We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good situation but the room are noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Shenyang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Shenyang to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Shenyang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.109 Qingnian Street, Shenhe District, Shenyang 110014, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 1,030 Hotels in Shenyang
Certificate of Excellence
Metz, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good situation but the room are noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The situation of this hotel is very good, just front of the subway station. The welcome was very good, and if you need help, they can help you. The breakfast is very good. But the room are very noisy, we hear the noise of the street and the noise of the client in the hall.

Room Tip: Don't take a room with view on the principal street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Martial S.,

Thak you so much for the worthful time you took to write your impressions and thoughts on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read, that our hotel was to your satisfaction and you felt comfortable and assisted with your requests. Please be assured, that we will let our staff know about your feedback, which will be nothing less than a big reward.

Although we are extremely sorry to hear that your time to relax was disturbed by noises from the hall and the street. For your next stay we will make sure your room is on a even higher floor and located away from possible noises. We would genuinely like to apologize for the inconveniences due to the construnction area near the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    172
    54
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
4
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is kind of far from the city centre, but it is located right next to the train station. It is hard to get a taxi from this hotel at peak hours or during raining, so be aware. The service is quite normal, but given its star rating, it is just average. There is definitely areas for improvement in their services, for example, when me and my colleagues trying to borrow umbrellas when it is raining, they only have 1 left for 3 of us to share. Also, the hotel is relatvely old, but still clean. Given its services, star rating, location, and the price, I think staying at a new boutique hotel located at CBD is better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear dtai010,

We would like to thank you for your effort and your time to write down your feedback and your helpful advises on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel.
Please rest assured, that we will discuss your subjects with our team to improve our service. Our renovation is ongoing and almost more than 100 rooms are completely renovated with the highest comfort ans standard.

With constant training and the help of guests like you, which share their experinces, we are able to provide the best service and quality.

We hope you will give us a chane again to convince you of these!

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very nice. Our room had a nice view to a park. The service was always very nice and friendly. Most of the stuff spoke english. I definitely would come back for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your stay at Kempinski hotel Shenyang! We are dedicated to provide you with better living experience and the most qualified service! Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel almost every week for around 3 years between 2008-2011. Since then, no change at all. Although the hotel is relatively "not an old building", landlord obviously did not make any renovation. rooms are smelling, dust is everywhere, even in the pillows. room doors are not closing, an absolute wreckage. in additition to this, they have the cheapest staff, who have unsufficient training and do not have any idea what the name kempinski means. the only plus is inhouse german restaurant paulaner, which is far from the quality of other paulaners in beijing and shanghai, but better than nothing. breakfast room does not have any window, smelly environment.

many german guests are coming just because of the name, which is unfortunately represented in a terrible quality. my only recommendation is to sleep in open air, rather than visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Shanghainese2011,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment and please be assured that our guests’ feedback is of highest importance to us.

We sincerely sorry for the unhappy experience and inconvenience caused during your stay and meanwhile we truly appreciate your feedback. Here we are glad to share with you that the hotel renovation program has been started and expect to finish the renovation within 3 months in terms of the rooms and F&B outlets as well as the service standard leverage also conduct in all the concerning area.

I would be very grateful if you accepted my sincere apologies and give us the opportunity to serve for you next time.

Look forward to your coming back.

Yours most sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This 5 star hotel is a very good business hotel in the center of Shenyang. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast offers a wide variety of food. In the evening if you want to have a real German beer, you can enjoy the ambiance in a real german beer garden, where they brew their own beer. During weekend you can enjoy the music of a band which brings different styles of songs. For those who want to enjoy the german cuisine, you can choose some famous german dishes such as Sauerkraut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Ms.Danielle,

Thank you very much for your stay at Kempinski hotel Shenyang! We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted to tell you, hotel are currently under the partially upgrade for the in house facilities, we are dedicated to provide you with better living experience and the most qualified service!

We're looking forward to your next visit in the near future !

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Having a very high expectation for the Kempinski brand name, I must say its pretty disappointing. The hotel is old and the service wasn't all that great. The lobby is dim and unimpressive. The staff's English is so-so. The only plus point is that they gave me an upgrade. Thanks for that but I won't recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr. NasiKandarlpoh,

Thank you for your comment posted on our Tripadvisor page this weekend.
We appreciate your high expectations towards the Kempinski Brand as the oldest European luxury hospitality group, favored by guests who expect excellence and value individuality in European flair for luxury, savoir vivre, culture and cuisine during their stay. As you were clearly disappointed with your stay in April 2012, I do sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during your visit to the Kempinski Shenyang last year.
While I do agree that our hotel is in its prime of life and not a recently opened new hotel as so many here in China, I do have the pleasure to inform you on recent upgrades taking place as we speak. Current room renovation will give us a better product with new TV’s, furniture, carpets, fittings, beds and linen, i-phone alarm clock and other additions to our product.
Also our English language service training is a firm institution in the hotel, over the past year the majority of our new front line staff were selected based on good English skills and a guest oriented personality.
Thank you as well for appreciating our upgrade during your stay last year. For yournext visit to Shenyang, please do not hesitate to contact me on gm.shenyang@kempinski.com and it will be my pleasure to present you our new rooms and facilities in person.
With warm regards from Shenyang

Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is nice overall, and I'm sure it was once the nicest hotel in Shenyang. Excellent location with the metro just across the street. Having the Paulaner Restaraunt in the hotel is nice in the Winter. You can always get some good food and beer without venturing out into the cold. The gym is very modern and nicely equipped as well.

The breakfast buffett is just OK, and some of the food was obviously re-heated from previous days. I get the impression that the hotel does not have that many Western guests so the western breakfast items are probably not in big demand and are probably recycled. The rooms are fine, but nothing fancy.

The hotel is not a bad choice, with no obvious shortcomings, but with the recent opening of the Doubletree, a Hyatt coming this summer, and a JW Marriott the next, options for travelers to SY are about to expand greatly. It'll be a buyers market too for most of the year when there's no major event happening in the city, so Kempinski is probably going to have to do some renovations to keep up with the new hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KISHE024, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear “Sheets of Rage”,

Thank you very much for your kind and candid comments on your recent stay at our Kempinski Hotel Shenyang.

My hotel team and I do sincerely appreciate your kind comments on our Paulaner German Restaurant - as a little piece of info we have expanded our beer varieties from January 2013 onwards from 2 to now 3 home-brewed German Beers with adding our own "Weissbier" to our selection!!! We hope to welcome you back in 2013 to try Brew-master Axel's newest creation.

Also we do fully agree with you on our convenient and superior location in Shenyang, be it the subway station in front of the hotel, several shopping malls, restaurants and 5 consulates within
10 minutes walking distance, the serene lake and park in front of the hotel or the fast connection to airport and city center due to our location on the “Golden Corridor” (as the Shenyangnese call the main traffic road in this thriving city).

On your impression that some of our food was not to your expectation, kindly note that we do have a dedicated kitchen and service team in our park bistro, starting from an overnight baker to bake 5 different kinds of bread loafs and 3 -4 breadroll varieties daily fresh to 5 different juices to 8 kind of fresh fruits – so we do hope to convince you again with our vast variety of Western and Chinese breakfast food during your next stay.

I have also noted your comment that some renovation will be required after having served travelers to Shenyang so well for the past 9 years and I am happy to let you know that the finishing touches are currently done on our sample mock –up room to allow a partly refurbishment. This project will be completed before the China Games in Shenyang in 2013, hopefully bringing us in line with other newer hotels coming to the market.

In closing please do allow me to thank you for your continuous patronage here at Kempinski Hotel Shenyang as the Grand Dame of the Shenyang’s hotel world. Please do rest assured that we will also in 2013 do our outermost to satisfy our customers’ expectations based on the wide experience and satisfied repetitive customer we were lucky to serve over the years.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay and it would be my pleasure to welcome you personally back to Shenyang.

Kempinski Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kempinski Hotel Shenyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Shenyang

Address: No.109 Qingnian Street, Shenhe District, Shenyang 110014, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,030 Hotels in Shenyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Shenyang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Shenyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Shenyang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.