We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Qingdao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Qingdao to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Hongkong Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,375 Hotels in Qingdao
Kiev
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good for business travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Good price, good location, big and clean room. Carefour supermarket is just at the opposite side of the street, so you can go and buy a beer at 10 RMB instead of 20 in a hotel bar :-)

Also they have a very good coffee Latte in a lobby bar!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    115
    51
    8
    2
See reviews for
5
14
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Italian .- UK educated - Living in Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked a no smoking room on club floors. The floor was supposedly no smoking, but we were shown two rooms and they both smelled of cigarettes. As we had already been through a 30 minuted check in and it looked they could not find a no-smoking room, we decided to go to the Shangri-La. We told them and we were immediately offered a free up-grade to a suite room. They said "this will not be smelly, as there have been no guests recently". In fact, the room was not smelly and was big, with nice views, it was on the top floor.
BUT at night we found out that the air conditioning machines are just on the roof of the building, that is immediately on top of our room. The noise was terrible to bear and we could not sleep at all.
We finally went to the shangri-la but it was completely booked out, the Holiday Inn as well, and so we decided to ask again for another room (it was already the fifth!). This time they gave us a standard room (the one we booked) and finally a non smelly one.

The club floor has little to offer at cocktail time, if you are not the first to arrive, very little food is offered.

Service is poor, staff do not speak english, and they tend to ignore you.

If you wish to use the Sauna, be advised that you have to pay extra, up to 180 Yuan, which is about 20 euros per person!!! Even if you are a guest. Yet they publicize that room charge includes use of fitness centre and swimming pool. So I thought it included the Sauna. But Sauna is not part of fitness centre in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrencengan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Qingdao, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your corespondence of 06-Aug-2011. It is always beneficial to hear from you guest and recieve their valuable feedback to improve our operation at the hotel. We have disccussed your comments with the concerning department and corrective action has been taken to address the issue. As the gesture of goodwill, we would like to offer you a complimentary stay at our club floor room, for your next visit to QIngdao. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at the hotel/ Lawrence Ngan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The lobby was always crowded, there was a minimum 10 minute wait in the reception for every small thing, and it was really rally noisy! The walls were thin I guess, noisy groups in the corridor left me sleep deprived. Service was bad- I was making an enquiry at the concierge desk, the guy there couldnt help me, so he went saying he would get someone, after 10 minutes, nobody came and I went looking for the guy- he was standing outside watching some road show. When I asked him- he coolly pointed to the manager's desk and said "ask there, I dont know anyway" I spent another 15 minutes waiting for the manager to turn up. There was no sugar in the room along with the tea sachets, the housekeeping lady kept forgetting to keep stuff and came back to give towels, soaps etc.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrencengan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Qingdao, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the misunderstanding that took place at our front desk during your recent stay at our hotel. We have discussed the comments with the Housekeeping and Conceirge and corrective action has been taken to address the problem. Pleae be assured that such as poor attitude by any of our staff members will not be tolerated at our hotel. As a gesture of goodwill, we take great pleasure to offer you a complimentaryAirport Limousine service to pick you up at the airport and vice versa, together with an upgrade to stay at our Grand Suite. Thank you for your comments, and we hope you will consider this an isolated incident and that you woill conitnue to stay at Copthorne Hotel./Lawrence Ngan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this great 4 star hotel in Qingdao. It's right in the center of the city, you have the carefour supermarket accross the street, nice restaurants and so on. The neighborhood seems really safe even during the night. The room was pretty big, clean, good internet access. It has a really nice gym and swimming pool. The are two breakfast cafeterias, one on the ground floor and one on the 23rd with chinese and western style food (even hotcakes and waffles!). I recommend the one on the 23rd because nobody seems to know about it and it was always empty ;) . The only thing we didn't like was that they did not have a non-smoking room when we got there so the first night we slept in a room that smelled really bad. The second night they changed our room and even gave us an upgrade so at they made up for it in the end. I go to Qingdao regularly for business and I am looking forward to staying there again. I also went to both restaurants in the hotel. I didn't really like the chinese food one. Then I went to the japanese one on the second floor. I ordered two dishes, one they got wrong and the second was a fried shrimp sushi roll, the bad part is that they bathed it in mayonese, which was really grose. The next day I tried again and asked for another dish with fried shrimp and they did the mayonese thing again. I complained because in the picture it didn't have mayonese so they took it back and brought me a new one (or the cleaned the old one and fried it a little more I believe). Anyway, the hotel was great, I dont recommend the restaurants. Have a great trip!

brought me something else (which wasn't too bad but not what I ordered) the second was fried shrimp and they put mayonese all over it. It was really

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrencengan, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Qingdao, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your correspondence to the Tripadvisor of June 28, 2011. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback about our hotel. First of all, please accept our apology for the service you have been experienced in the front desk and the housekeeping is entirely not up to the expectation of our guest, and therefore, we have taken immediate action to address the issue. It is not our brand standard to create any disturbance on the floor and the Reception area. We will take action to separate the group traffic from the Independent traveller during shouder and peak season. We are sorry for the confusion you encourntered regarding the wedding function and bad service provided by the Concerige and training has been provided to re-enforcing the brand standard. Again thank you for your comments . We look forward to accomodating your lodging need again in the future. Regards Lawrence Ngan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Got a room upgrade to 18th floor with ocean view which made a difference seeing as I was staying here for 6 nights. Nice room, good service from staff at restaurant, check-in and concierge. Had East Meets West buffet in groundfloor restaurant - no complaints - great salads and lamb cutlets - dined here three times! Good wine list, cold beer! Business centre okay, but like every other city hotel - expensive. Good to have Carrefour across the road as well as Jusco two blocks down the road. Found great Italian restaurant three buildings up from the hotel so made a nice change to have pizza for dinner one night. Will definitely stay at this hotel again as location great!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Can't decide between the Shangrila, Crowne Plaza, or Copthorne? This one is way cheaper (check agoda) and you located directly in the middle of the other two along Hong Kong road. Also directly across the street from the Carrefour so you can get some snacks for the room if you're sick of chinese food. I didn't eat in the hotel restaurants but did order the club sandwich from room service one night and was pleasantly surprised. It was tasty enough and a good break from all the octopus, shrimp, and other seafood I'd been eating with business partners. Stayed here 5 nights. No complaints.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The hotel is located on Xiangang Zhong Lu between Shandong Lu and Fuzhou Lu. A supermarket is on the other side of the road and can be reached through a pedestrian tunnel under Xiangang Lu. A bus station is located in front of the hotel. Ample opportunities for shopping and dining are within a block of the hotel. The Jusco shopping center is about 2 blocks to the east, while Quingdao bay with its shore promenade is 2 blocks to the south. Taxis from and to the airport take usually between 45 and 90 minutes (depending on road conditions and time of the day) and cost about 120 RMB.

Check in and out is done by the english speaking staff in a friendly and efficient manner. The rooms are clean and are equipped with everything to make the stay comfortable. The TV receives some international chanels.

The complimentary breakfast does not leave any whishes unanswered and offers a large variety of items. It is serverd on the ground floor with view on busy Xiangang Lu.

I stayed in this hotel numerous times and will do so again. It offers a good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Qingdao

Address: No.28 Hongkong Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
#27 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Qingdao 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao is an international deluxe hotel situated in the heart of the city and central business district. This contemporary 455-rooms-and-suite hotel provides an array of facilities and impeccable service to both the business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers a variety of dining experiences including an award-winning Chinese Restaurant, Central Grill which serves international cuisine for casual all-day dining, a spectacular Lobby Lounge and a Japanese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qingdao Copthorne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Qingdao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.