We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but busy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou to your Saves list
Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1355 Jinjihu Avenue, Suzhou Industrial Park, Suzhou 215021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 197 Reviews
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, but busy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel. Comfortable. Bright. Good location for business, but not very central to attractions.

This is a Hong Kong owned property so the hotel has a different feel than the American brands. Maybe slightly more formal???

Lobby is big, bright, and usually quite busy. Hotel seems to attract large groups like conferences and tour buses. Staff is attentive, courteous and efficient. Only improvement I would like to see is a better area to wait in. The lounge is either closed or not convenient to wait for a ride.

Breakfast is good with a large variety that is typical of this class of hotel. Every taste is accommodated. Only quibble is that the coffee is sub-par for my taste. Bitter and burnt. Staff is efficient...sometimes too efficient. During busy times, multiple staff members are seating guests so you are at risk of losing your seat on your trip up to the buffet. Advice: Bring a newspaper to leave at your seat as a marker.

The room is large and clean. Bed is extremely firm by western standards, but my Chinese counterpart says that it is normal and comfortable by Chinese standards. After the third night, I was used to it and was sufficiently comfortable. If such a firm bed is a problem, the hotel will substitute a softer mattress if requested at time of booking. They did this for my last visit. (Try getting an american hotel to do that...)

Overall, a solid choice to stay at while in the SIP.

Room Tip: Some rooms just have showers, so be sure to ask if you want a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    103
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
17
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here just one night as part of our china tour. The lobby was very grand and we thought it was going to be amazing. Of the four hotels we stayed at in China, this was number 4.
Our first impression of the room was great, it was large, had a couch, swing around TV, large bathroom, fridge and coffee area......and didn't smell smoky.
But a closer look showed it was a little shabby, we could feel holes in the floor under the carpet, the bathroom tub caulking seals were cracked and needed a good soaking in bleach. I like a firm bed, but that bed was absolutely ROCK hard. It was so uncomfortable. In the middle of the night, with my husband laughing at me, I tried to sleep on my pillows for a little cushion. He was trying to figure out how to use the cushions from the couch!!!
I tossed and turned and found myself a few times with pins and needles from the marble slab we felt like we were laying on.
Having said that, another couple on our tour said their room was great, and their bed the most comfortable of their whole tour. So I guess it's just luck!

Room Tip: ask for a bed that is not hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Grand Metro Park in Suzhou as part of the Shanghai - Suzhou - Hangzhou group tour. I was impressed by the hotel. It was nice and clean. The room was large even for 3 persons. The extra bed is comfortable although it's rather small. The room was well kept and had all required amenities. I liked the breakfast buffet. You can choose from both western and oriental dishes. So, in one short sentence, it's beyond my expectation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We only stayed one night as part of a tour package, but even in that short time, we found the hotel very nice. The hotel is new and well maintained; the lobby, hallways and rooms were very clean and the rooms themselves were large and had all the necessary amenities. The small shops & convenience stores were quite well stocked with the usual drinks and souvenirs.

The breakfast (our only meal at the hotel) was excellent - lots of choices of both Chinese and western dishes, and all the warm/hot dishes were just that, warm and/or hot as they should be.

Since we were traveling with a group, its hard to comment on location, however Suzhou is fairly new and attractions are reasonably spread out, so I imagine a small amount of taxi/bus travel is required regardless of which hotel you choose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I go to China for business every year and since the Grand Metropark was open I only stay there. It is extremely comfortable, the staff is always attentive and speaks good English and the food is excellent. Having stayed at other 5-star hotels in Suzhou, I can tell you this is at the top for amenities and price. I would recommend it to both business travelers as well as tourists.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fantastic, high rise, modern hotel. We even had a clock in our large, luxurious, quiet room. At breakfast we had a choice of western and Chinese food. All service was prompt, appropriate and respectful.

Room Tip: no smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with a tour group. Room was clean and modern. Sitting area with a TV that turns to face the bed also. Breakfast buffet was great and servers were attentive. Next there is a convenience store and Subway.

Room Tip: Front rooms have flashing colorful lights outside the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou

Address: No.1355 Jinjihu Avenue, Suzhou Industrial Park, Suzhou 215021, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 482
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Metropark Hotel Suzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.