We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Weihai Home Away From Home” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel
No.128 Huanhai Road, Torch Hi-tech Development Zone, Weihai 264209, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 289 Hotels in Weihai
4.0 of 5 stars 87 Reviews
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“My Weihai Home Away From Home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have probably spent more nights at the Golden Bay than any hotel in the world. I have been staying at this hotel for more than 10 years. Changes in these 10 years are few just like the rest of Weihai. Realize that 5 stars in not necessarily an indication of room quality. Most rooms are comfortable but small. Water pressure is not always good. TV channel options are few. Beds are very inconsistent. This is the product of some rooms having soft beds targeted to the Russian customers who vacation here in the summer. Most beds are however China hard. These hard beds are just too hard for me to sleep on as they hurt my hips. Breakfast is just something I would rather skip. The GB breakfast is not to my liking. What has kept me coming back though is that service has always been friendly and accommodating. Knowing I do not like the hard bed the hotel is always ready with a room with soft bed or ready to change out a mattress to my liking. There are food options near by. However rarely will locals in the know dine in them. They are mostly targeting summer beach traffic. I have tried the other 5 star options in Weihai and Golden Bay still wins out in spite of shortcoming. Mostly based on the staff.

Room Tip: In winter be mindful wind can kick up and make rooms quite cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
5
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel is situated along the shore of the lake and gives a nice vieuw. The rooms are spacious and clean. They have two restaurants, a Chinese and a Western restaurant. The fried gooseliver
is outstanding and the steak very attractiv. The hotel has massage and a wirlpool/sauna.

Room Tip: book executive room, price is still very interesting, you can negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is located on the Yellow sea coast. It offers great view from almost all of the sea side rooms. The breakfast is nice and gets you off to a good start in the morning. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I moved to the Golden Bay Hotel from another hotel in Weihai where the air conditioning didn't work. It was a welcome relief to enjoy a good night's sleep in a cool room at the Golden Bay. I had a non-smoking room on the seventh floor that was clean and well maintained with a great view of the ocean. The beach outside the hotel was packed with families enjoying a hot August day in the sun. The hotel has a wide array of sports facilities including a bowling alley. I found the staff, especially Nora, David, John and Ryan to be exceptionally helpful and professional. They all spoke excellent English. If you are looking for a quality hotel with reliable air conditioning and an ocean view, the Golden Bay is a great choice. The one downside is that the hotel is located 15 minutes by taxi from downtown Weihai; however the hotel is happy to call a cab for you and the taxis typically arrive within five minutes. The hotel staff will even give the taxi driver instructions concerning where you want to go.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagoveschensk
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location is very good: a little away from the promenade zone, on top of a hill. There’s an acceptable variety of hot and cold dishes for breakfast and you enjoy great views, which are even better in the gym – exercising with a wonderful panorama of the sea. A few steps down take you to the beach. You can have a nice lunch in the Western Diamond restaurant downstairs. The room is spacious enough with a comfortable bed and a pillow menu to choose from: buckwheat, tea, etc., a fine option, I think. A really good recreation service is massage and beauty salon. When I did a facial the girl didn't leave me after applying a mask & massaged my neck, head, hands and arms, and then manicured my nails. Without any extra charge!
Tip: They offer various massages but a foot massage is a MUST. They are real specialists and each toe of yours and each part of feet and legs has its portion of expert treatment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely hotel, food was great and just loved it all round..great hotel if you like fishing too as you can stroll down the step to the pier and do some fishing.

Staff where great but not a lot of English

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I think this is the 4th time business has brought me to Weihai and I have stayed at the Golden Bay. Location is convenient for business and also nice as it's beachside. The views are very nice.

Like many Chinese hotels, check in is not the fastest and the front desk staff do not speak much English at all. Rooms are pretty decent as far as size goes. Carpets are not without stains but appear pretty clean. Bedding was clean and mattress was comfortable. Workspace is OK with room on the desk for a notebook computer and my iPad, along with a notebook to write in. Power outlets are convenient and included converter for USA 3-prong plugs.

Bathroom was clean but shower water pressure is not very good and when showering you have to be ready for quick pulses of scalding hot water.

The Chinese restaurant on the first floor is pretty decent. We have had several meals here and food and service has been decent.

Hotel staff is friendly and helpful, though most don't speak any English.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel

Address: No.128 Huanhai Road, Torch Hi-tech Development Zone, Weihai 264209, China
Location: China > Shandong > Weihai
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 289 Hotels in Weihai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wei Hai Golden Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.