We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean budget hotel at central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.72 West Daqiang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 1,941 hotels in Chengdu
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, clean budget hotel at central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is centrally located on a quiet street and within walking distance to the main shopping streets of Chengdu (Chunxi Lu). I have been staying there over ten times. It is relatively new and clean. For its price and for its location it is very good. The rooms are spacious, clean and adequately fitted with flat screen TV, not very comfortable sofa etc. Once I even got upgraded to a room with Mac computer… haha. The breakfast can be improved as it is limited, repetitive (same again and again everyday) similar to a local Chinese hotel. Some other guests will come to your table to have their breakfast without asking you! If you go to breakfast too late, be aware that you will find some empty buffet (not refilled, or cold) or no tables or tables not clean on time. The service is adequate for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    220
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
50
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I happily took the advice of other Trip Advisor readers in choosing this property for my Chengdu visit and didn't regret a thing.

The hotel is a Holiday Inn Express-- meaning not a lot of 'bells and whistles' but it has a good clean room, helpful reception and concierge and a small onsite restaurant.

The big plus it you are on an exteded trip and a limited budget is the token operated Laundry Room, where you could finally get your travel clothes clean at a reasonable cost.
The area around the hotel has some convenience stores, as well as some larger shopping areas in addition to other hotels... Easy area to walk around and 'people watch.

The bellman made the contact with the taxi for the visit to the Panda Center, which is certainly the highlight of any visit to this city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here October 2012. Room very clean, comfortable, good bathroom. counter staff helpful and spoke a bit of English. Breakfast (included in my rate) was ok, nothing amazing but enough choice (mostly Chinese food) for most people. Noodles, dumplings etc, but there were also fried eggs, bread and a decent amount of fresh watermelon and other melon.

All in all a satisfying experience for the price and if you're not used to traveling in China, you could do a lot worse than this place.

All the Chengdu taxi drivers seemed to know the street and it is within walking distance to the Chunxi Lu shopping street. At 8am it took about 25-30 minutes by cab to the Panda Research Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a nonsmoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our room at the Holiday Inn Express. It was spacious, and the bathroom had plenty of room, too. We stayed two nights, and I wish we'd had more time, both at the hotel and in Chengdu, which looked interesting, but we only went there for the Panda Base.

The check in took a bit longer than I would have liked, with the receptionist being a bit disappointed that we didn't have a printout of our online booking, but she got over it. The breakfast was crowded both early and late, but the food seeme dto be restocked quite fast, and the tables cleared as soon as someone got up to leave.

I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good: 'Express in luxury' we felt...nice rooms, good quality of materials used, cool stylish trendy decor, excellent breakfast (included in our room rate), 50Y from and to airport, close to town and casual sightseeing. Aside from the terrible service we received - good hotel.
Bad: slow wifi,
Ugly: We arrived at 10:30 PM, the staff couldn't find our reservations, rudely informed us 'you cancelled it!" We had to call Hotels.com who then faxed the staff, fax didn't work, Hotels.com then suggested to email the reservation to staff, staff hummed and hawed saying they had no access to the hotel email, eventually one person offered her personal email. Reservation received the staff (now increased to a group of 5 people from 2) smiled monstrously at us sayng, it's all OK...highly unpleasant and not being able to communicate English made things exhausting.

Room Tip: Make sure you have proper window view, the city scape is quite exciting from an architectural as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had certainly hoped for more. Chengdu came at the end of our trip to China. We had stayed at small, "botiquey" or backpacker hotels. We wanted to have a nice comfortable bed and good service, before we returned home. We picked the wrong place.

The staff smiled, but that was the extent of the positive experience. They were not helpful. I had a problem and needed information and assistance. They provided neither without prodding. They want to be a "western hotel" but sacrificed the Asian culture of respect and courtesy.

The food was lackluster, yet a bit pricey.

This was the only negative hotel experience we had, while in China. The other less expensive, non-brand name hotels delivered far more.

Needless to say, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights thru my Chengdu exploration.. This hotel is very busy, crowded, universal tourists. What I liked most is the breakfast, very delicious and accommodating. They provide packed breakfast if early check out before 6am. The location is very convenient with plenty of good food around, ESP Chengdu kitchen.. Very delicious Sichuan food... Love it so much... Famous duck restaurant just across the hotel....the room very clean, comfy, extra space of shower area, wifi free....agreed with fellows,,,, no hard bed...I will come back the next trip to Tibet...if still well maintained.... Hopefully....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou

Address: No.72 West Daqiang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#9 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#54 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou, an international chain hotel with brand new concept. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Chengdu, just 5 minutes stroll from Chunxi Road and Tianfu Square, allowing convenient access to CBD, banks, Sports Center, as well as local attractions such as Temple of Marquis Wu, Jinli Street. The hotel is just 15 minutes drive from Chengdu Railway Station, 20 minutes from Century Convention Center, and 30 minutes from Shuangliu International Airport. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore sights of Chengdu, it is perfect for both occasions.Holiday Inn Express Gulou Chengdu, this 20 storey central city hotel boasts 281 well-appointed guest rooms,1 Great Room 1 business center and 2 meeting rooms. All rates are inclusive of Express Start Breakfast,Senses Tea,High-speed Internet Access and Simply Fresh Bathroom.The hotel also provides 32' LCD TV, In-room Safe, IDD/DDD, Voice Mail and Hairdryer alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou Hotel Chengdu
Chengdu Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.