We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Xuzhou Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 1,252 hotels in Qingdao
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location and Amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good location right in the old downtown area and yet within comfortable walking distance to hip part of town around the Olympic Sailing Ctr. Hotel facilities are good and well maintained. Have experience much better breakfast food of same chain in other cities. On the other hand the sushi served at executive club is commendable. Their helpful service staff however lack the communication and local knowledge skill to be effective. They had difficulties trying to find/determine a good Japanese keppanyaki restaurant in town. We got stuck for good half an hour at the concierge, suck into a dialogue that is very much a personal census survey without any clue of how to make any headway. Gave up and just hit the night spot near the sailing ctr and found one pretty good one. The concierge and executive club assistants faced even more challenges in providing advice on how to get to Laoshan National Park, given that it was too late to book a local tour for the following day. They seem to have a big problem to say a polite "I don't know". Instead they muddled through a long exercise with fellow colleague - blind leading the blind - and ended with a bunch of convoluted misinfo that didn't make much sense (eg it will take me 4hrs to get there by bus). By pure coincidence had a chat with a bell-boy (a keen hiker in that park) who was then able to correct misinformation and direct us to the appropriate local bus and destination to disembark. Did exactly that the following morning and visited the place with no problem - otherwise it would have been a wasted trip to Qingdao without a visit to that attraction, and well done to that young bell boy.
On the whole Qingdao is a nice city relative to the other big cities like BJ, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Tianjin, Xian that I had been to. Relatively the air is cleaner, pace of life not as hectic and people not as indifferent with their own stuff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnQingdao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Gary_Bris,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre and taking your valuable time to share with us your experience.

Thank you for your comment on facility, maintenainceI and hotel staff service. On the other hands I do apologize for the service lapse. I have shared it with our Front Office Manager and will work on improvement to meet guests’ expectations in future.

As you said, I also believe with its great location in the city, our hotel will become a best choice for both business and leisure travelers in the near future. Should you plan your next trip to Qingdao, please contact me and you will get a fresh experience from Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Eddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    75
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
19
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
320 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in Qingdao's city center. If you arrive by plane, take the route 1 airport bus to Fushansuo station, and you will find the hotel just in the rear of the Carfour Supermarket. The room is spacious, with free internet and cozy bedspread. TV channels include CNN and other western medias. Just at the corner is Qingdao City government, as well as central shopping districs such as JUSCO stores. Room rate is acceptable at around 100 dollars a day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnQingdao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear HanachanTokyo,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre and taking your time to post your comments.

Located at real City Centre, Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre is next to city hall and other government offices. Sourrounded by famous sightseeing spots like Olympic Sailing Center and May Four Square. Also close to shopping area like Hisense Plaza, Sun Shine Department Store and Carrefor. It's great location for both business and leisure travellers.

Again, thank you for your review and looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre soon.

Regards

Eddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location is quite central, Starbucks and Carrefour and a large mall are all across the street. Hotel claims the gourmet street is just right around the corner (really, it's a good 7 min walk there) and it's not really the real thing - the famous one is about a 15 min cab ride away. Rooms were very clean, bed very comfortable and plug-points everywhere (I've found this to be quite rare after extensive travel in China!). Internet speed was quite fast too. Service was fine and cabs were quite easy to get. Good value and environment for a business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators! I got one right outside the elevator and whenever a group o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnQingdao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear M S,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center and post your valuable comments.

Your compliments will definitely encourage our colleague to improve further. Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center lacated at real 'city center" surrounding by Olympic Sailing Center, shopping center, gourmet street and May 4 square (one of the key sightseeing spot). It is perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers.

Again, thank you for your comments and looking farward to welcoming you back to Hoilday Inn Qingdao City Center in the near future.

Best regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shouguang, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Overall a good hotel. Clean and mostly excellent staff. Often very difficult to get a taxi as the main entrance is on a bit of a side street. I am reviewing my last 2 stays in this review as the problems I had we're similar on both stays. The last time we stayed was not during a public holiday period. We booked the club floor as we wanted to be able to use the Premier lounge for breakfast and the happy hour. On checking in we were told that the lounge wasn't open for breakfast because there weren't enough customers to warrant opening it for breakfast. So we would have to use the restaurant like everyone else. I asked how they could charge me extra for services I wouldn't be getting? Eventually I was begrudgingly given a VERY slight reduction in my room rate 'because the happy hour is still on' briefly happy hour consists of a whiskey, a rum, a gin, a red and white wine. And some very,very luke warm fried -from -frozen convenience food - onion rings, chips etc. one type of cold meat, one type of cheese. Fruit salad. Fried rice, you get the idea. Fast forward to this trip during the October 1st national holiday. We stayed in a premier floor room again, except this time it was one that had a connecting door ( a family room )except it sounded as though the other family next door were in the room with us. A note on travel and ALL Chinese hotels - don't go expecting a rest. Chinese folk use the corridors all hours of the day and night to hold long heated conversations, yelling at the top of their lungs. The thought is, if we're up EVERYBODY is up. And the louder and more often you can slam your door the better, especially if your neighbours from your hometown can hear the noise 'cos they will realise you are rich because you're staying n a hotel. This of course is not the fault of the hotel management. Anyway back to the business lounge this trip. The staff are delightful that work there. The breakfast is meagre and again luke warm food. On the last day my wife and I ordered an omelette after 40 minutes of apologies and no omelette we had to check out hungry. We were told amazingly when we arrived for breakfast to expect a Very long delay for food because of the national holiday, the restaurant was busy etc etc etc. so why were we paying more for less service? - bizarre reasoning. And one last point on the happy hour this visit, food still convenience food, left standing at luke warm temperatures but this time the soft drinks/mixer drinks fridge is LOCKED so you must ask every time you want anything to drink. The staff make a huge display of unlocking the fridge for you etc. so NOT a happy hour, just a begrudging hour. No more, I think I'll try another hotel, this isn't he way to treat loyal customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAOXR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear RobPorter60,

Thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center and taking your valuable time to write the feedback.

I do apologize for the service you experienced during your stay. From your details feedback, it showed us your feeling and expectation from a loyal guest which made me feel so sorry. Also I believe the reason you wrote the comments is you want us to improve our service and create a "home away from home" to all customer. Mr. RobPorter60, we will definitely work on it. We believe with loyal guest like you we will make it. Please let us have another opportunity to show you our improvement, should you plan your next trip to Qingdao, do contact me via eddy.li@ihg.com and you will get a fresh experience from Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Eddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is best for location. Very close to shopping and avoid most traffic jams. Very good for first timer to Qingdao and convenient for business and leisure.
The hotel staffs are polite but you need ask carefully for them to understand. You need to be precise in your question and ask a few times for them to completely understand your meaning.
The hotel is away from the traffic noise and yet very close to the main road and traffic. A very easy to locate and find.
Lawrence.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet and away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAOXR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Lawrence,

Thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center and post your comments.

As you indicated, Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center "is best for location" and very convenient for the business and leisure guest. We will definitely work on the improvement on the language issue and hopefully could serve you better next time.

Again, thank you for your patient and understanding. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center soon.

Regards

Eddy

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights during Beer Festival time. The hotel itself, and the rooms are clean and comfortable and overall, I would recommend it to travelers. The two reasons I didn't rate the hotel higher are the service and the location. We found the service at the hotel to be sub-par compared to most hotels in China. We put the Do not disturb sign on our door because we did not want room service and someone removed the sign and cleaned our room anyway; its very difficult to get a cab in Qingdao and when we asked the concierge for help, he basically said he couldn't do it and told us to walk to the main road (it took us 30 minutes to convince a cab driver to take us); and, when we checked out the receptionist gave us two free drinks at the bar for being priority club members (these would have been nicer at check in).

This hotel is located in the CBD area so you have to take a cab if you want to see the beaches, the TV tower, the old city, the beer festival, beer street etc. Since it is not very easy to get a cab in Qingdao it can be a hassle and add some stress to your trip.

If you are not concerned with location and just looking for a clean hotel and nice room, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room as the hotel has some smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Quite a good hotel in a convenient location, but needs some education for staff. The front desk staff preferred to say it was not possible, than admit they did not understand the question. The concierge was more helpful. Clean, good beds, but still do not understand why two people in a room only entitles one breakfast buffet. And 138RMB for the other person was way over the top.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center

Address: No.1 Xuzhou Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,252 hotels in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre, conveniently located in the real heart of China Sailing City, which is near Carrefour, Jusco, Marina City and adjacent to Qingdao City Government, multinational offices such as Maersk, GE and Standard Chartered. Qingdao Cuisine Street is just round the corner and we are a 10-minute walk from the seaside and Olympic Sailing Center. We are also a 30-minute drive to Qingdao Liuting Airport and a 20-minute drive to Qingdao Railway Station. Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels and ergonomic work spaces with high-speed Internet access. Host your events in our 11 meeting rooms including our Seasons Ballroom which seats 600 guests comfortably. Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre banquets team can also customize our facilities to suit your events needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or grand wedding dinner. Renew your body with a gym workout or a swim in our modern Fitness Center. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at our Ocean Cafe with splendid city views and open kitchen concept. Yi Qing Yuan Chinese restaurant offers you plenty of Chinese fine-dining dishes. For meetings or just to relax, have afternoon tea or evening cocktails at The Lounge. You are at your best when you can truly be yourself. At Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre, You Can Always Be Yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.