We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you know how much for entrance fee?!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot

Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot
Ma Shan Tai Hu National Park | Lingshan Road, Hubing District, Wuxi, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 130 things to do in Wuxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do you know how much for entrance fee?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We drove there and parked which cost us 15yuan first. The Buddha is easy to see from far far away. So we want to look closely. It's rediculous that the entrace fee is from RMB150 to RMB210 which is much higher than Forbidden City even the Louvre in Paris. We are not as religious as others. So we just took photos outside front door and left.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    169
    40
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“This place is enormous!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Plan to do plenty of walking, maybe a little less if you ride around in thoses yellow, open-air shuttles. This place is not a temple, congregation, or a particular religious sect. This place just showcases the buddha, including the depiction of the birth of buddha in a spectacular open air ( and water-enhanced) show. It's promoted as a Buddhist Culture Expo. There's also a huge statue of the buddha at the top of the site which requires a bit of a hike. Just when you think you at the top of the stairs and there's no where else to go, an elevator is available to take you to a higher viewing platform which is at the foot of the statue. I think the tour guide said it was one of, if not the largest, bronze standing buddha statue in China. I heard the admission is pricey, and now I know who's paying for all that gold and exotic wood throughout. I think the most fun was zipping around in those shuttle carts -- they were hair-raising rides! This place is way too touristy for me.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What would Buddha think?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an impressive site. Like a lot of tourist sites in China, the admission price has become obscene (CY210). Note, this is not an ancient religious site. Everything here is modern and very commercialized (which seems to appeal to the crowds of Chinese tour buses that flock here). The site is a pretty good distance from downtown Wuxi, but it is serviced by a city bus from the train station (1-1.5 hour ride). There are also any number of tour operators who will sell you a half day tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing structures!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It takes time to check out the Tibetan temple and watch the musical show in the grand palace hall, plan to spend at least 4 hours to cover important spots.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Giant Buda visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Really a great experience for me and my wife. Incredible splendour!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot also viewed

 

Been to Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingshan Buddhist Scenic Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.