We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yungang International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yungang International Hotel to your Saves list
Yungang International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38 Qingyuan Street, Datong 037004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Datong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent enough.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for a night. Breakfast is okay. Location is good. Staff said that there's no free wi-fi? Furniture is a bit old, but service and cleanliness are great. Mom experienced some supernatural stuff but I managed to slept well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    98
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is situated in the inner city and apparently due to be demolished as it is too high for the new re-development of the inner city. As a result we got a 75% discount for a Chinese 5 star hotel. The rooms are large, clean, well equipped, and a decent internet connection.
It is located within a few minutes walk to the city re-development area which is huge. It is also near most of the attractions in the city.
The breakfast buffet is also quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed at the YunGang recently and was very impressed with the hotel, especially for the low price (RMB200 total for the basic room). The room was clean and comfortable; the bathroom had a nice tub & shower. The breakfast buffet was good, but nowhere near as good as the Garden Hotel's. The service was ok, but I wouldn't say exceptional. All in all, it's a great room for the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I spent 2 nights at this very nice, comfortable, and very well located hotel. It looked and felt like a much more expensive hotel than it was. In fact, it was surprisingly inexpensive. My double for single use was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, making sure I had everything I needed to enjoy my time and and around Datong. I particularly appreciated that they made a sandwich for me one evening when I waited too long to have dinner and couldn't find an open restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Be careful when you check out. Hotel charged us extra for dirtying the towels -- isn't that what housekeeping is for? The front desk told us with a straight face that the dirt stains were unable to be cleaned. Give me a break

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed one night and booked it via C-trip. When I called to ask about transport arrangements, I was directed to a bell boy, Yu, who was really helpful, he helped me arrange a driver, met me with the driver at the train station and helped me book my return train ticket via the business center. Food is so-so, but at 28Y for a buffet breakfast you can't complain either. Hotel is typical 5-star Chinese hotel, so its clean, big but staff (other than Yu) are just ok.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

Best hotel in town. A very good hotel with perfect service. Rooms are wonderfully equiped. Located in the center of the town, close to all the attractions.

  • Liked — Very modern
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yungang International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yungang International Hotel

Address: No.38 Qingyuan Street, Datong 037004, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yungang International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yungang International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yungang International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.