We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dalian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dalian to your Saves list
Hilton Dalian
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Gangpu Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #14 of 1,021 Hotels in Dalian
4.0 of 5 stars 114 Reviews
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very nice hotel, from top to finish real 5 star quality
Get a room on the exec level well worth the extra spend to use the exec level WOW
The bar in the lobby is also fab, live bands and very helpful service staff

Get a view facing out to sea, great view to wake up yo

Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Exec room and you can use the business services
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, General Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear KnightyManchester

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Hotel during your recent stay in Dalian and for taking time to rate and comment on Tripadvisor website. Guest feedback is an essential tool for us to continually improve the service and facilities we offer.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your complimentary words to our hotel and the recognition of the good work our team members have delivered. I will be sure to pass your feedback to them.

Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and it has been our real pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Dalian.

Yours truly,

Marlene Poynder
General Manager
Hilton Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
6
3
8
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

In all Honesty this was is one of the best Hilton's that I've stayed in. The hotel is very new but the staff all speak excellent English. The breakfast was great and the exec lounge is fantastic. The rooms are big and have great features but do feel a little new and quirky. The overall sense of the hotel is that it is very new, but that it is very well run and the staff are excellent. The only bad point is that the hotel is somewhat out of town (although it only takes 5 minutes) and you have to get a taxi (interesting experience) and navigate around the large roundabout. So I'd recommend a hotel car if you are contemplating longer journeys - especially to the airport. This does make the hotel a nice place to retreat to out of the city center but you'll find that you'll spend quite a few 5 min taxi journeys going round the roundabout if you have to travel in. The Hotel bar is for want of another word eclectic, but food throughout the hotel and through the day is really good.

Finding this hotel in China was a really pleasant surprise and I'd definitely stay there again - I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, General Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Green_Kermit 

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Hotel during your recent stay in Dalian and for taking time to rate and comment on Tripadvisor website.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your complimentary words to our hotel and the recognition of the good work our team members have delivered. I will be sure to pass your feedback to them.

With regards to your comment about our location, I agree with you that the area is a new construction program with the grand Convention Center for local government. Fortunately, this is a temporary transportation challenge and once this area is built up in late 2013, it will be truly magnificent area of Dalian.

Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and it has been our real pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Conrad Dalian where you will always have “The Luxury of Being Yourself.”

Yours truly,

Marlene Poynder
General Manager
Hilton Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in Hilton Dalian, China, and it was a great hotel. It's brand new and all the amenities for a 5-star hotel were there. Our room, the food in the restaurants were excellent. Normally, our experiences with China hotels always has a glitch in terms of service, knowing that English is not spoken by everyone in the service side of the hotel. But they were always willing to help and be of service.

We stayed in the executive floor so the lounge was great. Breakfast and afternoon cocktails were great.

I would greatly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants good service in Dalian.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let the executive floor team know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For the kind of prices you pay at the hotel, you expect top rate service. Unfortunately, my experience here was all but good. It all started out as I arrived. My taxi pulled up in the driveway, and I thought, ah nice, modern building - not bad. It ended there. There were three bell hops/valets in sight but they seemed more interested in everything else but holding the taxi door open for me and helping with my bags. This happened to other guests as well so it wasn't a random encounter. To be fair, the front desk reception was decent (but I wouldn't expect less of a Hilton). The restaurant was unbelievable expensive, especially when you live in China and know exactly how much food here really cost. Service was also a tad bit slow and it took them almost 10 minutes to bring my check even though I was the only one in the restaurant.

In-room wifi was advertised as 'included' in the room cost but I was charged 100RMB. I wouldn't mind paying that 100RMB, except that the internet speed was unbelievably slow.

The hotel is located in a neighborhood undergoing heavy construction, and is constantly dirty and dusty. It is also a distance from the town centre and you need a taxi to get to the restaurants and bars. Overall, not my ideal accommodation and I have definitely stayed in cheaper and better accommodations in China.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your time and we do appreciate you are taking your time advising us your stay experience at Hilton Dalian. We happy to learn that you felt our room is comfortable.The internet fees is charged following the Hilton brand standards.

Hilton Dalian located in East Harbour development zone, a new rapidly emerging and vibrant district in Dalian city. Our concierge provides taxi service to make your outing more convenient.

However, we so regret to learn that your stay is not pleasant. Your comments on hotel service quality are seriously noted. Hotel management has circulated your comments with concerning department. Please be sure that our entire team will take immediate action to work on it and we do wish that you could experience our improvements by then.

If you don’t mind, please provide the more details to hiltondalian_info@hilton.com for us to investigate. Please be sure that our entire team will take immediate action to work on it and we do wish that you could experience our improvements by then.

Many thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel looks like it will be really nice in about 5 years. The interior is brand new with all of the modern amenities you could want - but it's in the middle of nowhere, such that even the taxi drives don't know how to get there. (And if you're like me and don't speak Mandarin, that made it even more difficult). When you check in, take a hotel business card that has the address on it, so that when you get a cab you can just show that to them instead of trying to explain where it is.

If you open the windows at all, you'll be flooded by all the noise of constant construction - and from the windows all you can see are eyesores of construction. It's nice that they're developing the area, but for all you know when they're done you'll be staring at the wall of another skyscraper. The cleaning people didn't lock one of my windows one day (it looked like it needed a special wrench or tool to lock it properly) so while I was trying to take a nap or work, I was distracted by all of the noise. Also, Dalian (like China) is polluted, so you don't want to have the windows open if you can help it.

The buffet breakfast is excellent - all the choices you could want and nothing unidentifiable for the Westerners. I really liked the soup noodles and the dumplings!

They had overbooked while I was there so I was upgraded to an executive floor, and when I got to my room there was a note from the manager saying that guests on this floor had access to the executive lounge and privileges. My coworker and I checked it out and it was very nice - but then the next day when we went upstairs for breakfast, they kicked me out, saying that because I was an upgrade, I only got the floor but not the privileges. I was very offended, given that at any other hotel this would not have been the case - and if it was the mistake of the management to leave that note of welcome in my room then it would have been no big deal for them to just give the privileges as well. It was also inconsistent because my coworker who had been upgraded similarly, didn't have a problem with accessing the lounge - and furthermore, there were few if NO people using the lounge whenever we went up, just a whole lot of staff standing around and doing nothing. You would think that a hotel would try to cater towards it's customers and gain some repeat business, but they did not.

I really liked the hotel's interior because I like modern hotels, but given their poor customer service and location, my coworker who travelled with me refuses to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your time and we do appreciate you are taking your time advising us your stay experience at Hilton Dalian. We happy to learn that you felt our room is comfortable.

However, we so regret to learn that your stay is not pleasant. Your comments on hotel service quality are seriously noted. Hotel management has circulated your comments with concerning department. Please be sure that our entire team will take immediate action to work on it and we do wish that you could experience our improvements by then.

If you don’t mind, please provide the more details to hiltondalian_info@hilton.com for us to investigate. Please be sure that our entire team will take immediate action to work on it and we do wish that you could experience our improvements by then.

Many thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at this Hilton in August. It located near the harbor but amidst major construction. Dirty, Dusty Loud. I wish I had been warned. It was a 20 minute walk to anything. I am sure in 2 or 3 years it will be better. The staff was fine as was the facilities. I was charged 100 rmb for internet. It is my experience that most places do not charge and if they do it is not 100 usd for 3 days!! I really felt like they were nickel and diming me and I mentioned this and the gal offered nothing in the way of remuneration or acknowledgement that his extra charge is exorbitant and largely unnecessary.

Room Tip: Up high to get away from the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your time to give us such valuable comments.

Hilton Dalian located in East Harbour development zone, a new rapidly emerging and vibrant district in Dalian city. Our concierge provides taxi service to make your outing more convenient.

The internet fees we charged that following the Hilton brand standards.

If you don’t mind, please provide the more details to hiltondalian_info@hilton.com for us to investigate. Please be sure that our entire team will take immediate action to work on it and we do wish that you could experience our improvements by then.

Many thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in a corner room with king size bed. The room was really nice but carpet is not so clean (tolerable in this case). The hotel offers buffet dinner for 253 RMB. The food is not great but tolerable. Service was terrible in the restaurant. The last night I was in the restaurant, I asked the waiter for tea and he brought the tea pot but couldn't find a glass in the station. And so he got the glass from the next table where someone had eaten, assuming that the glass was clean. I got so grossed out and asked the manager for a clean cup. Despite my complaint, the manager didn't do anything about it. This really ruins the reputation of Hilton as high quality service hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinky W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dalian, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your time and we do appreciate you are taking your time advising us your stay experience at Hilton Dalian. We happy to learn that you felt our room is comfortable.

However, we so regret to learn that your stay is not pleasant. Your comments on hotel service quality are seriously noted. Hotel management has circulated your comments with concerning department. Please be sure that our entire team will take immediate action to work on it and we do wish that you could experience our improvements by then.

Many thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dalian

Address: No.1 Gangpu Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,021 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Dalian offers 370 upscale guest rooms showcasing scenic harbour, mountain and city skylines. Located in Dalian’s East Harbour New Development Zone, the hotel will be conveniently situated alongside a marina, recreational boardwalk and Dalian’s new Convention Centre. Leisure and business travellers alike will find tempting dining options,as well as a host of efficient services and facilities. Five diverse on-site restaurant and bar venues will provide colorful culinary experiences. Hilton Dalian is also well-equipped to host corporate meetings, conferences, seminars and private events. On-site health and recreational facilities include a 25-meter heated indoor swimming pool and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests will also be able to enjoy a feeling of total relaxation, via rejuvenating treatments at the private all-suite Chinese sauna-styled spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dalian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.