We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay if you are staying in Dalian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.95 Huizhan Road, Shahekou District, Dalian 116023, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,021 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best place to stay if you are staying in Dalian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I come to Dalian for a couple of times a year to stay with my girlfriend.
We both live in UK but go to either Dalian or Korea for our normal holidays.
I virtually stay in this hotel for nearly a month every year and I am always happy with it.

Location's perfect for me, the design of hotel (and the rooms), the quality is fantastic.
Although some of the staff have difficulties in speaking english, I get this impression that they try their best to understand and satisfy what I need. I never experienced an awkward moment cus even if they don't quite understand, they tend to improvise with smile and kind service and that's good enough for me.

Another plus factor is the price. You do get a lot for the money, including a huge fresh apple everyday..:) Room service is good. Price is not bad and the food is nice. (somehow the western food tends to be better than the Chinese??) But bare in mind, amount of food tend to be quite large so ordering many dish might end up wasting.
Room is quite well sound-proofed so very quiet. You get a huge balcony window which you can tilt open to refresh some air. Curtain is in 3 layers, providing complete isolation from the Sun if you need. Unlike some other hotels, the interior lights are quite bright. I sometimes get annoyed in other hotels where all the lights are too dimmed so everything is so dark during the night. You get pretty much all the tools you need in the toilet including a pair of each 5 different kinds of towels.(Bath, hair, face, hand, floor) They also provide separate pillow sheet for dyed hair, non-slip bathtub floor mat, you name it they'll bring it.
You also get two 250ml bottles of complimentary water.
At the minibar, you get so, so so so many different kinds of snakcs. I wish they had more kinds of alcohol though. They do lack of some whisky, vodka, spirits. The minibar also has free range of tea, coffee with kettle. 2 coffee mugs and 2 designed glass cups.
The laundry service is available and for those who are very busy, express service is also available. Done in a few hours.
(Some of the things I have listed might depend on which room you get)
Gym is very good. Restaurant inside the hotel are very very good. You get pretty much everything inside the hotel and even if some of them require some $, most of the products/services are cheap.(well, compare to UK or other european countries).

I may have written too much but long story short, this hotel is very good.
I would recommend to anyone who is planning a visit to Dalian.
I am staying here at the moment for a couple of weeks and I will be staying here next time too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    99
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
5
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Really great place, I was amazed how nice the hotel was designed. If I head to Dalian again, I wouldn't need to compare hotels, I know where I'll stay. My friends and I wished there were hotels like these in our own countries!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing,China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

It's very new and trendy designed. Room is great. Gym has the cutting edge technology machines. Breakfirst is also fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Being from North America, for me Howard Johnson means motel but this an excellent property. The rooms are very modern and big enough. The bed is quite comfortable. The rooms are clean and the location is good if you want to be around Xinghai Square. Lots of restaurants in the area.
Only one small negative. We decided to have a lazy Sunday and sleep in. so when we went for breakfast at 10h (it ends at 10h30), there was not much food left. I took the last small croissant and the last slice of bacon. That was it. Enough Chinese food was still available though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Parkland Hotel Dalian, China "Best Value for Money"
Stay during Aug 16th-18th & Jul 13th-16th 2010
Dalian is an established IT city in China and I happened to go there twice for customer meetings and establishing contacts. Parkland was a perfect place to mix business with leisure. One can take a morning walk along the beach, go to office and relax at the Singhai square with a cosmopolitan crowd. The service of the hotel includes a touch of perfection in everything, from basics to luxury. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The food is excellent and presentation has a special attention. And all of it comes at a mere 3/4th the rate of equivalent hotels. They have a monday special Indian dishes on the menu, a special delighter to taste buds!
Parkland could train their staff a bit more on basic English.
All in all, a very fulfilling experience at Parkland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This Dalian Howard Johnson delivers more than it promises with friendly service, great rooms and a good location.
While the beds are a little too hard and the staff speak very little English, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. In China, Howard Johnson is certainly not a 2-star motel; rather, it qualifies for international 4-star standards and is reminiscent of a new Marriott in Europe (minus the bedding).
Free internet is a bonus, while the gym and spa are adequate and good value.

If going to Dalian, this hotel is a very good alternative to the much more expensive Shangri-la and other 5-stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This hotel is currently a little bit off the track, but in reach of the beach (~15min walking distance), the exhibition center and restaurants. ~20mins to downtown, getting a taxi was not a problem.
The rooms (we had a junior suite) are brand new and very nice, well equipped (did not find a hair dryer), clean and quiet.
Breakfast had a lot of choices (freshly made Chinese noodles!) and was tasty. Staff is helpful and friendly, requests are handled immediately.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel

Address: No.95 Huizhan Road, Shahekou District, Dalian 116023, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,021 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.