We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to visit when in Qingdao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijiushui River Laoshan

Beijiushui River Laoshan
Sunjia Village, Laoshan District, Qingdao 266100, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 284 things to do in Qingdao
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A must to visit when in Qingdao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wonderful scenery especially when you reach the top. The cable car was very stable. The walk up the hill is quite taxing .

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    59
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hongkong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking along the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very beautiful scenery. The European style buildings made us feel that we were traveling along the Spanish coast.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

montain and water stones and trees, good place for relax

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs that grant you terrific views and nice mountain landscapes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The park is a very nice experience. As a Europen you might wonder about al the stairs that cover the walking path, but that is just normal in China. No famous mountain to climb without stairs laid out for you.
The river in the canyon is available to enter on foot, what is a very fine refreshment in summer. Terrific mountain views incl. waterfall panorama will pay you back for all the climbing that you have done.
Nice tip: Water and cold refreshments are available for small money on the whole path. So no need to carry them :)
It is especially nice to sit down in one of the ugly looking places and have a cup of laushan mountain tea.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Imaginery gods of Mount Laoshan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our tour guide Lee Chin was relating wonderful reviews of Mount Laoshan, the old temple, the old cypress trees and the scenic sights. As we arrived at the ticket counter our eyes wondered afar and see nothing fantastic. But as soon as the environment friendly bus took us along the route up to Mount Laoshan, we can understand why it is so famous for its scenic sights.

I read somewhere that there are three tourist routes for Mount Laoshan. I don't know which one this is but we soon arrive at the age-old temples. We were met by a temple guide. He explained with all enthusiasm the way how we should clasp our hands to pray to the gods of heaven, male with the right hand and females with the left covering the right.

Soon we were led to the ancient cypress tree and the evergreen one just outside the entrance to one to the temples.

As if by prior arrangement, we were led to a hall, full of people and servers giving us sachets of amulet. We were asked what our zodiac signs are and told to pray to one of the gods protecting us in this year of the dragon. Then we were asked to pay for six of the sachets, one for CNY 30. When asked, we wanted to have only one, but relented upon the persuasion of the server - CNY 180. We don't know what we will do with these sachets!

Next we were told to enter another hall where we could light a merit lamp for the gods. A total of six were displayed for us to accept - CNY 100 each, that is a total of CNY 600!
As we usually light a merit lamp, we asked for one and after a few minutes of bargaining, we bought one. It was lighted and left on an earthern pot with unlighted merit lamps floating on waters.

We were forewarned but the warning was very subtle. We were told that when Emperor Qin Shi Huang was alive and seeking the pills of longevity, he visited Qingdao many times. Each time he came, he lived here and so we could see that there were many temples and also folklores surrounding this island, eg, the eight immortals crossing the water! The Emperor was misled to believe that there was pill of longeviity! So it is not surprising that we were also `fleeced'!

For those who were more alert, they rejected the sale of the sachets and the merit lamps!

I asked the guide what tourist route was this, but it appears that this is the only one as the others were closed.

It was winter time and almost all the trees looked barren and dry. But the calmness, minus the two prayer halls I mentioned was there. And the mountainous landscape bordered by the sea was a wonderful scene for photos! As we reached the viewing point of one of the temple, we looked out to see the misty island, said to be a living paradise as the people are rich and happy.......

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijiushui River Laoshan also viewed

 

Been to Beijiushui River Laoshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijiushui River Laoshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.