We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang to your Saves list
Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.39 Yanjiang North Avenue, Xihu District, Nanchang 330008, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 602 Hotels in Nanchang
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was an adoption trip and based on prior reviews I was not expecting much. That helped. We were there for 6 nights. They were not very "child" friendly and the breakfast was below average. We met several other adoptive families and all were staying at another hotel. They all said they enjoyed their hotel. Of course, you can't find a smoke free spot in China often but there were chain smokers in the lobby at all times. The staff was less than helpful and not very foreigner friendly. It was difficult to exchange money. Difficult to ask for things like shampoo and toilet paper. No food places close by. You had to walk about a half mile to get to a KFC and longer to a McD's. But they Pizza Hut there spoke English and they delivered. One decent Chinese place down the road. If you could get your agency to place you somewhere else....you'd be more accommodated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    186
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
2
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston ma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Gloria Plaza in mid April 2013. 10 years ago we stayed here and it was quite new then and very nice. Now it is looking a bit worn, with frayed carpet and chipped woodwork, but the rooms were clean. The beds are rock hard (quite common in China). Our room had two single beds, and we squeezed the three of us in, since there was no room for a roll away bed. The bathroom tile looked a bit worn, but everything worked. There is no iron or ironing board supplied in the room, but there is a mini safe and bathrobes in the closet. The hotel overlooks the river, and there is a pedestrian mall street a few blocks away that is a good spot for a stroll and people watching. If you are a westerner you will get some looks, as we are not as common here as in more touristy cities like Beijing and Shanghai. But everyone was quite friendly. Breakfast was included in our rate and was quite good, with western and Chinese foods in the buffet, and exceptionally good baked goods. Desk staff was helpful and spoke some English. We sat in the lobby lounge one evening and ordered drinks, and after 15 minutes the rather confused bartender apologized and gestured that she was unable to figure out the drinks, so we had beer instead. Just as well, as ice from local water could possibly be a problem. (Bottled water is supplied in the room). Note that in China smoking indoors still is accepted in places like hotel lobbies, not a big deal to me but something that you need to get used to. There is a tiny indoor pool (swim caps required) and an adjacent workout room, but several pieces of equipment were out of order, as was the steam room and sauna. The surly gym attendant chewed me out for something, but since I don’t speak the language I don’t know what my sin was.
Overall it is a decent place but needs some updating; If I ever return I would take a look to see if newer properties are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I only spent one night in this hotel, and arrived after midnight, so I did not had much time to experience much of the city. The lobby was very decent, my room was clean, spacious and tidy. Breakfast was clearly oriented towards Asian customers, but featured enough variety to pleasure international travelers as well. The personnel was very friendly but never intrusive. It is definitely not a real 5* Hotel, but for this price no one can expect this anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nanchang is not a well developed tourist area, and there are few hotels which can be considered international standard. This is one of the few, and it is not only clean and tidy, but also close to the city center. I liked the spacious rooms with plenty of space to even work in the hotel and feel comfortable. The restaurant was very good and offered meals for international travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were in Nanchang for adoption and our agency chose this hotel. I had read quite a few bad reviews so was not expecting much. The problems were the walls were covered in mold behind the curtains, the air conditioning would be switched off and the smell of cigarettes would fill our room. The swimming pool looked like it needed a good scrubbing. Daughters loved the buffet. Location is great but noise from traffic could be heard on 5th floor.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I didn't expect to found such a nice & comfortable hotel in this chinese region. Went there on a December winter, weather was awfully cold & rainy most of the time, but we checked in into this nice & warm hotel. The room was okay, not so modern but it still has its charm, most importantly clean. The good thing is the internet which is incredibly fast, got me connected to the world again after a few days without the net. Breakfast the next day was graciously good, they served the whole western selection as well as chinese dish like dimsum. The staff were also very polite & friendly even though the only one able to speak English was the the manager at the reception. All in all, it was a good stay & very much recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband's faint praise for this hotel was "we've stayed in worse." We actually stayed in this hotel in 2005 when we adopted our daughter and had a pleasant experience at the time, so we decided to stay there again on this trip. Staff are lovely and helpful but the hotel just feels worn and shabby. Our room was dark and dreary; the tub sported mineral stains, and brown water came out when we first ran the taps. Beds were rock hard; this did not distress us and we expected it, but some are taken by surprise. The lobby lounge was pleasant enough but we were shocked to see the tiny cup of Haagen Dazs ice cream we ordered for our daughter, and which was kept under lock and key, cost almost $9. Still, service was good and we probably should have asked to look at the menu before wantonly ordering. (There is a Haagen Dazs ice cream cart on the other side of the lobby that sells scoops for less than half the price, as we discovered at breakfast!).

Breakfast was a dismal affair; some tired fruit displays and stale pastries, eggs, bacon, steamed buns and congee. There were Western and Chinese options but all of it looked sad and unappealing. We noticed as we were leaving that the reception area was suddenly blocked off and a sign announced that it was under renovation. Perhaps a sign that management recognizes the need for a facelift. You could do worse, and the location isn't bad, but you could do a whole lot better. And as noted in other reviews, the smell of cigarette smoke, even on our nonsmoking floor, was offputting.

Room Tip: It's fine for a night or two. Non-smoking floor doesn't mean much, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang

Address: No.39 Yanjiang North Avenue, Xihu District, Nanchang 330008, China
Location: China > Jiangxi > Nanchang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nanchang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nanchang
#18 Best Value Hotel in Nanchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Nanchang
Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang China - Jiangxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Grand Hotel Nanchang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.