We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Dalian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Dalian to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Dalian
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Youhao Square, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 1,021 Hotels in Dalian
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot except that they turn off the A/C at a part of the year and refuse to turn it on.
They do not admit this but I think most hotel in China do this as I have had same problem in
Shanghai.
The room was very big and had everything you wanted, the bathroom was very impressive.Sadly the bar in basement was very quiet

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our large rooms and our very large bathroom.Your comment on A/C are well noted and rest assured we will re-evaluate our offering and do the necessary changes where applicable.

Many thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the beautiful city of Dalian during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    147
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
13
13
21
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staggered by the quality that this hotel exudes.

Ultra helpful staff .... Need some small change for the taxi driver... Not a problem they will pay it whilst you go to reception and break down some large notes.

The room I was given was the size of an apartment ( ask for a corner room) and the largest I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world!!

Breakfast was excellent... Courteous helpful staff nothing to much trouble.

Rare to see any senior management these days 'walking the floor' not so here,MR KNUSSI the Resident Manager was there at breakfast .... Guiding his team....offering advice, ensuring that everything was perfect.

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world on business.... This is up there with the best... I highly recommend this hotel, from the time you arrive to the time you leave you feel genuinely valued.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room ...... Huge !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy with your great review which we have shared with our team members, especially our management.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our large rooms and our nice breakfast, and the courteous service provided by our team members.

We are happy to share your favourable comments on our hotel and service provided with our employees and we will continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to all our guests to make there stays as memorable as yours.

Many thanks once again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the beautiful city of Dalian during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel very nice room quality very good incl. bose soundsystem to connect the mobile phone...bathroom really stunning design loved it

gym has enough for a few days stay pool also OK

weak point no free updrade as platinum member to excecutive lounge therefore rating only 4 points

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoined our large rooms, our Bose sound system and our luxurious bathrooms and design.

As a Platinum Elite member of Priority Club Rewards Program of InterContinental Hotels Group, we delighted to provide you some benefits: complementary weekday newspaper, welcome drink, internet access in your room, and welcome fruit on arrival.

We are happy to share your favourable comments on our hotel and service provided with our employees and we will continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to our guests.

Many thanks once again for your good comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the beautiful city of Dalian during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was very good for the price.......ideally located.....The beds were toooooooo good very very cozy and comfortable........we had about 8 rooms all the guys enjoyed....only glitch is wifi is only free at the lobby......breakfast was good.....the massage at the spa was toooo good.....overall don't forget to stay there once in dalian there is a 24 hour KFC right opposite as most of the time we were hungry after karoke and end up eating there at 4 am....not much variety at that time.
one other thing to mention was not much happy with airconditioning felt quite hot.

Room Tip: I got an upgrade as i wanted a smoking room which happened to be full and on one floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoined our InterContinental Hotel signature bed, our large rooms, the Café@6 breakfast spread and our spa facilities. Yes and we do provide free wifi in all of our public areas for our guest convenience. We are happy to know you enjoyed the upgrade given to you due to the high occupancy at our hotel.

As the temperatures during this time of the year are verry cold, our rooms are heated and can be controlled individually to keep our guests warm.

We have noted your comments on the late night / early morning snack variety and will certainly address this with our culinary team.

We are happy to share your favourable comments on our hotel and service provided with our employees and we will continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to our guests.

Many thanks once again for your good comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the beautiful city of Dalian during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Rusland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great place in the very center of the city. Great rooms, good restaurants, perfect service. Looking throughly, I could find very few problems:
1. espresso and capuccino are below average, that is quite good for China
2. some surfaces in my room were dusty

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy with your great review which we have shared with our team, especially our f&b team and our housekeeping team.

We are pleased to hear that you were truly satisfied with not only our the central location of the hotel but also with our very spacious rooms and our various restaurants and good service. Your comment on our coffee is well noted and rest assured we will re-evaluate our offering and do some changes where necessary. And work with our dedicated housekeeping members to ensure we don’t miss out any of the surfaces in our beautiful rooms.

This very positive comment of yours will help us to continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to all our valued guests.

Once again thank you very much for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Hotel in the beautiful city of Dalian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The rooms are huge, and very nicely appointed, especially in the bathrooms. The public areas look very high-class.
Internet was extra (and I had small struggle to get it set up first time). Food was very good, although expensive. Breakfast buffet had a very large choice, and was good quality. I had room service one night, which was average. Two nights we visited the Italian restaurant - the food was unexpectedly excellent (pasta and pizza) - OK, I know we should have been eating Chinese out in Dalian city, but the hotel restaurant was convenient for continuing our business discussions! Oh - and great margaritas in the Havana Bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time spent to tell us about your stay at InterContinenatl Hotel Dalian.

We are very happy with your great review which we have shared with our team, especially our f&b team which is responsible for our fantastic food quality & spread as well as our signature cocktails at our Havana Pub

We will also work this extra bid harder on our room service and evaluate out internet connectivity to ensure we will delight you the next time you stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you were truly satisfied with not only our very spacious rooms and bathroom.

This very positive comment of yours will help us to continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to all our valued guests.

Once again thank you very much for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Hotel in the beautiful city of Dalian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stay at this hotel for 2 nights, this is a very good 5 stars hotel in China. Forget about hard beds if you stayin China, this hotel provide 5 stars bed, very comfy. Stay in this hotel means you must stay as long time as you can in this room.
Room has big working desk, ipod connector, speaker for ipod, big LCD screen, big bathroom with bathtub and shower.
Definitely 5stars hotel that you will never felt you're in China.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truly Y, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review of our hotel and services.

We are delighted to know that you especially enjoined our InterContinental Hotel standard bed size and sleeping quality and the working area especially designed to suit today’s business executive.

We are proud to have the largest rooms and bathrooms in Dalian and we are glad to know that this makes you feel great especially if you have to stay over a longer period.

We are happy to share your favourable comments on our hotel and service provided with our employees and we will continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to our guests.

Thank you once again for your good comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the beautiful city of Dalian during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Dalian

Address: No.6 Youhao Square, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,021 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dalian is located in central Dalian between Youhao and Zhongshan Squares, just steps away from the railway station and the shopping malls with easy access to international Co-ops and Government offices. All rooms provide sweeping views of the city. Dalian serves as a bridge between northeastern China and Inner Mongolia and is the gateway to Beijing and Tianjin. Known for its pleasant climate, scenic mountains and beaches, Dalian is renowned for its emerald lawns and blooming flowers. The best way to experience the essence of Dalian is to visit any of its 70 squares, which outshine any other major city in China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Dalian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.