fluent in English. They can help arrange tours and transportation since they are part of a travel agency.
We had a Chinese-style suite and was surprised by the HUGE double jacuzzi in the HUGE bathroom. Room was clean and service prompt.
The hotel is also very conveniently located, within 10-min walking distance to Kuan Zhai lanes, Du Fu cottage and Qing Yang temple. It's next to a river canal, also a short taxi ride away (but hailing a cab is not easy in Chengdu!) to city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Reasonably comfortable. Rooms and beds were clean. No more than you would expect for a three star hotel. Staff were very friendly and most spoke some english. Were very helpful on the phone with airport transport issues. Breakfast looked very average.

Room Tip: Probably not on the ground floor. It could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful traditional style Chinese hotel. Staff were friendly, and spoke good English. Room was large, and had a nice little sitting room area with a PC. Beds were soft. There’s a nice balcony area outside most rooms. Some minor niggles: there was no wardrobe, only a hat stand. There’s no lift. I ordered a Sweet and sour chicken in the courtyard restaurant. There was a LOT of confusion, and I ended up with a Gongbao Jiding (which was very (very) tasty). Restaurant staff seemed confused. No hesitation at all in coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We liked the hotel very much as it has a lot of atmosphere and our room was in a very good condiction (spacious, clean, extra sofa and desks, AC that worked perfectly well, etc.). The location ist wonderful, not too many tourists, a lot of locals, fantastic restaurants around. Every room (choose one on the 3rd or 4th floor) has two chairs and a table on the balcony. Nice to sit and talk at night. We liked the staff a lot. However, breakfast (25 rmb) is a bit poor.
If you prefer a modern, super-stylish hotel, this is not the right address but if you search for a nice, clean and central place to stay, you will feel very comfortable at the Wenjun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luoma Market
Chengdu Shuyuan
Chengdu Shuyuan
#96 of 2,072 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
BuddhaZen Hotel
#5 of 2,072 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenjun Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenjun Mansion Hotel

Address: No.180 Qintai Road, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#31 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wenjun Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wenjun Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wenjun Mansion
Wenjun Mansion Chengdu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wenjun Mansion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.