We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Central Upscale Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dynasty Wanxin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dynasty Wanxin Hotel to your Saves list
Dynasty Wanxin Hotel
No.390 Qingnian Main Street, Heping District, Shenyang 110004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,025 Hotels in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 stars 60 Reviews
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Central Upscale Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel is part of a shopping/commercial complex. It is beautified with Victorian style in room and open areas in the floors. Reception is in 10th floor. If you have a reservation, you will be accommodated for check-in in a more private setup in the 29th floor. Check-in is not the fastest. Looks like local government imposes more paperwork than the usual in other places in China. The room is mid-size, beautiful, functional and includes all needed amenities. Two power outlets. WiFi and cable for internet which is stable and reasonably fast. Room safe is attached to a designated space in cabinet, thus considered useful. AC works just fine. The 29th floor includes a large lounge in which you will be served with snacks and drinks all day long at no cost. The buffet restaurant in the 10th floor was just fine for dinner. (Nothing spectacular, but very nice.) I left too early to try breakfast. English is a weak point among staff. Looks like they mostly deal with Chinese guests but they tried their best. Hotel is less than 30 min drive from the airport. It is a very nice hotel for the price of NYC 900, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The pros of this hotel are that the rooms are clean, its centrally located and internet connection is good. The outside of the building is quite impressive however once inside I can only describe the decor as being on the tacky side . The breakfast is traditional chinese therefore for a western guest the best option is toast. Another downside is that currently the hotel offers no room service. I called guest service and they sent me some noodle soup however the lack of options was disappointing. Communicating in English with staff is difficult, I think that is one of the reasons I would prefer to stay at an international chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I normally stay at the Intercontinental on Nanjing Road when in Shenyang but because the Intercontinental is an aging hotel that really doesn't deserve the moniker of Intercontinental anymore (it's 9 years old) I decided to try something new. There are becoming more and more choices of fine hotels in Shenyang these days from the Kempinski and Sheraton to the soon arriving Shangri-la chain but I choose to take a risk on an otherwise unknown property called the "Shenyang Royal Wan Xin Hotel" on Qingnian Street..

Hotel First Impressions:

The front entrance and building facade are quite grandiose, it looks like they are going for that classic European style look. The lobby is bright and full of marble and chandeliers. While this sounds good so far some Chinese properties have been known to blow their budgets on the lobby and their rooms look like the a CSI crime scene. This however was not one of them as I has pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms.

Layout/Location:

Hotel checkin is on the 10th floor and 29th floor (executive level). There is an express elevator to the 10th floor as you walk in to the right back corner. The main elevator bank is in the same direction but off to the left.

The hotel is located in the city's "development" zone and thus a little removed from the city center. Although Shenyang is not that big where it's a huge problem. One of the best things is this hotels access to the airport. It's basically a straight shot and about 20min, great for that early morning flight or late arrival.

Rooms:

I posted a few pictures but the rooms are clean and modern with;

- in room safe
- mini bar
- soaking tub
- stand up shower (great shower)
- good amenities with the standard two bottles of water found in most Chinese hotel rooms
- high speed internet
- LCD TV with BBC/CNN/CNBC/Channel News Asia/HBO/Sat Movies/AXN/Star TV

Facilities:

I tried the buffet on the 10th floor at the "Xin Cafe". The cost was 168 RMB but worth every penny. It was basically a seafood buffet with;

- Grilled meats (to order)
- Steamed crab
- clams and other shell fish (prepared as you like)
- sushi and sashimi bar
- assorted cold and hot dishes
- deserts and fruit

the only thing was that there was no drinks that were included, all drinks were a la carte.

I didn't order room service but the menu looked quite limited.

Executive Floor Benefits (I stayed on the executive floor):

- Room minibar drinks and snacks are free
- Happy hour from 8pm to 10pm (strange time)
- access to executive lounge for free drinks and snacks all day
- free internet
- free buffet breakfast
- access to meeting facilities

Summary:

I was pleasantly surprised by the Royal Wan Xin Hotel, I will definitely come back when in Shenyang. Although I will try my luck at some of the other hotels in the area next time for comparison such as the Sheraton or the Kempinski. I would say that the English level of the staff is not quite as high as that of some of the international brands but it was never an issue.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed here for 3 days in June 2010. Staff were very good especially the Slovakian (I think he was) staffer who checked me in.

Room was very nice and so was the toilet. The only issue was that it was stramgely smelly. I asked housekeeping to clean up the toilet but I think there was a leak. Could not get rid of that smell. Regardless, I was out of the room most of the time so I did nto get a chance to complain.

Room service was rather sparse but decent enough.

Free water and internet were high points.

Other issue is that if you were travelling with someone, there is a strange feature where there is a large window to the bathtub which has no curtain or any other sort of way to block the view to the inside of the toilet. One is in full view if on the toilet seat or in the shower/bath.

A note that the standing shower is excellent and the room amenities were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dynasty Wanxin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Wanxin Hotel

Address: No.390 Qingnian Main Street, Heping District, Shenyang 110004, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,025 Hotels in Shenyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dynasty Wanxin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dynasty Wanxin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.