We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average overall, but good for China” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise International Hotel to your Saves list
Sunrise International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.10 Chang'an Road, Dadong District, Shenyang 110042, China (Zhong Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,034 Hotels in Shenyang
Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average overall, but good for China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After several visits to China, I've learned that the level of expectation for hotels needs to be ratcheted down 1 or 2 notches (stars). I spent 3 nights here and overall my stay was respectable. The room was large and clean, but even though it was supposedly a non-smoking room, the smell of smoke was noticeable. I figured most, if not all rooms would have the same problem so didn't try to get a different room. The mattress was rock hard, very uncomfortable. The room stayed at 23 C even though I tried to make it cooler at night throughout my stay.

Check-in was efficient and my room rate (around 90 USD) included breakfast. Everything in the room worked as expected and there were a few TV channels in English including CNN. Guests are very noisy though, so loud conversations could be heard late at night and early in the morning in the hallway. That's the culture I guess, and one can't fault the hotel.

I had breakfasts and dinners in the hotel's restaurant, which were always buffets. A large selection of food and it was ok but nothing special. Several (most) of the dishes that were to be hot were luke warm or even room temperature. Most of the options were Chinese dishes, and those were more tasty than the few Western options.

Check-out took 15 minutes. There was only one staff member early in the morning and the check-out process for the two guests ahead of me took forever. The staff had excellent English though, which was useful.

Room Tip: As far away from the elevator as possible to help reduce hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    76
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a Sheraton wannerbe, with logo so close to the famous red S makes you wonder how they get away with it. But Sheraton it ain't!

This hotel was booked for us by the company we were visiting but we soon found it is in a smi residential high rise area with nothing around it, no shopping malls, no nice restaurants, nothing to do or nice places to eat!

The staff were well trained and courteous when we arrived close to midnight but we found the company had booked us the super expensive suites when al we needed were non-smoking rooms. We soon found that the non-smoking rooms were a premium price, but they kindly "upgraded" us to an ordinary King "non-smoking".

Soon found these rooms were heavy with smoke and smelled of stale tobacco, seems the no smoking signs generally ignored as elsewhere in China. I had to try out 4 different rooms to find one that did not smelled so bad and the hotel idea of decontamination was a quick whiff of air freshener, doesn't do anything to get rid of the smoke smell that is absorbed into every fiber of the soft furnishings. Even the pillows smelled of smoke so was horrible.

Cons included a ROCK HARD bed, and a thick quilt so unnecessary in this climate, so I cast that off just for sheets and the A/C set at 24C.

Shower was OK, and there is a bathtub. TV has only the Chinese channels and 3 English a couple of movie and CNN.

Free internet was a plus with cable and wifi in the room; cable reasonable but wifi so slow.

Reasonable desk area to work.

Buffet breakfast included in the 600RMB room rate, it was reasonable and included hot food but mainly for the Chinese palate.

Cleanliness could be better, and the construction standards a bit off.

Uniformly well trained and pleasant staff.

I would only recommend if you have work in this area and really want to avoid the traffic and congestion typical of the central area where Marriott is (which I would choose over this hotel any day)

I would not stay here again, even to avoid some traffic delays, it's so out of the way

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the big air conditioning units located about Level 4, they whine and gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

A good clean hotel in the area. If I come for work, I will definitly stay in this hotel agian as this is the best nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here four nights to visit family. Nice rooms with an accomodating staff, they are very eager to please. Only drawback is the bed is as hard as a rock, we asked for extra blankets to use on top of the mattress but the bed was still incredibly hard.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

If it weren't for the 5-star rating, I would have been more impressed with this hotel. It consists of 2 buildings, the A-building and the newer B-building. The B-building is connected to the main A-building by a 2nd floor walkway, but then you have to awkwardly walk past the restaurant area to get to the elevators. Also, the B-building has a small lobby but with no place to sit. The A-building lobby is large but also has limited places to sit while waiting to meet people.

My standard room in the B-building was clean, well-decorated but a bit on the small side. The major issues were a lack of an iron and a non-working Internet connection. The bed was very firm as is customary in Chinese-brand hotels. Recreational facilities were pretty thorough, including a stylish indoor pool, recreation center with ping pong, pool, karaoke rooms, and sauna. The gym was small with dated, rickety equipment, however.

Breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) featured an excellent selection of Chinese and Western choices and all freshly prepared. No complaints here. The location is pretty depressing as there is virtually no good dining or shopping nearby. My room looked out over a bleak industrial landscape.

In summary, the Sunrise is a good hotel. The room rate was reasonable but it's more of a 4-star rather than 5-star.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

20 minutes drive from airport.A Good functional Hotel.

  • Liked — clean functional hotel
  • Disliked — staff had very low english knowledge
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenyang hotels
2.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Shenyang
Doubletree by Hilton Shenyang
#4 of 1,034 in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rosedale Hotel Shenyang
Rosedale Hotel Shenyang
#17 of 1,034 in Shenyang
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Shenyang Zhongshan
Crowne Plaza Shenyang Zhongshan
#24 of 1,034 in Shenyang
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Shenyang Parkview
Crowne Plaza Shenyang Parkview
#16 of 1,034 in Shenyang
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Shenyang
Grand Hyatt Shenyang
#2 of 1,034 in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wanda Vista Shenyang
Wanda Vista Shenyang
#6 of 1,034 in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise International Hotel

Address: No.10 Chang'an Road, Dadong District, Shenyang 110042, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang > Zhong Street , Dadong istrict , Shenhe District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,034 Hotels in Shenyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.