We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Datong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Datong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Datong Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37 Yingbin West Road, Datong 037008, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 124 hotels in Datong
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've read some of the other reviews of this hotel and it must have been renovated since some of them were written.

I stayed for two nights to allow me to visit the grottoes at Yungang.

The lobby is impressive and check in was efficient. They don't get a lot of foreigners but one staff member spoke excellent English and the others had some.

My room was clean and comfortable with complimentary water. The bed was excellent. There was free wired internet in the room.

I paid €25 per night which was excellent value.

According to Ctrip the location is 3 km from the railway station - it's closer to 7 km, 15 yuan in a taxi. (Agoda says it's 50 metres from the railway station but I never believe Agoda when it comes to location). It's very convenient for the long distance bus station - 5/6 minutes' walk.

Datong itself isn't anything to write home about. The hotel is in the business district. If you want to go out to eat, turn left when you leave the hotel and then turn right at the next intersection. There's a large mall there and some street food and a McDonalds further along.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    44
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Not to be confused with Holiday Inn, which is situated directly behind this hotel, the rooms felt starkly different from what the outside presented. Everything felt dated; light bulbs were incandescent, the wallpaper was from an era ago, the TV is still a big grey box (unlike the LCDs they use for advertisements elsewhere). There are also only two elevators serving the entire hotel, which is a bit of an oversight for the large number of rooms that they have.

Some rooms do come with balconies and provides a better transition between the indoor and outdoor space. However, rooms facing the main road are not able to deal with the constant road noise, especially the incessant use of car horns. There isn't much of a view, so that should not affect the choice of room. Wired ethernet is provided in the rooms (cables may or may not be included - some of my friends did not have the cable, some did), but WiFi can only be accessed after a call to the front desk. At night, it is very picturesque as it has a large courtyard to the main road. It is also very prominent, so it should be easy to spot. It is, however, also right next to Holiday Inn, which would be a better choice as a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Don't you go there, very bad rooms, awfull hard beds, no service at all, when your guide makes a deal for breakfast in the very early morning because you leave for the station at 7, they just sent you away

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We found the Datong Hotel to be well presented on the outside and in the foyer but the rooms were extremely dated and very noisy. We could still hear all the traffic noise even though our room was quite a distance from the street. We travelled through a number of locations in China and understand the beds are usually hard, but the beds in this hotel were unbearable. It would have been more softer and more comfortable sleeping in the bath! The rooms were clean, but they charged for the sachets of instant Coffee, and had no milk available. The menu in the restaurant was only in Chinese with no translation (even though the information in the compendium in the room said Western menu). The breakfast was unappealing with little choice. The worst thing was late in the evening when I was in bed and my children were asleep, I had housekeeping knock on my door to do up our room (which had already been done) and when I ignored them they proceeded to unlock the deadlock (which is only able to be locked from internally) and try and enter my room. Very disturbing!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canungra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

I wish this email to be addressed to the marketing department.
I had an enjoyable stay at the hotel but I wish to help.
Some of the information and brochures in the hotel room in the directory were well presented but the English printed in the articles was not always correct in grammar and punctuatuion. I would like to be helpful to the Hotel by assisting in the translation and presentation of the information in English. I am a retired school teacher and wish to help. I would be happy to do it via emails.
Many Thanks
Dianne Cecil

  • Liked — Everything was fine
  • Disliked — There were no problems
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

My first impressions of the hotel were not great ... it is a good distance from the train station and the center of town (and we got ripped off by the taxi driver from the train station), the exterior is very intimidating, and the massive gates were more disturbing than comforting--what exactly were we being protected from? Angry Maoists? Dinosaurs? But the interior is quite nice, the rooms are comfortable, and the restaurant menu is the most hilarious thing I've ever seen (more on that in a minute). The staff could've been a little more helpful and didn't speak very much English, but then again Datong (despite the wonderful sights in and around the city) is not exactly on the beaten tourist path and their English was better than my Chinese. I think we paid a little less than $50/night for our room, so it was a great deal.

I must second m2347m's comment that the menu is the funniest thing I've ever seen. I'll post some pictures below, but search "Datong Hotel" on flickr and you can see more of my pictures. Tears were rolling down my eyes the first time I laid eyes on this thing. I'm glad we were able to take one to our room so we could take pictures. Yes--it's that funny!

So to summarize, bad location (although taxis are always available) but a very nice hotel. Again, I'm a bit surprised by the negative reviews. Datong itself is kind of gritty town (the wave of modernization and prosperity that has hit Beijing, Shanghai, and even Xi'an has not reached here) but has a few interesting temples and a famous dragon wall. Outside of town are the real treasures though--the Yungang Caves and Hanging Temple are some of the best sights in China. Datong makes for a nice stopover between Xi'an and Beijing, so if you have time definitely stop here for a day or two! If you don't mind the location (and really, there's not that much to do in downtown Datong anyway), the Datong Hotel is a great value and the restaurant menu alone makes the stay worthwhile! I hope they never change it ...

  • Liked — restaurant menu, nice rooms, very good value
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

Stayed at the Datong Hotel in May. The hotel is quite a distance from the airport. Most people here do not speak english. The tour CITS office is right outside the hotel but it was closed at 9AM. Check in took a very long time. Only one person works the counter. This hotel is about a 2 star hotel. The lobby looks nice but the rooms are very old. The linens and towels were clean. The beds are hard which is standard for most China hotels. Breakfast at the hotel is good if you go early. We got there sort of late in the morning so almost everything was cold. Rented a taxi for all day to go to the Hanging Temples and Yungang Caves. The costs was $300RMB. The hanging temples are far from the hotel. The caves are in the opposite direction from the temples but closer to hotel. In order to get to the caves you have to drive through town. The town is pretty run down. Not much to do other than see the caves and temples. After returning from being out all day we went to have dinner in the hotel. The dinner menu is a must see. Hilarious!!! We couldnt figure out what to order as the english translation was out of this world. Only regret was that we didnt have our cameras to take photos of it. The next morning we went to look for the menus to take pictures but they were put away. Check out took a very long time. They make sure you didnt take anything from the room and that you pay for any stuff they are selling that is set in the bathroom. The taxi ride to the airport was about $30RMB. No one at the airport spoke english.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Doesnt cater to tourist very well.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Datong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Datong Hotel

Also Known As:
Da Tong Datong
Address: No.37 Yingbin West Road, Datong 037008, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Datong Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Datong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Datong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.