We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel Shenyang

Save Saved
You added Traders Hotel Shenyang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Traders Hotel Shenyang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.68 Zhonghua Road, Heping District, Shenyang 110001, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 988 hotels in Shenyang
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

When a hotel provides a clothing repair service at Midnight I call this service, I also had a 5:45 check out and the hotel packed a breakfast for me. This is the best service I have had in 20 years of travelling in China. The hotelis a little dated but the older decor is more than made up for by the people congratulations Shangrila/Traders Shenyang

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    179
    28
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
13
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I don't know how I was upgraded to the VIP floor ( I think my friend Bing who made my reservation had some kind of influence), but I certainly was not a bit upset about it. Besides being situated on the top of the Traders Hotel, this floor boasts an elegant all day liquor lounge and coffee service where you can sample different Chinese cookies, tapas style appetizers, and fresh fruits. There is also free internet service and multi-language international newspapers. Stepping outside the hotel is another subject. On one side of the hotel, you encounter elaborate European fashion merchandise stores (Gucci hand bags as well as Louis Vuiton, Chanel sunglasses, Guerlain perfume, and Rolex and Vacheron Constantin watches), and not too far away, by contrast, is the train station with a densely packed crowd of people in apparent misery packed densely on the sidewalk next to vendors of boiled white corn and miniature snails. Going back inside and trying the hotel restaurants, there are at least two of them: the Traders Cafe offering a variety of quick snacks, local noodles and cakes, and then there is the Shang Palace with gourmet service of international dishes and Chinese specialties. For ladies and gentlemen coming back from a long day, you can take advantage of the gym with exercise machines, sauna, and Jacuzzi, or a relaxing massage (make sure you ask for Lucy who is very professional, friendly, and has strong hands).
The Traders Hotel is quite good and the entire staff is trained to smile and greet you warmly (in English, of course).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

If you want a simple hotel with decent facilities for a travelling businessman, this is it. This is definitely a leg up on the gaudy Howard Johnsons or Holiday Inns that dot the landscape. But this is more expensive. Rooms are bigger. Internet connections and TVs are slightly upmarket. I was positively impressed by the wifi router they delivered to the room for my usage. Service is fast and efficient. Shoe shine took hardly 30 min. Overall, good for short stays

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We got there accidentally, since our plane was broken. Really cozy, clean rooms, chinese standard dinner (anything western), oddly I found some staff not speaking English; Anyway, the standards are high and the position very central.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Yes, you can really say that the service in this hotel is impeccable. They speak good English (except at the Chinese restaurant), they help you in everything you ask for, everyone salutes and smiles. Breakfast was probably the best one I've had in a Chinese hotel, with both western and Chinese choices. Chinese restaurant served excellent food (plenty of choices also for vegetarians and some local specialties). Room was clean with good bathroom (with toiletries) and very well functioning air conditioning. You could find taxis waiting in front of the hotel and they did not charge anything extra. Staff of the hotel were able and willing to help with buying train and flight tickets. With some extra cost you can book a room at Trader's floor, with some extra services like fresh fruit and daily newspaper. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the gym with jacuzzi, sauna and swimming pool - all open 24 hrs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days as a family group. The rooms are excellant, we had fresh fruit in our room each day. The breakfast was good and breakfast staff very friendly and helpful, including the chefs. We stayed on the executive level with complimentary drinks and food from 5.30pm each night. The location is excellant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Second stay in this hotel. 5 star hotel in the heart of the city.
5 Million people in this big city.
Perfect for business. Nice, friendly staff, good food, good rooms.
They have a Gym in the hotel and a starbucks coffee shop directly of the opposite side of the side entrance of the hotel.
Many restaurants around, many shops of all brands around (from H&M until Prada and Gucci)

Other nice places:
Visiting the kaiser palace of Shenyang. Subway (near hotel), 30 minutes drive and a little walk and you are there.
OR you visiting the fake market for bags or clothes.
ONLY problem in Shenyang: It is not so simple to get a taxi in China if you are not Chinese.
Nice to know: I stay here in November, outside 2 degrees temperature BUT in January it can be minus 30 (!) degrees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traders Hotel Shenyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel Shenyang

Address: No.68 Zhonghua Road, Heping District, Shenyang 110001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Shenyang
#41 Best Value Hotel in Shenyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traders Hotel Shenyang 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Traders Hotel Shenyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenyang Traders Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel Shenyang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.