We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Datong City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Datong City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Datong City Center
No.37 Yingbin West Road, Datong 037008, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Datong
Milano
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Spacious nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is up at at usual Holiday in standard, the brekfast is good and aboundant and the free wifi works well in the room.
The only problem with this hotel is, as often with this chain, that it is notclose atall to the interest points.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    51
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
8
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maringa, PR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

You get what you pay for.
Nice price, clean room, wifi in the room, but a little bit old structure.
Nice staff but not very good english.
The city has around 1 million of population, so it's not big for china. So don't expect to find good english here.
The gym and pool is located on the other hotel, you have to walk outside and pay to use (not expensive, around 4 US dollars) but its ok.
THe breakfast is more oriental than ocidental.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The hotel is a decent option if you are staying in Datong, despite what follows! We had a car and it is ideally placed for getting around Datong and getting out to the Yungang Grottoes, Hanging Temple etc, and also for walking to the Drum Tower which is brilliant, the rebuilt city walls which look stunning at night or the 45 ft tiled mosaic wall and temple area in the old quarter. The staff in the hotel are polite and helpful, but as is often the case, this place has left its heyday behind. The rooms were superficially cleaned and comfortably basic. The breakfast was under stocked and you couldn't get much of anythying to eat, but this could have been because the place was unusually busy for Golden Week and they were unprepared for being so busy. Advertised as having a pool, gym, sauna, cafe, even in their own literature in the hotel; reception staff confessed they had none of these things! Having said all this, if you go with the full understanding of what to expect, this place is fine and comparable to its peer hotels in the city. Datong itself is a really friendly place and people are happy to stop and help you find what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Don't go for a street side room as despite being set back from the road it is noisy. The view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Similar to other hotels I don't know the price as I was on an organised tour.

However, this hotel far exceeded those that I stayed in in both Beijing and Xian. The air con worked, the beds were VERY comfortable (soft, but not too soft), fridge in room etc. Breakfast had a good selection as well.

The staff were lovely however did make a huge fuss about changing our rooms, and rather than telling us why kept making up reasons (when we didn't want to move). However, I think this is more a cultural thing.

Also had buffet dinner every night in the hotel. Personally I didn't like this however I am a vegetarian and a bit fussy at times. There was a good selection and drinks included so pretty good value for money.

One down side was that the hotel doesn't have a bar to buy drinks, however there was another hotel next door (I think Holiday Inn) that did.

Wifi just in lobby but there are comfy sofas.

This hotel was a great relief between night trains and less comfortable hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel in Datong was one of the most comfortable we stayed in for our whole time in China. The beds were so soft and the décor really nice. Our breakfast was a good start to the day and we were able to walk of an evening to many different places for food. We had a private guide who took us to the main tourist attractions which were out of the town and so you needed a car. There was wifi available in the foyer and although we arrived early on our first day as we had caught an overnight sleeper train from Beijing our room was ready for us which was a real plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've read some of the other reviews of this hotel and it must have been renovated since some of them were written.

I stayed for two nights to allow me to visit the grottoes at Yungang.

The lobby is impressive and check in was efficient. They don't get a lot of foreigners but one staff member spoke excellent English and the others had some.

My room was clean and comfortable with complimentary water. The bed was excellent. There was free wired internet in the room.

I paid €25 per night which was excellent value.

According to Ctrip the location is 3 km from the railway station - it's closer to 7 km, 15 yuan in a taxi. (Agoda says it's 50 metres from the railway station but I never believe Agoda when it comes to location). It's very convenient for the long distance bus station - 5/6 minutes' walk.

Datong itself isn't anything to write home about. The hotel is in the business district. If you want to go out to eat, turn left when you leave the hotel and then turn right at the next intersection. There's a large mall there and some street food and a McDonalds further along.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Not to be confused with Holiday Inn, which is situated directly behind this hotel, the rooms felt starkly different from what the outside presented. Everything felt dated; light bulbs were incandescent, the wallpaper was from an era ago, the TV is still a big grey box (unlike the LCDs they use for advertisements elsewhere). There are also only two elevators serving the entire hotel, which is a bit of an oversight for the large number of rooms that they have.

Some rooms do come with balconies and provides a better transition between the indoor and outdoor space. However, rooms facing the main road are not able to deal with the constant road noise, especially the incessant use of car horns. There isn't much of a view, so that should not affect the choice of room. Wired ethernet is provided in the rooms (cables may or may not be included - some of my friends did not have the cable, some did), but WiFi can only be accessed after a call to the front desk. At night, it is very picturesque as it has a large courtyard to the main road. It is also very prominent, so it should be easy to spot. It is, however, also right next to Holiday Inn, which would be a better choice as a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Datong City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Datong City Center

Address: No.37 Yingbin West Road, Datong 037008, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Datong City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Tong Datong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Datong City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.