We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glamour IS Gone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hotel Shenyang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Hotel Shenyang to your Saves list
Rose Hotel Shenyang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.201 Zhongjie Road, Shenghe District, Shenyang 110001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 1,029 Hotels in Shenyang
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Glamour IS Gone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two years ago, the service from the reception to room service was very good. Staff were friendly and polite. Two years on, all that has vanished. Check-in took almost two hours, and this was at 4pm. Onone day, when I returned at 7pm, the room was still undone, and check out took forever...

Room Tip: Would not suggest to stay here if you are not local!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    83
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
4
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at the Rose Hotel for 9 days in November 2011 and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is clean and quiet and our accommodations were spacious and well-appointed, if dated. We slept well and undisturbed every night and the morning breakfast buffet of both hot and cold items was excellent. The desk and room staff were welcoming and the hotel seems to have the essentials for both tourist and business travelers.

The Rose is in the heart of an upscale pedestrian shopping area with lots of night-time activity, a subway station just outside, easy access to taxi service, and fast-food (McDonald's, Starbucks, DQ, KFC, etc) and other restaurants nearby, banks, mini-malls, etc. It's about a 20 minute walk to the Imperial Summer Palace.

All-in-all, we'd gladly stay here our next visit to Shenyang!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My fiancee and I enjoyed our stay immensely here in December 2010, so much so that we recommended it in our reviews and returned in December 2011... we were shocked in the difference of the property in one year. We booked a non-smoking room... but received a room with ashtrays that had been recently occupied by smokers... dust covered everything and the once ornate room had bad carpet stains, nicked up furniture and the smell of a college frat house after a beer party. The cramped bathroom had a shower only although advertised with a tub... no big deal, but toilet paper was never replenished without asking and its texture is best compared to a plastic bag. The ceiling had been recently repaired and repainted, but masking tape was dangling from the lighting fixture and smoke alarm... the rest of the property was also rundown... nearly dead plants decorated elevator plazas... and the morning buffet, so good one year ago, was awful... featuring only instant coffee, half-rotten oranges and pears well past their peak of freshness... to say we were shocked would be an gross understatement. I wish there was a way for me to edit our review from 2010 that was glowing about the Rose Hotel, because the place is just not the same in such a short span of time... no bellman to help with bags... none of the attributes of a once four-star property, now two stars at best.

Room Tip: The location of this hotel is great for shopping, dining and visiting the Imperial Palace, but the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed here in October 2011. The room was well appointed and large. In general it was clean although around the windows and sills were not. The bathroom toilet area was spotless. The hotel is not new but it is perfectly located in the middle of a pretty good shopping and restaurant area and right opposite a grewat dumpling restaurant. My Chinese penpal chose the hotel for me and I was a bit reluctant at first as may reviews said the bed was too hard, however althou mine was also hard it was very comfortable, I had no trouble with noice although there is a lot of construction going on in that part of the city. The staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. I know no Mandarin, however they made it easy for me even though they had a lack of English and we had no trouble understanding each other. I really did not use the facilities but the hotel is well set out with its own restaurant, a gym and a conference centre. The price was very reasonable and I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Greece
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for three nights. The rooms were big, breakfast was decent. It was located right in the city centre. However, there was construction going on just across the street, which was a bit disturbing. The windows seemed to be a bit thin for that!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

This is one seriously faded Rose. The rooms was small, the bed harder than nails, the food at breakfast very poor with almost no options for Western travellers such as bacon and even the only milk available for coffee was soy. Staff were generally indifferent as if they didn't really care very much, at times the staff in the coffee shop were asleep and given the price structure there it's hardly surprising that no-one bothered to go near the place. Ticketing centre overcharged also and I cannot in any way recommend the Rose to any traveller. The dumpling restaurant across the road is however brilliant and well worth a visit if in Shenyang. Don't just eat the dumplings though, good as they are - the sweet and sour dishes are magic also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Hotel Shenyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hotel Shenyang

Address: No.201 Zhongjie Road, Shenghe District, Shenyang 110001, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Shenyang
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shenyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Hotel Shenyang 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rose Hotel Shenyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenyang Rose Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Hotel Shenyang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.