We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.31 Taiping Road, Qingdao 266001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,365 Hotels in Qingdao
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Dirty room and bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I travelled to Qingdao with a Chinese colleague in April 2012, and we had heard that this hotel should be good. We arrived rather late and the check-in was a 20 minute test of my patience. First of all staff spoke no English, at least not enough to be able to ask questions in a civilized manner. They also chraged a deposit of the double of what the room charge would be, and even if I tried to ask several times (even my Chinese colleague asked) why the deposit was so high we never got an answer. Anyway.

Room was quite dark and very cold. The week we were in Qingdao it was about 13-15 C degrees outside. The AC was only with Chinese characters, so I tried a while to find some heat, but failed. Now was about midnight and I needed some heat in the room before I could sleep so I called the reception. The night staff did however not understand what I was asking, so the conversation ended we me having booked a morning call. So I had to sleep in the cold.

In addition, the first thing I see on the already spotted and rather dirty wall-to-wall carpets was a BIG insect trampled in to the carpet next to the bed. I tried to carefully remove it, but the fluids of it had already dried in to the carpet, so it was just stuck. This was maybe only one room, but I still got a pretty dirty feeling just being there. Dirty and cold.

Breakfast. I am a great fan of Chinese food. But in the morning hot dishes are too much for me. What was left then was some small selection of salad and fruit. There is also an egg station, where the eggs are nicely prepared when you have made your order understood.

We stayed two nights, and also my colleague was rather disappointed. We will go to Qingdao again in two weeks time and she has already promised we will stay at Shangri-La this time.

The hotel is run down, my room was dirty, and service was sometimes non-existent.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay here, remember the rooms have no heating, so bring extra clothes if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    134
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
13
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in this historic hotel for a long weekend. The location is very good, right at the seafront promenade, close to the Qingdao Pier, the train station and the old city centre (this makes parking a little bit of an issue). We had a modern sea view room on the top floor, nice and clean, apart from the bathroom which was a little bit smelly. Breakfast was very typical for a Chinese hotel in this category, not bad but also nothing to write home about. Service is also ok; everything gets done, but only after you ask couple of times. Overall an ok experience, would stay again due to location an value for money. But don't expect to much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I would preface this review by explaining that I have lived in China for two years and have done a reasonable amount of travelling to a fair number of Chinese towns and cities of various sizes. Therefore I am fully aware of Chinese attitudes to noise and customer service.

So to begin with, the good points. The hotel has a great location, right opposite the Zhanqiao pier, as made famous on the Tsingtao beer label. Attractions such as the German prison (good but not great visit) and the former Governor's house (well worth a visit) in walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and a nice promenade to walk along next to the beach.

The hotel itself does indeed have a direct view across the sea. It is elegantly decorated inside and the rooms are clean and well appointed. The breakfast is a regular Chinese breakfast buffet also featuring enough western staples for those that don't enjoy duck breast, congee, dumplings, etc.

At this point, you're probably wondering why this review is only a three star. Well, sadly the hotel and our stay was let down by a fairly significant problem. At 07:45 on Sunday morning, we were awoken by an incredibly loud petrol-driver lawnmower being used directly outside our room. Far too loud for the double-glazed windows, or our continued sleep. As I say, China is home, so such an occurrence is not that rare. I did call the operator to request that this would be stopped and was assured that it would be. Sadly it continued for another 45 minutes at least. Of course then it finished and there was no longer any noisy work to be done after the more reasonable time of 08:30.

At check-out I wanted to make a complaint, to give the hotel a chance to make things a little better. Even an apology would have been an improvement on the response. From a good grasp on English, the three receptionists suddenly didn't understand the word 'complaint' or even in Chinese! And there was no manager in the hotel I could speak to. So, the only come-back I have is to offer this review. There were plenty of other hotels nearby and I would recommend taking a chance with one of these, rather than the Zhanqiao Prince, since they have proven an inability to provide either a good night's sleep (quite important for a hotel) or any degree of customer service when they make a mistake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany/UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We had a room with a sea view. It was well-sized, clean and comfortable. Internet was of course included. Shortly after arrival a bowl of fruit was delivered to the room - nice touch.
Breakfast was OK and the staff were generally friendly..
The hotel location was very good, just 5 minutes to the railway station by taxi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed here in a seaview room for one night. Great view of the Qingdao Bay, Zhanqiao Pier and Qingdao skyline. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the architecture is just impressive!

Built in the 1910s, the facade of the hotel has been well-preserved and well-maintained. But sadly, just like many of Qingdao's cultural icons, the utilization and preservation of the interiors were not very well. I was expecting a more European feel to the rooms and dining areas, but instead found the usual large round tables with lazy susans that the Chinese love to use.

There are Shangri-La, Crowne Plaza and other upscale hotels in the more modern part of Qingdao City, but I like the historic feel of the Zhanqiao Prince Hotel. Our room airconditioning was a bit faulty though. But that's it. It's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our stay was perfectly fine - the room with twin beds was a decent size and comfortable (although around the back of the hotel without a sea view - I can only presume that the bigger/more expensive rooms have the view of the water). The facade is gorgeous and the staff were helpful - most had at least functional English.

Breakfast was also OK with a large range of western and Chinese items.

The location was excellent - just across the road from the Zhan Qiao pier and the boardwalk and not too far to walk to sights like the old Lutheran and Catholic churches and the museum in the former governor's house on the hill.

We ended up eating a couple of meals in the West Coast Coffee cafe on the top floor, which had reasonable coffee, and quite a nice ambience - sort of lounge bar in a a chalet-style attic with a view of the ocean.

The common area carpets and fittings do need a good clean at the moment, which has pulled down the score a bit. The room itself was acceptably clean, but the corridors etc do need some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stiava
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

this hotel is vey nice the rooms are littlle small but the decor is good also the location is very good this my second time to stay at this hotel is good value for the money

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room are littlle small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel

Address: No.31 Taiping Road, Qingdao 266001, China
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
#17 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Zhan Qiao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.