We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Xuzhou Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 1,375 Hotels in Qingdao
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is loacted in the center of Qingdao. It is roughly 30 minutes from th airport. It just recently opened and thus everything is brand new. The room is nice, quiet and spacious with a comfortable bed. The bathroom is big with shower and bath. Holiday Inns in China are of higher quality than in the the rest of the world and there fore are a good bargain.
Wifi is available but the signal is very week in the room. In the lobby it is working well.
On the downside the hotel breakfast is absolutely overpriced.
Be prepared to wait quiet some time for a taxi as the the hotel is located in small side road behind the TESCO hypermarket where taxis normally not passing by. The concierge struggled finding a taxi even standing in the middle of the road.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    97
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
25
16
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel is very close to the waterfront attraction in Qingdao. It's room is nicely decorated with very comfortable bed. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. My only two negative remarks are: 1) I was misguided by the concierge desk to join a one day tour to Luoshan ( which one should never miss). I was concerned about the program since it includes a greater part of the day touring the city but was informed by the concierge desk that the program had been changed to cover only Luoshan. It turned out the program remained unchanged. It included a meaninglessshort boat trip just off the coast and a visit to a red wine museum and a visit to the tv tower observation desk with very dirty windows. These "extras increased the original coast by 2 times and left only a short visit to Luoshan. 2) I was followed by a woman into the elevator who solicited sex service. Although I fully understand it is difficult for hotels to monitor the traffic in the lobby area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Holiday Inn Qingdao City is a pleasant surprise. It is wonderfully located in downtown (right next to a big Carrefour mall) with newer facility, nicely designed guestrooms plus the friendly rate, all makes this property a top choice in Qingdao. I had a room on the 23rd floor with a spectacular view overlooking the city. Guestrooms come with modern furniture, a great bathroom and all amenities you can possibly need for business travelers. Internet is included in the price. Front desk staff is professional and very pleasant to work with.

The only downside with this hotel, if I really have to be fussy, is that traffic during the day in this area can be a major hurdle depending on where you need to go, as hotel is centrally located in a extremely busy part of Qingdao. Otherwise, you really can't find fault with the property. I checked out the nearby Crown Plaza and found it incomparable to HI Qingdao City in terms of the overall value as some reviews here indicated. In all, I enjoyed my two-day stay at this hotel very much and would definitely use this property for future trips again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room with a city view, it's definitely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Having stayed in all 3 IC properties in Qingdao I can certainly recommend the HI Qingdao over the Crowne Plaza. Everything is new and prices are generally cheaper. I really enjoyed my stay here for business although the Intercontinental is a nicer and more expensive hotel. Easy to get around to all the main attractions from here. As for the rooms they are typical, modern, refurbished Holiday Inns.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels of the Intercontinental chain, this property was very new, me and my wife celebrated her 30th birthday there.

The overall experience was not bad, but there are some details the management needs to pay attention to:

1. The room was quite nice and big, but several hairs were found in the bathtub and on the bed (this was quite unacceptable by its standard.) Check in staff was nice, but certainly the housekeeping ones are not doing their jobs properly. Stayed in Intercontinental Dalian one month after, not a single hair found anywhere, difference!!

2. The bed was comfortable, but the duvet- the fillings constantly coming out from the duvets,
it was all over the place that was quite annoying sometime! Im sure they have heard the compliants not just from us.

3.breakfast was very nice but not worth 147 yuan per person. definitely a 78 or 98 yuan standard.

everything else was fine, from location to the fitness center.

I understand the hotel was new, they will need to improve themselves time after time.
I really wish the improvements can be done before my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Very nice hotel, opened at the end of July 2011. All the structure is brand new, with nice and clean rooms and a very userful fitness center which allows you to avoid the umidity of the city during the summer mornings.
Honest restaurant inside the hotel structure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Staff seems to be on a learning curve....they can catch-up for sure as they endeavour for it!

Room Tip: Tidy, lights in place, AC functional, things placed in order...seems to be earning the top places so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center

Address: No.1 Xuzhou Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,375 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre, conveniently located in the real heart of China Sailing City, which is near Carrefour, Jusco, Marina City and adjacent to Qingdao City Government, multinational offices such as Maersk, GE and Standard Chartered. Qingdao Cuisine Street is just round the corner and we are a 10-minute walk from the seaside and Olympic Sailing Center. We are also a 30-minute drive to Qingdao Liuting Airport and a 20-minute drive to Qingdao Railway Station. Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels and ergonomic work spaces with high-speed Internet access. Host your events in our 11 meeting rooms including our Seasons Ballroom which seats 600 guests comfortably. Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre banquets team can also customize our facilities to suit your events needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or grand wedding dinner. Renew your body with a gym workout or a swim in our modern Fitness Center. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at our Ocean Cafe with splendid city views and open kitchen concept. Yi Qing Yuan Chinese restaurant offers you plenty of Chinese fine-dining dishes. For meetings or just to relax, have afternoon tea or evening cocktails at The Lounge. You are at your best when you can truly be yourself. At Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre, You Can Always Be Yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Qingdao City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.